We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly Peaceful and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly Peaceful and Beautiful”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Our stay at the A G Thompson house was delightful. Our hosts, Tim and Angie were warm, inviting, and extremely accommodating. Their B&B was both peaceful and luxurious. I would highly recommend the A G Thompson house to anyone interested.

  • Liked — We enjoyed the flat screen TV, double whirlpool, fireplace, internet etc.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iluviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
628
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We spent a night at the A.G. Thomson House while our son was visiting a Duluth college campus overnight. Not wanting to stay in a hotel, we decided to visit the B and B for something different and a lot more unique.
The house is located in a quietly elegant neighborhood that just begs you to relax and stick around a while. It is conveniently located just minutes away from the waterfront, sightseeing, shopping and dining out, yet it is tucked away from the hustle an bustle of the tourist areas.
The house is simply beautiful and perfectly decorated, entertaining the eyes with the gradeur of the house while giving the overall feeling of being very comfortable.
The breakfast was heavenly as were the hosts, making us feel like we were at home and welcome any time.
We will definitely be going back to the A.G. Thomson House!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collegemom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Fabulous home, beautiful decor throughout perfectly accents the home's style while feeling warm and inviting. Located in a neighborhood of stately mansions. Spacious room with a huge bed, delicious breakfasts, and warm & gracious hosts made for our most pleasant 2-night stay in 10 years of frequent B&B experiences.

  • Liked — Luxurious accomodations without feeling stuffy.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2008

This is by far the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in to date. The room was spectacular, the breakfasts to die for, the hospitality superb. We cant wait to book the Lake Superior Suite again!

  • Liked — amazing room
  • Disliked — we liked everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank opulance035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fosston, MN
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the A.G. Thompson House. Tim and Angie are gracious hosts and you will not find a better breakfast anywhere!!
Karen and Mike Norland

  • Liked — very romantic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ksnorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea, SD
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the A.G. Thompson House in Duluth, MN. Tim & Angie were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were amazing as were the chocolate chip cookies and complimentary wine! :) We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the food!
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the AG Thomson House this past weekend and we were very pleased with our visit! We traveled with friends of ours who have stayed at the house before and it more than met our expectations. This house is absolutely beautiful with an attention to detail that adds to the charm. It is so warm and inviting and the proprietors Tim and Angie were extremely hospitable and made us feel at home. They were so much fun to talk to along with the other couples we met. Our room, the Hewitt Suite, was very cozy and comfortable. We look forward to checking out some of the other rooms in the future. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We would highly recommend this B&B and will definitely be back.
Doreen & Eddie, Ham Lake, MN

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing