We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We checked in on a Friday afternoon when the hotel was fully booked for the weekend. Check-in went smoothly and when we got to our room we were pleased. We hesitantly reserved a King Whirlpool Suite because there was nothing else available but the layout of the room is excellent and it worked out fine for our family. The room was in an "L" shape with the bathroom, couch/pull out bed and TV straight inside the door and the whirlpool and king sized bed (with awesome views of Lake Superior) around the corner providing some privacy. The room was spacious and had a good-sized bathroom, nice water pressure in the shower, comfortable beds, and plenty of storage room for clothes, etc.

The only negative was that our room was near the stairwell and kids were running through the halls and stairwell until at least 11 pm. Unfortunately, it was loud and with the door to the stairwell slamming shut every few minutes, it was difficult to fall asleep.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated being able to walk to restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoy running when we travel and the hotel is perfect for that because right out back is a path following the lake front. I highly recommend Amazing Grace Café across the street for a latte or baked goods. The windows in the rooms open so it's just awesome with the view of the lake and fresh air in the room. Plenty of free parking too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Travel53705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

You got to experience one of the best rooms in the hotel! I am so glad that it worked out well for your family to stay in. I am sorry to hear that it was a bit noisy for you with the kids running in the hallway and stairwell. We try to monitor that but unfortunately that isn't always possible. You also experienced a lot of the wonderful amenities of Canal Park. Amazing Grace's is a great place to eat if you choose not to enjoy our free hot breakfast. Please come again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 628 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has nice curb appeal and was very clean. It is located within walking distance to a whole afternoon of activities. Check in was very smooth and quick. Our room, on the second floor, was very nice. At first it looked like a parking lot view but we could see the Aerial Lift Bridge from our room. We watched 3 BIG ships come into harbor from our room. The room is nicely updated and bigger than I thought. There were 2 queen beds and a sofa. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were too. The only issues were there was a fair amount of noise from the hallway and there was a weird clicking noise when the HVAC system ran. No big deals really. The breakfast was good with waffles, eggs, sausage and all the regular continental items. All in all a very nice hotel. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Landscaper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you had a great experience at the Comfort Suites Canal Park. You stayed in a great with your view of the Ariel Lift Bridge. It's almost like having a front row seat for when the boats come under the bridge. Sometimes there is a bit of noise in the hallways when we run a full house. I hope that they did not get out of hand in the hallways. We appreciate your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Was not my first choice only because of price...however, it ended up being worth it and was exactly what our family needed for a long weekend. Close to every thing you need in the canal park area. Lovely room on the third floor with lake view. Friendly staff at front desk, and very professional staff at breakfast. Will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank blcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that we were exactly what you were looking for in a hotel accommodation for your long weekend with your family. We think our location is prime for all of our guests because they can practically walk to where they want to go. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was there going into surgery the next morning and durning the night it had snowed, when we tried to leave both of the entrances were blocked with snow and we along with 4 other cars trying to get out could not!!! We told the staff and were told youll just have to wait,we dont know when the plow will be here, but there is nothing we can do, so my husband got out a shovel and started to shovel so we could get to the hospital, which I was late for my surgery do to your poor customer service along with the other people trying to get out!!!! Not a happy customer, I recived a response from the manager blaming the city for plowing, why would you not have your own so that people could get out.... Also what about an emergency noone would have been able to get in or out!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELISSABOOGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor about your experience at the Comfort Suites Canal Park. I am terribly sorry that you felt that you received bad customer service. Unfortunately, my front desk staff was correct about there was nothing we could do to help your situation. We did have a plow come through the parking lot and make a sweep to help guests leave. However, the City was also out trying to clean up after the snow storm and a snow drift was created at the entrances to our parking lot just prior to you needing to leave. We have been hit especially hard this year with record amounts of snow to the tune of a 135 inches. We try especially hard to keep our lot cleared but there are times we have to take our turn and wait. I hope that this wont prevent you from ever coming again. We really DO appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We went into the hotel on a whim and got a great deal for the room (probably because we were visiting in the middle of spring!) and we got a great sized room facing the aerial lift bridge. The room was large, bright, clean, and very cozy. The breakfast far surpassed expectations. What a gem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writerintherough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad that you decided to check us out and that we were able to give you a great experience. Thank you too for the comments on our breakfast. We work hard to ensure that we have a great breakfast for our guests and that they leave full and ready to start their day. Please stay with us again when you decide on a whim to visit Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Beautiful place to stay and the prices were very reasonable. Nice, large spacious room for the kids to spread out; breakfast had a large selection to choose from; walking distance to Grandma's Restaurant and wonderful little shops to browse through. Will definitely stay again on our next trip to Duluth!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

I am so glad that you for the Comfort Suites Canal Park worth a return visit! We agree that we have a beautiful hotel and our prices are comparable to the surrounding area. It sounds like we were able to meet your needs to accommodate your kids with the size of your room and our breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel when staying on Canal Park! We will definitely go back in teh summer! It's the last hotel at the end of Canal Park, and our room overlooked downtown, the lake and the High Bridge - gorgeous! They also had a super pool area with two hot tubs and one of the best hotel free breakfasts I've ever had - completed with waffles and all the breads and yogurts and juices you'd expect, but also they had yummy eggs each morning and either bacon or sausage or biscuits and gravy - very good offerings and great taste! Our room was spacious, clean, staff was friendly and accommodating, even with a full hotel. The pull out couch was even comfortable and the blankets were super warm. I also liked that they offered a bar and appetizers - really appreciated that and took advantage of it! In the summer, you could walk right onto the LakeWalk and voila - a perfect vacation spot. Way to go Comfort Suites!

Room Tip: Loved our corner junior suite with wrap around balcony! Spring for lakeside rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StillLoveMNbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Wow, thanks for the wonderful review of the Comfort Suites Canal Park! It sounds like you stayed in one of our very best rooms with a view. You are absolutely correct that we have gorgeous views all around the hotel. We work hard to offer one of the best breakfasts around for a hotel. Our staff takes great delight in making sure your room is exceptionally clean and that you are as comfortable as possible. Indeed, we agree with you, we are a perfect vacation spot. We hope to see you this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 31 in Duluth
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $121 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing