We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time's not the charm” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Eagan
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Third time's not the charm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed there for the third time July 28th and I am sorry to report I am no longer a fan. On my previous visits, I was apparently fortunate enough to have vacant rooms next to mine. This was not the case this time around. The fun began at about 1:30 a.m. when I was awakened by the amorous activities in the next room. Had they been especially loud I would have notified the front desk, however, it was clear that these were at a normal decibel level; with walls that thin, they might as well have been in my own room, given the clarity of the sounds.

The next surprise occurred when I stepped into the shower the following morning and saw that I was leaving black footprints in the tub from walking barefoot in the room. Just to verify that it was not something I had brought in from outside, I took a clean towel and rubbed it on the carpet. The towel was equally black. I shuddered and silently praised my earlier decision not to get down on the floor to do stretching and limbering exercises. Yuk!

So, if the dirt doesn't deter you (as it would me), I'd advise that you not make an advance reservation, but check to see how full the parking lot is and ask for a room without neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Homelytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    196
    55
    35
    20
See reviews for
207
137
36
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we had an early flight out of Minneapolis. Check in was quick and the room was clean and comfortable. There were quite a few dining and shopping choices close to the hotel. Can't comment on breakfast as we left before it was set up. The airport shuttle was quick and reliable both to and from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Value4u, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We appreciate your comments and we are happy to hear that your check in process was quick and the room was comfortable. We are always trying to make your out-of-town travels easy by offering the Park N Fly package with our 24-hour shuttle service. We hope Dakota Ridge will be your choice the next trip you decide to take or if you just need a weekend of relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed two nights this hotel while on vacation to mall of america. A little out of the way from any restaurants. The room was extremely generous in size, however, we requested that the bedding be changed between nights and we received dirty bedding. We went back to the hotel at around 3 pm on our second night and our room had still not been cleaned. The absolute worse was the fact on the morning we were going to check out, we went down for breakfast and they had run out of eggs, sausage, yougert, cream cheese, bagels, fruit, and the orange juice was frozen in the machine. One of the main reasons we stayed here was because we enjoy a light breakfast in the morning, unfortunately, the breakfast that morning was extremely light. I inquired at the desk, and she said that they were running low on breakfast items the day before and that they don't order product every day. Not extremely helpful. The girls response was to make a complaint with trip advisor. Good way to handle things in house. Oh ya, and if you have kids there is no pool for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple,Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed 4 nights. We had problem in our 1st room (No cool air from A/C). The 2nd room provided had moisture problem from the AC and the bathroom exhaust was not working. They have a 2 day cycle breakfast, by 3rd day, it was already a repeat from the 1st day. It's a good hotel for a couple of nights but that's it. Some of the female front desks were not friendly. Adam and Andrew, I believe were friendlier.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchieMaple_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Rooms were average, lobby has a nice sitting area. Most staff helpful, but we were given wrong breakfast times for weekdays/weekends-missed breakfast our 2nd morning due to incorrect times given at desk. Had to wait 48 hrs. before cleaning staff finally came to tidy our room, empty trash cans, replace towels. Kim working @front desk was kind enough to bring us towels for the night & placed our room on a "cleaning" list of rooms for the next day, but it still didn't happen :(
Shuttle service was handy except for the young, heavy-set driver named Rick who likes to secretly text while driving families just out of view of the on board driver cam. Well, the very last ride of our entire vacation Rick almost killed us by gawking at another wreck & nearly rear-ending a stopped SUV. I was telling him to "stop, stop, stop" but he wasn't listening. He swerved to miss the car, ran a red light, the van jumped the curb in the outer lane of the 3-4 lane highway so that we were in the grass heading for a guard rail & a concrete pillar supporting upper lanes of another highway. Rick swerved the van back onto the highway w/o looking for oncoming cars & only by the grace of God did that van stay on 4 wheels w/o tipping over. The SUV driver caught up with the van & slowed down so he could flip Rick the bird for a few seconds. After following up with the hotel front desk & management who reviewed the tape Rick was given a few days off from work. My daughter was in tears in the hotel lobby b/c she thought she was going to die! I think he should be fired Best Western!! You are just waiting for a serious accident to happen...

Room Tip: Rooms on front side of hotel get all the shuttle & lobby noise from the parking area unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sratorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Value4u, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We pride ourselves on our professionalism and superior customer service in the business of making our guests comfortable and feel taken care of. Safety is something we take very serious and apologize for your experience. We have taken steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. Thank you for your comments concerning your stay and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We hope you will decide to stay with us again. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Room was clean and spacious, some staff was quite helpful. Check out time at 11:30 am which is quite early, especially if you have an afternoon flight. Free shuttle to Mall of America and simple breakfast, free parking. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Value4u, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your past stay. Making your trip to the Mall of America is as easy as possible is what we are here for. Taking our complimentary shuttle to the Mall of America will take away a lot of the stress driving to an unfamiliar place. We hope to see you back here at the BW Dakota Ridge the next time you have a flight out, or need to do some shopping at the Mall of America, or just because you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Checked into this hotel and were pleased with our upgraded king room. Used the 24/7 shuttle to the Mall which was convenient. Did the workout in the morning in exercise room after which we had the great buffett breakfast. Staff was very pleasant and rooms were also clean with the microwave and refrigerator.

Room Tip: Our top floor room also had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rose913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Value4u, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you very much, we really appreciate all the great comments you had about your stay at the BW Plus Dakota Ridge. Did you spend enough time at the Mall of America, so you were able to see everything the Mall has to offer? If not, I know we will have a King bed room on the top floor waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eagan hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport/Eagan
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eagan-Mall Of America
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Eagan
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge
Address: 3450 Washington Drive, Eagan, MN 55122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Eagan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eagan
#4 Family Hotel in Eagan
#4 Business Hotel in Eagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge Hotel Eagan
Best Western Hotel Eagan
Best Western Eagan
Eagan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing