We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location; beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found it very enjoyable in great location in Canal Park. The rooms were spacious, with a separate sitting area and a terrace looking out on Lake Superior. A nice amenity was the serving of drinks in the afternoon (fee) in the lobby. The only “complaint” is that the breakfast area was very crowded and congested. We ended up taking our food back to our room.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the lake; it's worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am very glad that you had a nice stay with us. Our balcony rooms are especially spacious and many come with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. Yes, our breakfast room does get crowded but we do supply trays for those who would prefer to dine in their rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Canal Park. The hotel was great. Very friendly people, great breakfast which was included. Our room was clean and we had a great view of Lake Superior. It was a little pricey, but we booked it during peak fall color season. The main issue was our vacation was pretty much washed out due to weather, with 40 mph winds and rain all weekend. This was nothing the hotel could control, obviously. We will definitely book this hotel again when we go back to Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments about the Comfort Suites Canal Park. I am sorry that we couldn't order up nicer weather for your stay. I do hope that the very next time you come to Duluth that we have perfect weather for you. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For Blue Man Group 2013, we stayed at the Comfort Suites in Duluth Canal Park location. The room rented was one on floor two, a 2 double bed lakefront. Impressed with everything about the place.
FACILITIES: The hotel has very good amenities. They have a fitness room, pool, free breakfast, business center, vending areas, and meeting room. I looked at everything, and it looked like everything was functional.
STAFF: By 4:30PM, I was friends with the ladies at the desk. EVERYBODY has a big smile and was helpful there. They really are helpful.
HOTEL ROOM: the room was huge. It was larger than most hotel rooms I've stayed in. Each room has a mini wet bar, SPOTLESS, and comfortable. The beds are super comfortable!! The view was breathtaking. Some rooms will have a small private balcony.
BREAKFAST: The breakfast was Good. It is Comfort Inn’s “your morning breakfast”. They have a pretty good selection.
I highly recommend this hotel if in the area. Now here's the pros and cons
PROS:
1) Very nice room
2) Super friendly staff
3) Awesome pool, indoor.
4) Nice fitness center
5) Aqueduct breakfast
6) LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
7) Tastefully decorated rooms

Cons
1) Small pool although very nice.

Room Tip: If you can, try for a room in the newer wing, on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Wow, what an awesome review of our property and staff! We certainly enjoy having guests like you staying with us and love the fact that you REALLY checked us out and we meet your expectations. It doesn't surprise me one bit that you became friends with our front desk staff. They are friendly and all of them have beautiful smiles. Please come stay with us again. It sounds like you are already part of the ingroup and we will miss you terribly! Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Black Hills, South Dakota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is extremely well located in the Canal Park and provides excellent views of Lake Superior and the lighthouses. It is convenient to walk to several restaurants, museums, shops, etc. There is a long walk that goes by the lakeside and there are plenty of spots to simply sit and enjoy the scenery of Lake Superior. The hot breakfast is very well prepared and the servers do a top notch job of keeping everything stocked although it does get rather busy at times. Housekeeping is excellent and the rooms are spotless. Parking is very available in an area where parking is at a premium. The rate is a bit steep, but the location is great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pactola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in a king suite for 2 nights. It was lovely with views of the piers and bridge.

2 detriments - the price and the breakfast (food was great, plentiful and many choices) room was crowded and we ended up sitting in a bland conference room down the hall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensen_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you got to enjoy the views of the piers and the Ariel Lift Bridge. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy the beautiful views from our breakfast room. We do use our meeting room as overflow when the crowds are too much for our breakfast room to handle. I hope that will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin cities
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights in a king suite on the 1st floor. We were VERY impressed with the room cleanliness, décor, granite bathroom counters and window ledges, the bed was very comfortable and we appreciated the choice of soft or firm pillows. We had a separate sofa bed area and Jacuzzi (which we did not use). The room had 2 flat screen TV's and two very large windows. Our view was of the lake and path that many tourists walk/run on, it was so beautiful to see the ships on the lake and the horse drawn carriages pass right by our window on the path. The breakfast in the morning was very good! This hotel is walking distance to everything in canal park.
The things we did not care for was the very thin walls/ceilings. Hearing the people above us walking around just did not jive with how nice the room was - it was disappointing, but not a huge deal, but could have been if there were rowdy folk near by. Although the breakfast was good, there was always a very long line to utilize it and since they ran out of room in the main seating area , they opened up a meeting room in the hall for overflow. When I booked with a 'lakeview' I envisioned a beautiful full view of the lake - since we were 1st floor we were obstructed by a tree and lawn, it was still beautiful, but if you prefer the full view - book for the highest floor you can get.
I could not give 5 circles due to the very high rate we paid matched with the things we didn't care for.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarpon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Comfort Suites Canal Park. It sounds like overall that you had a nice time us. You stayed in one of our best rooms. I apologize that we couldn't have given you a room on a higher floor. That is often the case when we are a full-house that we can only guarantee the room type but not the floor or particular room. I am surprised that you could hear the people above you as most guests say that their rooms in our new addition is very quiet. Hopefully they were just rowdy which you can always give us a call at the front desk and we will ask them to settle down. I hope you come again soon and perhaps we can get you up even higher in the hotel so that you have an even better view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean, updated and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The beds were really comfortable and the hot continental breakfast was a perfect touch. Amazing views of Lake Superior or canal park. Only bad thing was the rate.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiden W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments on Trip Advisor! It's wonderful that you had an "amazing" time with us and in Canal Park. We are a bit more pricey but I hope that our service, hotel, and location make it work every penny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#