We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Week-end Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
mauston
1 review
“Amazing Week-end Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

We had an incredible week-end stay at the A.G. Thomson House. We enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evening while sitting in front of the fireplace. We had a good time talking with the other guests. The breakfasts were unbelievably good. Tim and Angie are very friendly and helpful. The decorating is beautiful and their home is extremely clean. We can't wait to stay again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank chuckcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
627
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at the historical A. G. Thomson House in Duluth, MN. We had a wonderful time. It was the most relaxing week-end we had ever experienced. The owners are Tim and Angie Allen. They made us feel so welcome in their home. The breakfast they served was delicious. Their home is very beautiful and we can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank linda43Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

My bf and I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms in the carriage house -- the one with the wooden-log-construction bed; not the western/Santa Fe themed one. We agreed that staying in the carriage house, which is maybe 20 yards from the main house, suited us because of its privacy. We particularly enjoyed the two-person spa and how friendly but very hands-off the hosts were since we felt free to come and go as we pleased with no interruption.

Breakfast was very nice. It didn't blow my mind and it would have been nice to have something savory to go with what was a lot of sweet, but it was very nicely done and filled us nicely for the rest of the morning driving north. There was one donut-type muffin each (think a sour cream muffin rolled in cinnamon sugar) and fruit for a "first course" and then an oven pancake with strawberries and whipped cream. The whole experience was very couple-y, which in our case was sort of nice since this was a first weekend away together and neither of us had ever stayed in a bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — In-room two-person jacuzzi tub
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slowfoodgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

My fiance and I were very impressed by the experience this past Labor Day weekend at the AG Thomson House. This was the second weekend that the B & B had been under new ownership but judging by the service you would think that the new owners had been doing this their whole lives. You can tell they love doing this and it shows. The experience embodied the ideal bed and breakfast experience.

Delicious breakfasts were served at 9am. For those of you who usually stay in a hotel you're in for a surprise. The breakfast menu items were elegant, the type of foods that you can imagine being served when the house was originally built in 1909. We stayed in the carriage house but were given a key for access to the main house so we could read and relax in the large living room and sunroom. Complimentary wine was offered in the afternoon and this was a nice break in the day of sightseeing and hiking and gave us a chance to meet some of the new guests that had arrived that day.

All and all this was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend the AG Thomson House to family and friends.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank St_Paul_Poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.8 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing