We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast around”

Original Pancake House
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Edina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best breakfast around”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in with my partner for breakfast after flying into Minneapolis because of the great TripAdvisor reviews. After eating there it's safe to say they were all completely accurate! The service was excellent. Our server Kay was always there when we needed her, was prompt, and friendly throughout our visit. The food was the best part though. The pancakes were some of the best I've ever had, the omelette I ordered was huge and equally delicious, and the coffee was bottomless and tasted great too. Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A real treat for breakfast.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Original Pancake House is wonderful. Cozy atmosphere, great food, great selection, good coffee, good service, and decent prices. The only downside is that there can be and usually is a long wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Sunday at 10 AM expecting to wait but the food sounded wonderful. We only waited 20 min and were pleasantly surprised at the greatness of the food. Pancakes were some of the best ice ever tasted. Delicious hashbrowns and thick bacon. Good chorizo all made up for lackluster service. Would Go again if ever near the place for are just for the PANCAKES!!!

Helpful?
Thank TravelhappyWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As usual excellent”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent food, service, seating, etc. It was a cold day in Minnesota but hot drinks were available in waiting room. Waitress was courteous, knowledgable, helpful, and pleasant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thank-you Tripadvisor!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We came here directed by reviews. I was skeptical about doing it but we arrived around noon on a Sunday right after Christmas. They were bustling! It took about 45 minutes to get a table but then came the coffee- yay! We ordered the omelet souffles with pancakes. It is the perfect balance! Also I must suggest that you get an order of bacon. It is thick. It is crunchy and chewy. Wonderful.
The service was efficient. Everyone seemed courteous and helpful. We can't hardly wait to try it again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NannerSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing