We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was speechless!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Becker, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was speechless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

For our 4th anniversary my husband decided to surprise me with a weekend getaway at AG Thomson B&B. To make our weekend extra special my husband contacted Angie and inquired about adding some special things like flowers, or maybe a spa where we could get massages. When we arrived we were taken on a tour of the main house and common areas, We were in awe. Then to my surprise we were escorted to the carriage house to our amazing private suite.... The Lake Superior Suite... At which point I was overcome with such joy I actually cried and was speechless. The suite is everything you need for a weekend full of privacy and romance. In room Angie had arranged a beautiful bouquet of flowers, with chocolates, and white wine. She also made arrangements for us to have an in suite couples massage. Angie & Tim were also more than willing to share their knowledge of the best local spots for dinner and entertainment, and we also got a great history lesson! We are frequent travelers and AG Thomson B&B is return stop on our list. Tim & Angie are wonderful hosts and their B&B is absolutely amazing! See you soon!

Room Tip: We were able to view three of the seven rooms on site and every room had its own special charm. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We were speechless when we read this - thank you! We can't wait to see you again in July!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
627
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I just can't say enough wonderful things about the A.G. Thompson House! My husband and I visited for our 10th anniversary get away and it was absolutely perfect! Breakfast delivered to our door, beautiful scenery, wonderfully friendly owners--every last detail was considered and it was exactly what we were looking for! We will be returning ASAP. I would recommend the A.G. Thompson House to everyone!

Room Tip: The Lake Superior Suite is absolutely the best! I had no idea that it was a separate carriage house...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very green-conscious and also provide organic food options in the breakfasts and picnics.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We can't thank you enough for choosing to share your time at our Inn, and for sharing your experience. The weather wasn't exactly the best, but we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. The Lake Superior Suite is the perfect spot to be when the weather is bad, or good!! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon when the gardens are in bloom and the weather is much warmer!! Thank you again - we are very fortunate to do what we do and very appreciative!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I meant to write this review sooner, but time got away from me. We went during the Valentine's/Presidents' Day weekend. We returned to the Lake Superior Suite--we love it for the privacy, the fabulous space, and the cozy atmosphere. If you are wondering if you should stay at the A.G. Thomson House, clearly, these reviews explain that you MUST book a stay. But if you have stayed there before, and you wonder, will it be as magical, as romantic, as special? YES. First of all, Tim and Angie are constantly working to learn more and more about how to be fantastic hosts. Secondly, they are often adding new decor, changing certain furnishings, and refreshing their spaces (interior and exterior). As I told Angie, it is the place where we (parents of young children) go to really, truly relax, and remember the wonder of just being a couple. Perfection.

Room Tip: For extra space and privacy, the Lake Superior Suite is wonderful--but we want to try every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz-Mikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
You two are absolutely amazing and it is like welcoming family each time you stay! Thank you for your incredibly kind words; we are so appreciative! You two, and all of our wonderful guests, make this such a rewarding lifestyle. It is important to us to keep the Inn fresh and updated, and to make it as comfortable, private and relaxing as we can. Our guests' stay is not about us, and that is what we try to keep in mind for every one that chooses to spend their valuable time and resources with us. We hope we can continue to deliver!! Thank you again and we will look forward to seeing you both again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I received a gift certifcate to stay at the A.G. Thomson House for my birthday from the kids. They couldn't have picked a nicer place! The home is beautiful, even with a foot of new snow outside. Our room was warm, spacious, nicely decorated and had a view of the lake. The owners are super and serve a wonderful breakfast. We would love to return in the summer to see the gardens and spend time on the private balcony off our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are so grateful our Inn was chosen by your kids for your special gift and thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us! We are all getting eager around here for the snow to go away and will hope to see you in the summer or fall when the grounds are covered in flowers instead of snow!! Thank you so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our stay at A.G. Thomson House was simply amazing. Angie and Tim were so kind that it was just so nice to have such hospitality. The homemade food was also so good and warm and filling and did I mention tasty? The house is amazing and does well for a weekend with touring or just the time spent "in". It was the best trip I have ever experienced!!

Room Tip: Look at the website and choose a room that way. The pictures are VERY accurate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing! We enjoyed every minute visiting with you both! We will look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This location has to be one of the most relaxing places I have been in a long time. The room was well updated, and the breakfast was very tasty. Also, the owners are wonderful people, they take the time to show they care and to connect. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Superior Suite is spacious and outstanding. Private Deck would be great in the Spring or Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience,, and thank you for staying with us!! Wishing you all the best ahead! Keep us posted!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a wonderful weekend at a wonderful place. Loved it! Tim and Angie treated us like family from arrival to departure. Beautiful location, the house is gorgeous and the food was delicious!

We will be back to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We had a great time visiting with you and sharing experiences!! Thank you so much! We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing