We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wouldn't Stay Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Stay Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the airport. It is on the edge of an industrial area--the access road and parking lot are in rough shape. There is no elevator and we were on the second floor--fortunately, our luggage wasn't heavy. The rooms were clean, but the hotel is showing its age and is borderline shabby. The staff was helpful and friendly, but for the price, I expected a nicer facility. The breakfast was plentiful and smelled really good, but was lacking in healthy options. I chose to stop at a local restaurant instead.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    47
    17
    18
See reviews for
49
40
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was kind OK, the staff was Very nice. The area was not nice at all. Almost felt unsafe.
It was a 17min. drive from downtown Duluth. Paid $140.00 a night which was a surprise discounted rate from travelocity, which I would expect to pay for Downton Duluth, but not at all where we were located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I guess it was bound to catch up with me....after several very successful "blind buy" deals on well known web site, We ended up at the econolodge on duluth! the hotel is in a delapitaed area of the city, with closed businesses all aroung and what apears to be a burned out building next door. As we entered the pot hole ridden parking lot, my wife commented on the two 12 or 13 year old boys smoking outside the front door. I guess I did not realize there were still sknmoing rooms on hotels, but when the front desk lady to use the far stairways if we did not want to go down the smoking wing, we seriously consided leaving our prepaid hotle to find a better one. Being the cheap guy I am I convinced my wife to stay the one night we had paid for. After 4.5 hours of sleep on a very uncomfortable bed, we got up at 4:30 am and checked out of the hotel.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeBuffalo_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we were traveling to and from duluth minn to visit family and needed a reasonably priced hotel to catch plane back to az. this hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful the breakfast in the morning was hot and fresh with plenty of staff to help. would definetly stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azbullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Econolodge while doing the Grandma's half marathon Duluth puts on every year. They jacked up the prices for the weekend. It's just your average place. I forgot my passport there, so I called them and she called me right bak saying it was in her hands. I had to pay postage, after overpaying for my rooms. If its regular mail I will be severely disappointed if they made me pay postage for that and the fact they sent a passport through regular mail.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lissylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
596 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staff and service were fine. Nice breakfast, good location near mall and shopping and reasonably priced. Very nice rooms. Would stay again. Don't let the driveway intimidate you. The place was very nice. Stayed in the new wing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pkukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very nice, always very clean, and accommodating . Must say, try to stay away from the rooms at the end of the hall, kinda noisy. Breakfast in always plentiful and the staff freindly
We stay there twice a year every year, always consistent , just make sure you are not going through town during the marathon.....you can't get a room anywhere!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike & Cath... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Property: Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall
Address: 4197 Haines Rd, Duluth, MN 55811-3932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean economy hotel located at the Duluth, Minn. airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Airport Hotel Duluth
Econo Lodge Duluth
Duluth Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing