We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first together getaway in 12 years.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Faribault, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Our first together getaway in 12 years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our stay was wonderful!!! The room was cozy, the breakfast was delicious and Angie and Tim were gracious hosts!! We are already looking forward to our next visit to this wonderful Bed and Breakfast and meeting up with our new friends. Thank you both for a very pleasant getaway!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
625
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The A.G. Thomson house was a perfect weekend destination. We have been married 5 months and can't really afford a tropical honeymoon yet. So we decided to go north and have a winter weekend in Duluth. We loved this B&B - not only for the coziness, amazing breakfasts, but also because we got to know the innkeepers and left feeling like they were new friends. They are friendly, accommodating, and generous. We stayed in the carriage house, and the room was beautiful, comfortable, and has a whirlpool tub. There are complimentary beverages, coffee, wine, and cookies all day and all night long. There is a great DVD collection if you want to just hunker down and stay in your room. And then, of course, it has to be said that Duluth is an amazing getaway. There is plenty to do, between shopping downtown or by the canal, museums, fantastic restaurants, aquarium, and Spirit Mountain Adventure park - great for the winter, even if you don't ski. The A. G. Thomson House B&B owners offer to serve a full breakfast to your room of you request it - but we recommend dining in the main house so you get the full experience and get to know the owners because they are lovely!

Room Tip: Staying in the main house in the winter will save you a short walk to and from your room in the cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Underlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and i have stayed here twice our first time was in Oct 2010 when I purposed to here on Lake Supierior..The first room we stayed in was the Hewitt Sutie it was all we expected and more..The room was so welcoming from the bed to the clawfoot bathtub ,and the little belcony in the corner..It felt like home away from home..Angie and Time were so wonderful and the food i can not explain and words do not do it justice...The second time we went there we were on out honeymoon in the fall of Oct 2011..The room we stayede in this time was the Mayors Chamber..We arrived very tired from the wedding and just wanted to relax and let me tell you, thats,what we did for the next 6 days..The room had a fireplace,whirlpool tub and beautiful deor..I also asked that the room have rose pedals scattered,truffels, and champagene and this was done so well i think i might ask for this everytime for my wife..:)..I am not what else else to say but if you are thinking about going to a B&B this house sets the bar that no one can touch...Tim & Angie are truley an amazing copule...We will be back this year and cant wait ..Sara & Simon

Room Tip: If your looking for a romantic room choose the Mayors Chamber
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our stay at the A. G. Thompson house was fantastic. The room was uncomparable, and the service was even better. Upon entering, they greet you with a friendly smile, and a tour of the very elaborate historic mansion. I was fortunate enough to be welcomed into the room one evening with a beautiful "rose pedal turndown". The breakfast was delicious; you can join them in the main quarters to chat for a bit, or they deliver the breakfast to your room, promptly! This was the first B & B my significant other and I enjoyed together, and it was definitely a treat. Thank you Tim & Angie!

Room Tip: They are all great! Be prepared for a relaxing time in the hot-tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinneapolIs, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Wow!!! We had high expectations for the A.G. Thompson House from the beginning because of all the great reviews we read, and those expectations were exceeded from the start. We were greeted by Tim when we parked and were given a brief tour of the common areas of the house when we arrived. The decor is so welcoming, and Tim and Angie are the perfect hosts - so friendly and genuine. We felt comfortable there immediately!! The breakfast food was absolutely fabulous and we took advantage of both the option to enjoy breakfast in the dining area with the other guests as well as the option to have it delivered to our room during our stay. It's easy to see how much Tim and Angie love what they do as it is evidenced by all the effort they have put into their B&B - we especially enjoyed the fresh-baked cookies that were put out during the day as well as the large collection of movies that were available to watch! We loved our room and the thought that was put into making it a enjoyable place to stay. It was the perfect place to spend our first anniversary and we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maikme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offutt AFB
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Both my wife and myself stayed at the A.G. Thompson House B&B over this last summer. Our reservations were in the luxurious Lake Superior Suite; while we initially saw the photos of the suite online, seeing the suite in person was amazing. Both the layout and decor of the Lake Superior Suite was superb, we especially enjoyed the private deck in the back while we ate our wonderful breakfast.

The husband and wife team who own & run the A.G. Thompson House were fantastic hosts. They modified our breakfast since I do not like eggs (they planned to make omelets). Instead they made the most amazing stuffed French toast layered with fresh blueberries and peaches which in turn were topped with a succulent cinnamon and sugar topping. To complement the French toast they also made fresh white chocolate craisin scones, absolutely heavenly. Having breakfast on the back deck while sitting the shade of the blooming lilac bushes, made for a most perfect morning.

While my wife and myself have stay at other wonderful B&B's in Duluth's mansion district, this one is by far our most favorite. We look forward to planning another trip to the A.G. Thompson sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My now Fiancé and I stayed here in February of 2011, in the ‘Lake Superior Suite’ and it was, and still is by far our favorite place we have ever stayed. Tim and Angie were fantastic hosts and were willing to work with me on some requests to help with popping the question. This particular room is actually separated from the main house and is located in what used to be the horse stable (if I remember correctly). The heated floors, and the whirlpool coupled with the comfortable furnishings and the nautical theme of the room made for a fantastic stay. Even though Angie’s normal florist was out of town, she was able to track down rose pedals to have laid out on the floor and bed, and brought in a bottle of champagne with glasses, and some delicious chocolate truffles. They prepared the entire room with all of the above while we were out to dinner at one of the Italian restaurants in downtown Duluth. The next morning they brought the breakfast to our door in a nice basket so that we could enjoy it in the privacy of our room. Angie is a great cook by the way. The food is amazing. I simply cannot say enough nice things about this B&B, if you are looking for a great place to get away any time of year (yes, it is great in the winter as well) you can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kap5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing