We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Robotic visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Robotic visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel surprised me. The rooms are great and clean. The bathroom is big and also clean. Love the beds. The breakfast is wonderful. Many choices. Only negative is our room faces the parking lot and I could hear a lot of noise from the outside. Would definately stay again but on the side that faces the lake

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for the Robotic competition! We truly enjoy having the robotics teams stay with us. Thank you too for your kind words about our hotel. I am glad that we were able to surprise you with the size of our bathrooms and the cleanliness. The next time you stay you would definitely enjoy our lakeside rooms. Not only being more quiet, the view is amazing! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    143
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
229
142
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had heard rave reviews from friends and family about this hotel and finally had the opportunity to stay here. We were not disappointed! The rooms are generous in size, the beds are extremely comfortable with lovely quality linens and the bathroom is nice with granite and good quality toiletries. We appreciated the quality of the breakfast. We will definitely try to return in the summer when we can enjoy the waterfront. What a wonderful job Duluth has done to develop this area of their city and this hotel is certainly an asset!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel! Please also thank your friends on our behalf for recommending the Comfort Suites Canal Park with their raves. Word of mouth is our biggest promoter and we love it when we can create such great reviews. We hope you will return in the summer. It is our busiest season but we are all excited to have our full hotel after the very long winter around here. Duluth looks forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for a night over the coldest weekend of the year. This place has an amazing location right in Canal Park on the Lake. Very easy access to the lakewalk and Superior St. The rooms were amazingly nice and clean and spacious! I was really impressed. The beds and pillows were oh so comfortable! Granite countertops in the bathroom and bar. The pool area was very busy, but fortunately they have two small hot tubs. Very nice after a cold day outside. Huge rooms, very quiet, and would definitely stay again. We are Choice points members and they gave us a spacieal gift at check-in and a hand-written card thanking us for our stay - very classy touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leex1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful compliments for us. I have had your comments printed out and shared with the entire staff. They are working hard to have a friendly, clean hotel that all can enjoy and your comments summed up the majority of what the have been working for. We hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pillager,MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We love Duluth and this hotel is nearest the lift bridge. Enjoyed the balcony overlooking the lake in a king suite. Close to great walkways and downtown. Hotel staff were pleasant and accommodating. Our favorite place to stay in Duluth!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Comfort Suites Canal Park! We ARE the nearest hotel to the Ariel Lift Bridge. We have some fantastic views from several of our rooms of this world famous bridge. It's always a treat to see a huge ship coming underneath it. You are right about able to access the boardwalk and downtown. I believe we have some very unique and fun shops and attractions all within walking distance to the hotel. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our robotics team chose to stay here during the FRC competition in Duluth, Minnesota. We had a wonderful time! It was situated by several restaurants and a candy shop. Every night we went to a different restaurant and we spent our final night eating jellybeans. They were the kind where half are regular and half taste like centipedes or rotton cheese. In addition to its excellent location, Lake Superior was directly out through the back door. On our third day we saw a couple propose in front of the lakefront. Breakfast had WAFFLES and a wide variety of different meal choices everyday. In the evenings, they would bring out boneless wings or other snacks. Our window had a tree directly in front of it, but it would have been useful if a fire had occured. The only inconvenience that occured during our stay was when the fire alarm went off. However, it went off about five minutes before we were planning to wake up so it worked out great. Overall, our stay was fantastic and we have to thank the staff for graciously dealing with us when we locked some pillows in our room safe. (long story)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
It sounds like you had a very unique and wonderful time at the Comfort Suites Canal Park! I am glad that your robotics team stayed with us. We have always enjoyed the robotics kids and find them to be well behaved and delightful. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast and that staff in dealing with your locked pillows. I think we need to add jellybeans to our breakfast menu the next time your team comes to visit but we will pick some different flavors. Best of everything as you prepare for next years robotics competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night while in town for the weekend. The property was very well kept. Our two queen suite was very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and professional. Only complaint was a slightly too cold hot tub in the pool area. Would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity for being your lodging choice when you came to Duluth. I am sorry to hear that the hot tub was a bit cool for you. We actually have two hot tubs and perhaps the other one was a bit warmer. I am glad that you will recommend us in the future and hope that you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We came back from an outing on Lake Superior, checked in, and headed for the hot tub. We appreciated the poolside shower and ample supply of towels. The room was quiet with comfortable beds. The breakfast included a nice variety; the spice waffle was delicious. All in all, a nice getaway that met our expectations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mishmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we met your expectation. You mentioned our spice waffles. We actually have several flavors that we rotate through out the week. I hope that you will come stay with us again and perhaps we can do even better by exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Property: Comfort Suites Canal Park
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing