We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take a shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Eagan
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't take a shower!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Shower was hot ,cold ,hot , cold, hot, cold, hot, cold worst I have ever been in!!!
Shower users beware! No temperature control.
Last time ever I will ever stay in a Best Western.

Room Tip: Very poor climate control. Hotel is right on Freeway. Beware of road niose on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyholly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    205
    64
    37
    21
See reviews for
220
150
38
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is just across the river from the airport and and Mall of America in Minneapolis and 10 minutes from the zoo. The price was much better that similar hotels by the mall or airport.

The place was clean, quiet and served a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Florida_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend trip to the Twin Cities. It's not in the most ideal location, in the SE corner, but it is close to the Mall of America and Valleyfair.

Here's the lowdown:
- Hotel was clean. Looks like the lobby has been recently renovated with modern fixtures and a waterfall.
- The rooms are adequately clean as well, although I have to say the renovations done to the room were not as heavy as the front lobby. Still, the room was neat and cleanly enough.
-Hot breakfast was okay compared to other continental breakfasts: you got scrambled eggs, sausage (the patty variety), cereal, fruits, make-your-own waffle, yogurt, coffee, cereal, milk and juices
-Free wifi, and 3 stand alone computers in the lobby with printers to use for free

Now here's the bad:
-The breakfast area can get really busy. Especially around the waffle maker and eggs / sausage area. Get there early as the hot stuff is the first to run out. Although the young girl working the breakfast area does her best to clean and refill all the foods and I would say one of the hardest workers there.
-The shower in the rooms were VERY low-flow. So much so, that they had very little water pressure. The water was stronger coming out of the tub faucet. I absolutely cannot stand trickling showers. It wasn't the worse but definitely not the best shower head in a hotel I've experienced.
-Also it was very hard to get the water temperature right in the shower- a little turn of the knob can make it quite hot (but bearable for me, not so for my husband) or quite cold.
-The A/C units in the rooms were pretty loud, got used to it the second night, and it was definitely better than not working because the weather was really icky humid outside. So I didn't mind it too too much.
-Again, although clearly there were upgrades done, it seemed like some parts were done not to it's entirety, ... there still visible cracks of paint along seams (like along the window and some in the bathroom). The carpets looks like they could use a good cleaning, especially the ones in the hallway and in one of the elevators (which had a really bad stinky feet stench).
-Our room faced the front of the hotel and every night the street lamp made our room very bright at night. Bad thing is can't draw the curtains as they are fixed and the clear drapes don't do much to block light.
-I may be nit picky here, although I loved the white sheet covers, I can't understand why the fitted sheets and pillow cases are a tan/off white colour... it makes the bedsheets look old and worn, and hides the potentially cleanliness of the bedsheets.

Overall, for the price that we've paid, I would say it's a good value. The staff appear to be nice. The overall cleanliness is adequate and visibly clean. And the hot breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisismyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I would stay here again due to the nice location and overall good value. While not as close to the airport as I thought, they do offer a free shuttle service. There is also free round trip shuttle service to the Mall of America that we used (nice to not have to park). Free breakfast is a nice perk, even though it can get a little chaotic in the small area (just try to avoid the area right before it closes so it's not too hectic). Nice beds; pillows could have been a little more comfy, but didn't have problems sleeping. The shower did have difficulty regulating temperature and gym only had one piece of equipment (out of 4) that worked. We reported this to management who seemed sincerely concerned and would promptly fix. Nice WiFi service to have in every room and it was great to be able to print boarding passes right in the lobby area. If you're looking for a luxury stay; I would go somewhere else. But, if you're looking for an overall general nice place to stay for a good price, this is your place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcliles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My comments will echo what most of the people have said here. The room was very good-A/C was fine, beds were very comfortable, housekeeping and desk staff were great and the exercise room was adequate for what we were looking for. The only negative on room was the shower which was unable to keep a consistent temperature so each of our family of 4 got to experience the wonderful blast of cold water every couple of minutes. The selection for breakfast was fine though the room was indeed pretty small and quite cramped-gets to be kind of like "Lord of the Flies" around the waffle maker. However, with patience, it was a good breakfast that saved $20-25 each morning. On Sunday, the eggs ran out about 10 minutes before the end of service though on Monday, the eggs were filled with a new fresh batch 5 minutes before closing. A pool or hot tub would have been nice but we knew going in that they did not have one. Overall, for the $80 a night deal we got on Travelocity, it was more than fine!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel provides really good service. I stayed here with my daughter for 2 nights prior to our return flight to Europe. We arrived by rental and delivered it back at the airport at the end of the first day of our stay. They provide transfers from and to the airport as well as to the MoA which is really convenient. Rooms are comfortable and the reception really kind. Free breakfast is also a plus and of good quality. We'd love to go back here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was on a college visit trip with my two teenage boys and we stayed one night. Our room was clean with nice updated decor and the beds were comfortable. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave, and even though we were right off the lobby the room was quiet. The breakfast was very good (coffee, several cereals, several juices, yogurt, several types of bagels, toast, mini muffins, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage patties). There seemed to be more than enough seating with additional seating in the lobby area. They even provided to go cups and lids for the coffee.

There were three computers in the lobby with a printer (great for printing out boarding passes and directions to attractions). While there isn't room service (we didn't have a car), they included menus of restaurants that provided delivery. It was actually a nice break for my wallet.

The most outstanding feature of this Best Western is their customer service. When we used the shuttle to get picked up from the airport and mentioned we were interested in seeing the Mall of America, the driver gave us a thick coupon book to look at and told us to take any coupons we wanted ($5 off of $50 at Nordstrom's Rack). When I asked Andrew and Allison at the front desk the best way to get to Macalester College they first checked on Google Maps to see if the shuttle could take us (unfortunately, it was outside the shuttle range) or to take a taxi from the hotel or take a taxi from the airport. And when it looked like it was closer from the airport, they gave me the Google directions to make sure the taxi took the shortest route. They also offered to hold our luggage at the hotel and said when we got back to the airport after our college visit to call the hotel and they would send our luggage over with the next shuttle since we were flying out that afternoon! Pat drove us to the airport the next morning and the hotel shuttle location is conveniently right by the taxi stand. The staff at the hotel really made our visit easy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anpcnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eagan hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Eagan
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagan/St Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eagan - Minneapolis Area
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
3.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eagan-Mall Of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge

Property: Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge
Address: 3450 Washington Drive, Eagan, MN 55122-1303 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Dakota Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Eagan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eagan
#4 Business Hotel in Eagan
#4 Family Hotel in Eagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dakota Ridge Hotel Eagan
Best Western Hotel Eagan
Best Western Eagan
Eagan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing