We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”
Review of Super 8 Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Duluth
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Mineral Point, WI
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I found the Duluth Super 8 to be one of the better Super 8 motels I have stayed in recently. It what I expect from a Super 8. The room was clean, had a comfortable bed, and the staff was very friendly. The wireless internet could be improved. It was the only thing I found unsatisfactory during my stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    147
    140
    67
    37
See reviews for
168
133
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

To start, the room is way overpriced. I paid $76.00 for a "Deluxe Double Room". There was nothing deluxe about it.

I know what to usually expect with a Super 8, but this was way below par.

The walls were paper thin. I heard conversations from the customers staying next to me, as well as heard every footstep taken in the room above me.

The heat didn't work well, if at all.

The "Hot Tub Room" is now a workshop for a local to start his own "Ski and Snowboard Waxing" business. So correct, there is no hot tub.


Very disappointed especially for the price I paid.

WOULD NOT RECCOMEND

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthomson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Algoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a very nice stay at Super 8 in Duluth. Staff were very friendly and efficient in their jobs. Room was clean and very comfortable. There was a Perkins next door we could walk to for evening meal. Breakfast was good..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 408Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Quick review.
You are choosing this hotel for the price and you get what you pay for. Everything is just acceptable. The bed was quite comfortable, but only for sleeping (married couples take a hint).

The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really a snack and not a true breakfast - no waffles or bacon, and cold eggs. No fruit. The breakfast attendant was kind of in the way but at least she stocked the doughnuts. Tolerable coffee, that's it.

Air conditioner is audible if you're sensitive to that and bathroom fan roars if you turn it on.

No hair conditioner was provided but the shampoo smelled nice.

Ok so no horror stories, you can stay if you're on business trying to save a buck.
Ciao.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scriptures4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I was unsure if I wanted to stay after a couple of past reviews but have had mostly good stays at super 8. Was pleasantly surprised on the quality of this motel! VERY clean rooms. The front staff was friendly, joked around a bit with us, and was a fountain on info on the area. And not a bedbug in sight! I told them about the review and they said the local health department and their pestcontrol company had checked them out and no bed bugs were found.

I told my friends. I will go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthego511111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T.Bay
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We have stayed at the Super 8 the last two years (during the same time in November). When we were there in 2008, everything was great. The rooms were cleaned very well when we were out shopping. The staff at the front desk were great and the continental breakfast was as good as anywhere else.
This year (2009). I think the cleaning staff forgot their vacuum cleaners and dust clothes somewhere and forgot how to make beds. We did not expect them to change the bedding every day, but they could have made up the beds properly. It seemed like they just threw the covers up and tucked in the comforters to make it look good. When we pulled the bedding down - the sheets and mattress covers were rumpled. The tv in my sister-in-laws and brother-in-laws room looked like it had not been dusted for a week. When they did the room - they did not vacuum (someone had dropped cheezies and they remained there). Nothing that was on the floor was vacuumed. They did not replace the empty kleenex in the bathroom and did not replenish glasses. We did not pay a great deal for the rooms, but you should still get good service. We did not want to complain for fear that someone might do something to our stuff. We went to get coffee on Friday morning and it looked like it had been sitting since the day before (they advertise coffee 24 hours a day). The only good thing about the hotel this time was the friendly front desk staff (only thing they did not do was ask how our stay was when we were leaving). The continental breakfast was okay. I just checked the room rates on line for the same time next year and their prices have almost tripled.
I don't know how they can do this when the place was almost empty when we were there this year.
We did not mind the location of the hotel because it only takes about 10 minutes to get to the mall from the location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My family stayed in room 222 at the Super 8 in Duluth on June 23rd. Before turning in myself to sleep, I checked on the kids. There were almost ten visible adult bed bugs on the bed with them. A few on each child. I promptly got them out of bed, and found more under the pillows and mattress. After inspecting my things, I found a bed bug on a book that was across the room from the beds, on the desk.

My husband has been staying in this motel for three months, once a week, for business. He was transferred to another room, the kids and I left immediately. I threw our pjs out, and went through our things, but didn't realize that we could harbor eggs on our clothes and that the bugs like creaves of luggage (we had backpacks, which I threw away the next day). We did bring in our things from the car and they stayed by our door for half a day. I am now very very concerned that we brought them home, or of course, that my husband already had. My life has been nothing but dealing with this for the past few days.

I have contacted the Dept of Health in Duluth, and they are overseeing extermination of this room and those beside it. They have found insecticides not effictive. The heat the room to 140 degrees to kill the bugs. If we need to do this procedure at home, it will runs in the thousands. It will also require making a serious mess of our home, as they need to shuffle and pull out everything to properly heat and vaccum. What a nightmare. Please take a few minutes to educate yourselves on bed bugs so you know what to look for and what to do if you find them. Luckily, because they have been in the news, I could identify them. I sure wish I would have know to leave our bags behind. Oh, and while Super 8 is complying, it is worth noting that they had an infested room nine months ago also (I am willing to bet that they didn't find and treat all the rooms).

Helpful?
5 Thank crazycatzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#8 of 33 in Duluth
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#24 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Duluth

Property: Super 8 Duluth
Address: 4100 W Superior St, I-35 at 40th Ave W Exit 253 B, Duluth, MN 55807-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Duluth Hotel is more than just a rest stop on your journey, it is a destination. We are located just off Interstate 35 at exit 253B, within a few minutes of popular attractions. Start the day off with our free SuperStart continental breakfast before you adventure out for the day. Enjoy handy conveniences like free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk, and fax and copy service; plus a hot tub and sauna area. All rooms now come standard with a microwave and fridge. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available, and if you are traveling with a pet, please ask our friendly staff for details on our pet-friendly rooms and policies. For the comfort of our guests, we are a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Super Eight Duluth
Duluth Super 8
Duluth Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing