We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Good Middle of the Road Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Duluth
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Good Middle of the Road Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our stay at the Super 8 in Duluth was good. The room we stayed in was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the freeway and provide easy acess to downtown Duluth and driving along the North Shore. The hotel is located in a safe area. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. They could use some good hot food and especially some bananas. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in that still allows smoking in the rooms. We stayed in a non smoking room, but you could still smell smoke in the hallways. This is something that needs to change in the future in order to provide a more healthy environment for guests. They staff tries their best to give the guests a good experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodi c, Manager at Super 8 Duluth, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We do our best to give a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

While we don't offer a full hot breakfast like some other chain motels do, we have a nice variety of breakfast options. And we would love to offer bananas but I'm sure you notice that they all are ripe at the same time? lol We do try to have apples and/or oranges available to everyone.

Come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    116
    109
    52
    29
See reviews for
127
104
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Everything was terrific from checking in to cleanliness to convenience. It was a very pleasant visit and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Duluth. The breakfasts were very nice and adequate, the staff was very friendly, the Wi-Fi was good and if we needed anything there was no problem in getting it. The location was excellent right near the highway for easy access to where we needed to go. Shopping in the area was good too and gas and banks close too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Room was approx. $135 a night for a cramped Queen size room. We needed to add the use of a fold down bed at the cost of an additional 10-15 dollars. The bedding was not comfortable on either beds. That bathroom smelled of musty sweat like a locker room which wasn't appealing. The pluses of the room included a new flat screen tv and a mini fridge. The breakfast in the morning was nothing to write home about. The strangest part of my stay was when I went to fetch some ice in the morning from their one ice machine by the front desk and there was a case of yogurt sitting on the ice machine ledge. The room was extremely warm and the yogurt containers within the case were warm to the touch. I did bring it to the attention of the front desk. Here is to hoping they didn't serve it to future guests at breakfast. This hotel is better than the Motel 6 just down the road...but is more expensive as well. I've stayed at both.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staff was super friendly, Beds were terrible. Air conditioning was really loud, the breakfast was average, no water?? The price was extortion for that place, I will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Gs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#13 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Duluth

Property: Super 8 Duluth
Address: 4100 West Superior St., I-35 at 40th Ave W Exit 253 B, Duluth, MN 55807-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Duluth Hotel is more than just a rest stop on your journey, it is a destination. We are located just off Interstate 35 at exit 253B, within a few minutes of popular attractions. Start the day off with our free SuperStart continental breakfast before you adventure out for the day. Enjoy handy conveniences like free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk, and fax and copy service; plus a hot tub and sauna area. Book a suite with microwave and refrigerator for added comfort. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available, and if you are traveling with a pet, please ask our friendly staff for details on our pet-friendly rooms and policies. For the comfort of our guests, we are a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Super 8 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Super Eight Duluth
Duluth Super Eight
Duluth Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing