We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 E 3rd St, Duluth, MN 55812-1944   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My husband and I visited AG Thomson House this past weekend for our anniversary. The B&B was booked on our actual anniversary, but I am very glad we chose to stay here the next weekend instead of looking elsewhere!

This B&B is top notch - the public spaces are very comfortable and well kept. We spent most of our time there in our room (the Hewitt Suite) but I was impressed with the quality of the furniture in the living room, sunroom, and outdoors.

Our room was amazing - we loved the patio, and the bathtub/shower was so much nicer than ours at home, what a luxury! We ate lunch one afternoon on our patio - it was so relaxing to sit in the sun with a view of the lake in the distance. Hewitt suite is a very nice size, the bathroom is huge as well. The bed and pillows were very comfortable - we both slept great!

The breakfasts were simply awesome - I especially loved the wild rice quiche. As a bit of an early riser, I appreciate that they have muffins and coffee out if you are up and about before the big breakfast at 9am. I also love that there is the option to get breakfast delivered to your room, although we enjoyed having it in the dining room and conversing with other guests.

This is definitely your best choice for accommodations in Duluth - look no further!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MXErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
583
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, WI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We just spent a wonderful weekend at this gem of an inn. We have visited many B&Bs over the last 5 years, but none has wowed us like this one did! On arrival, Tim and Angie were there to greet us and help with our luggage. Once inside, we discovered a warm, inviting home. We loved spending time in the main living room reading by the fireplace. Our room, the Salyards Suite, was beautiful. Breakfast was the best part- served up with love from the host and hostess. If you are staying here, you will not go hungry! We really loved the fresh coffee every a.m. and the Wild rice quiche with cheesy potatoes were excellent. The small, personal touches really topped off our weekend. There is something comforting about being called by name- Angie never seemed to forget any of the guest's names. We drove about 40 minutes home to realize that we had forgotten our pillow- I called Angie who said she had found it and would mail it out the next day, "no problem!" Tim and Angie have a beautiful home that we were lucky enough to have been able to enjoy- we will be back!! Thanks for everything!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saradoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The owner's were amazing. The rooms were amazing. Everything about the experience was simply fabulous! I thank the owners for their love, kindness and the experience it was truly wonderful! I stayed there as a guest at a wedding, and it was superb :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babybrown83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were impressed how the owner came outside and met us as we stepped out of our car.
They were both helpful with any questions we had about the area and even recommended an awesome restaurant just down the street that we would have missed. Very comfortable room and quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mboehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We had a very long day traveling from Portland to Duluth and were exhausted when we arrived. We were greeted with warmth, compassion and comfort which helped us quickly settle in. Since it was our first visit to Duluth, Angie and Tim were helpful in selecting things to do despite the storm that was lashing the area. Coming home to warm cookies and the amazing living room to sit by the fireplace and nap before taking a long bath in the jacuzzi tub was decadence in itself. We felt pampered and appreciative of all the touches they provided to make our stay just perfect. It's the kind of place you can kick your shoes off and really relax.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KimCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I returned to the Thomson House for our second visit and truly it was like "going home". Angie and Tim, the hosts, are truly lovely and most gracious. Our flight went awry, and they did everything possible to accommodate our late arrival and welcome us after a very long day (and evening) of travel.
The home is beautiful, the landscaping award winning, and the breakfasts are gourmet. Angie is a fabulous cook and dining is truly something to look forward to daily. I appreciate that the recipes are available on line, so I can try to pamper my family the way I so enjoyed being pampered at the Thomson House. Plus, some rooms have views of Lake Superior, beautiful! We will return...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Tim and Angie are the best innkeepers we have ever stayed with. They both made you feel like friends from the moment we met them. The Inn is beautiful, welcoming, clean and full of nice extras. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Angies breakfast were out of this world. We can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.7 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 E 3rd St, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing