We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs!!”
Review of Super 8 Duluth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Duluth
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bed bugs!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in room 203 for 2 nights on Thanksgiving w/e. I noticed on our way home that my arms were itchy. Later I found red bug bites on my arms and neck (only a few on my legs). I have never experienced this before and have stayed in many hotels in Duluth. I washed all my clothes and will throw out our bags. I hope that I didn't bring them home!

Room Tip: read trip advisor before booking a room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    148
    140
    67
    37
See reviews for
169
133
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amery, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed there and the first night I couldn't sleep and didn't know why. The second night I was so tired I passed out and woke up the next morning to bites all over me. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slelle30325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

New Richmond, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed two nights in Room 206 during a busy tourist weekend in September 2011. My room cost $130 a night, which I thought was terribly overpriced, especially given the conditions of the hotel.

I ended up getting sick during my stay and would have gone home a day early, only there was a two-night minimum stay that weekend and I'd already paid for my two days. I figured I would get my rest and leave early the next morning. This is exactly what I did -- I slept from noon one day straight through until 8 a.m. the next morning. Then I checked out and drove home. During my drive home, I began to feel itchy. When I arrived home three hours later I discovered small insect bites covering my entire body, literally hundreds of bites all over -- on my arms, fingers, hands, legs, feet, back, tummy, even on my face.

I don't travel much and did not even think to check for bed bugs. I didn't notice any itching until after I had checked out of the hotel. It's too soon to know if any of those bugs hitched a ride home with me. So far I don't see any, and I was careful to wash the items I brought back into the house, but it is very possible that my home is already infested with bedbugs. The cost is adding up quick -- medical bills from a doctor visit, missed time from work, plus if I need to hire an exterminator or replace infested items, that will be an even bigger cost. Then there is the itchiness, the blotches everywhere that will probably scar my body, the constant "creepy crawling" feeling I am getting, and the inability to get a good night's sleep in fear that I will end up with more bites.

Even if you stay at this hotel and don't encounter bed bugs, you will surely notice other things that amount to an unpleasant experience. The walls were so thin, I could hear every sound my neighbors made . The room smelled of smoke, even though I was in a non-smoking room. The water pressure in the shower was terrible. The room was hot and stuffy. The location was in a dumpy spot in West Duluth.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay at this hotel!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, WI
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

I found the Duluth Super 8 to be one of the better Super 8 motels I have stayed in recently. It what I expect from a Super 8. The room was clean, had a comfortable bed, and the staff was very friendly. The wireless internet could be improved. It was the only thing I found unsatisfactory during my stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

To start, the room is way overpriced. I paid $76.00 for a "Deluxe Double Room". There was nothing deluxe about it.

I know what to usually expect with a Super 8, but this was way below par.

The walls were paper thin. I heard conversations from the customers staying next to me, as well as heard every footstep taken in the room above me.

The heat didn't work well, if at all.

The "Hot Tub Room" is now a workshop for a local to start his own "Ski and Snowboard Waxing" business. So correct, there is no hot tub.


Very disappointed especially for the price I paid.

WOULD NOT RECCOMEND

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthomson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a very nice stay at Super 8 in Duluth. Staff were very friendly and efficient in their jobs. Room was clean and very comfortable. There was a Perkins next door we could walk to for evening meal. Breakfast was good..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 408Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Quick review.
You are choosing this hotel for the price and you get what you pay for. Everything is just acceptable. The bed was quite comfortable, but only for sleeping (married couples take a hint).

The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really a snack and not a true breakfast - no waffles or bacon, and cold eggs. No fruit. The breakfast attendant was kind of in the way but at least she stocked the doughnuts. Tolerable coffee, that's it.

Air conditioner is audible if you're sensitive to that and bathroom fan roars if you turn it on.

No hair conditioner was provided but the shampoo smelled nice.

Ok so no horror stories, you can stay if you're on business trying to save a buck.
Ciao.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scriptures4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
5.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#9 of 33 in Duluth
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#24 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Duluth

Property: Super 8 Duluth
Address: 4100 W Superior St, I-35 at 40th Ave W Exit 253 B, Duluth, MN 55807-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Duluth Hotel is more than just a rest stop on your journey, it is a destination. We are located just off Interstate 35 at exit 253B, within a few minutes of popular attractions. Start the day off with our free SuperStart continental breakfast before you adventure out for the day. Enjoy handy conveniences like free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk, and fax and copy service; plus a hot tub and sauna area. All rooms now come standard with a microwave and fridge. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available, and if you are traveling with a pet, please ask our friendly staff for details on our pet-friendly rooms and policies. For the comfort of our guests, we are a smoke-free hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Super Eight Duluth
Duluth Super 8
Duluth Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing