We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor dining at Jake's”
Review of Jake's City Grille

Jake's City Grille
Ranked #22 of 129 Restaurants in Eagan
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining at Jake's”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice setting adjacent to a small lake-like design. Good food and service, with waitress happy to provide separate checks for 12 business folks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gardnerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danielsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food respectable, service was not”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It is priced to coincide with the atmosphere, the food is close to matching it, the service does not come close. My family was pleased with some of the unique offerings on the menu compared to other similar restaurants. There appeared to be plenty of staff, but they were extremely un-attentive the entire service, including paying the bill. It is the first time I can recall needing to find "our waitress" to pay the bill as no one noticed the rest my family had already left the restaurant. Most of us really enjoyed to food. It started with the seared Ahi tuna appetizer which was well prepared and everyone enjoyed. The Three Amigos Tacos, Avocado Chicken Pita, and Black Angus Cheeseburgers were all hits with the ladies in the family. My beef tenderloin fillet was bad cut of meat and left a lot to be desired especially for the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougS368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice beer selection”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went into Jakes on sat night and very few people were dining or drinking. My friends had the clam chowder which they liked and I was just drinking beers. They had a decent selection of draft beer and the place was nice and cozy. They seem to serve the typical menu of chain style places but by all accounts was a pleasant evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The Tale of Two Cities”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our four item order included one appetizer, two meals and a garden salad. We started out with the beer battered (deep fried) walleye fingers appetizer.

We received four walleye pieces, with each piece being approximately 4" long and 1" to 1-1/2" wide. The fingers with batter didn't have much flavor and really required the included tarter sauce to get any type of flavor. The fingers were also very greasy, which I mentioned to the server, and her response was "they probably left them in the fryer just a little too long". For $12.95, this appetizer is expensive for the small amount of food received and I will never order this appetizer again.

The garden salad was fresh and crisp. We ordered the home made blue cheese dressing, which had nice chunks of blue cheese and a good creamy taste. This is a fairly large portion (enough to share) salad for just a $2.95 add-on and certainly worth the money.

The two meals we ordered were steak fajita's and the prime rib philly sandwich. The fajita's were excellent and the serving portion quite large. The steak was seasoned perfectly and served with rice, beans, cheese, sour cream, peppers and tortillas. There's enough food here that you could easily share this meal.

The philly prime rib sandwich, approximately 7" long was stacked high with a lot of meat. crisp green peppers, cheese, onions, mushrooms and came with a side of crisp, flavorful and fresh tasting french fries. The sandwich in itself was very good, however the au jus tasted like very salty water with caramel flavoring, nothing more, and probably ranks as the worst au jus I have ever tasted in a restaurant. I think I'll order just a burger and salad with the next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average and spendy”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I ate Sunday Brunch last weekend with a buddy and found the Sunday buffet to be somewhat of a mystery as things weren't labeled. We found the food to be average, nothing special or worth returning for. Will order off of the menu next time I am here as the buffet was expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rog S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jake's City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing