We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Substandard at best” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Weston, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Substandard at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We elected to stay with this hotel and got the "Shop and Stay Package-1Bedroom Suite" as we were traveling with our 14 month old, it's nice to have another "area" of the suite for him to have peace and quiet if my husband and I want to watch TV. The room was dated and worn, scraped paint on the walls and the carpet was nasty. The bathroom was covered in peeling wallpaper and didn't have an exhaust fan. We had elected the Shop & Stay package because we wanted to go to the local outlet mall the next day. The Shop and Stay package included (according to the country inn & suites website): “ One $25 Gift Card per room, per night, coupon for Albertville Premium Outlets®, official VIP discount booklet and a Break Bag complete with bottled water, snacks, candy, mall map and more”.

The next day when we went downstairs for the continental breakfast, we were disgusted to find expired yogurt and cheese being offered (we stayed in December, the cheese expired in September), along with some other measly food offerings. After seeing the expired food, we elected to eat at McDonalds instead. When my husband informed the desk staff of the expired food, all we got was a meek little "sorry". When my husband asked about our shop and stay package, the clerk handed my husband a gift card for the outlet mall. "Where's the rest" he asked, referring to our "Break Bag complete with bottled water, snacks, candy, mall map and more". "I've never heard of that" said the desk clerk

We left and will never stay at another Country Inn & Suites

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tapdanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    43
    23
    11
    13
See reviews for
70
29
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whiting, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

The complementary breakfast was the highlight of the hotel. The room was comfortable, but the difference between the 2 cleaning ladies was from great to shabby. We were there 6 nights. The staff was helpful. The breakfast gal was wonderful. The maintenance man was able to cut the lock on my suitcase that I so stupidly locked without my key. The front desk gave us extra towels, soap and shampoo when two of our grandchildren enjoyed the pool with us. The pool and hot tub were clean and enjoyable. Since we have family in the area we will return to this hotel. There was an inadequate supply of hand-towels and wash cloths.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Easy to find, and convenient to the Albertville outlets (about 10 mins away). Check in was prompt, as we had pre booked online, so all I did was sign, leave imprint and car plate number. We were on 3rd floor, but they did have elevators near lobby, and stairs near an exit closer to where our room was. Rooms and hallways were clean, and although basic, no problems at all. Wireless internet was quick and easy to connect. Also used pool and spa (which was very hot) both were clean and we enjoyed its use, as we were the only ones in the pool area.

The Morning breakfast was very good, with hot eggs, sausages, waffles, etc...as well as a selection of cold items like bagels, and cereal. It was as nice as what you would expect in a restaurant, and the hotel has a nice little area for having it it. Checkout was as quick as check in ..everything went well...not sure what could have been better for a basic stay with friendly staff..

Room Tip: If going as a couple, request a king size bed, rather than two doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Elk River on July 21. The room was clean and comfortable and the front desk staff were all nice. My only complaint was that the pool did not look very clean (however the kids had fun) and the hot tub was not hot! It was warm at best, which was rather disappointing. Breakfast in the morning was good and the person who took care of the area, was always making sure things were filled and that it was clean.

Overall, it was a good stay and I would stay here again for a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelly_Bean91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

A good hotel in a small north suburb of the Twin Cities. Comfortable beds, lots of hot water and a good breakfast. Found housekeeping to be slightly lacking...little wrappers in hall ways and along the bed frame on the floor. Nice toileties. Found the policy of having to obtain the key for the business center from the front desk annoying.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatum
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

Overall, I found this Country Inn to be a decent option on a long roadtrip. We opted for a whirlpool suite, which resulted in a rather damp and musty room upon entry. For some reason, Country Inn puts the whirlpool in the bedroom as opposed to the bathroom and I will probably avoid the whirlpool option in the future.

We made use of both the guest laundry facilities as well as the pool and jacuzzi area, both of which were perfectly acceptable.

If you need to stay in Elk River, I think this is a decent option, especially if you can make use of AAA or other discounts.

  • Liked — Nothing in particular, just a perfectly acceptable stay
  • Disliked — Musty room due to whirlpool
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank On_the_road_again_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

I had a fine stay here. The rooms were neat and tidy, and the pool and breakfast were very good. The only downside to the stay was the understaffed front desk the evening of arrival. They only had one young man working! The room rate was average, and worth the price paid for the nice rooms. I would consider the hotel again for family get togethers.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The evening front desk staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kievmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk River
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rogers
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rogers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albertville
17.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Princeton
15.5 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn and Suites Becker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River
Address: 18894 Dodge St NW, Elk River, MN 55330-5708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Elk River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elk River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elk River Hotel Elk River
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Elk River
Country Inn Elk River
Elk River Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing