We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here during Tall Ships week so the hotel was packed. Great location on Lake Superior. Hotel staff courteous and friendly. No complaints. Breakfast, Internet and parking all included. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 290markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor. Yes, the hotel was packed but we all had a wonderful time during the Tall Ships Festival. I am glad you have a good time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 657 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our room was on the first floor near the east side, or canal side. The private balcony overlooked the lake and the walking/running/biking trails. The trails are very well kept. Twice we took walks on the boardwalk. Many cities could take a lesson from Duluth on building and maintaining trails. When the big ships either enter or exit the canal it seems that the entire hotel as well as surrounding businesses empty to watch the event. Twice we watched the ships. The location of the hotel is smack dab in the middle of everything in the canal district. The rooms and service were first rate. We completely enjoyed our stay in Duluth and highly recommend this hotel. The price is rather expensive compared to other Comfort Suites, but the location makes the extra money worth spending.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilton28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. Yes, we are smack dab in the middle of the Canal Park district. All you ever need to do is within walking distance of the hotel. The boardwalk you talked about is right behind the hotel. All along the boardwalk you will find interesting sights and businesses to keep you occupied. Our prices are a bit more expensive than other Comfort Suites but I think you will agree that it is worth it! We have been the Comfort Suites Canal Park for 20 years now. We want to bring the same great guest service in the future as we have been know for all along. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel has the best location in the Canal Park in Duluth. It is on the waterfront and the Boardwalk is within a few feet of the hotel. All of the points of interest are within a small area around the hotel too. Tacos and cheese were provided about 5 pm and the breakfast was very tasty. The room was beautiful and we asked and were given a view of the water. Everything was above expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

It sounds like you had a wonderful experience with us and on Canal Park. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our appetizers with our cash bar. Often the appetizers are gone within minutes because of its popularity! We hope that you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed two nights during the week and never felt how many people were staying at the hotel until breakfast time. The eating area was packed the entire time, but they have tables out on the patio which gives extra eating space too. Fortunately for us, our room was near the eating area, so we took our food back to our room instead. I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by the hot breakfast offerings. The first morning was sausage gravy with biscuits and either plain scrambled eggs or scrambled eggs with cheese and sausage/bacon. I thought the scrambled eggs would have been dehydrated, but they were real eggs and had very good flavor. I would swear these eggs were made at an actual restaurant. The second day offerings were the biscuits with gravy or a biscuit, sausage, egg and cheese sandwich. Besides coffee, they have a cappuccino/hot chocolate machine.

The room was large in size. We had two queens with a sofa sleeper, microwave and refrigerator. Very comfortable beds and you get to choose from soft or firm pillows. Our room was lakeside which was a nice perk. We were in the "older" part of the hotel, but would never have guessed it by the appearance or the renovated bathroom.

Even though it was unusually warm for Duluth while we were there, we did enjoy sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the porch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast each morning. Yes, seating is a premium on high occupancy days. We will serve anywhere between 350 to 500 people during our busy summer. We try to offer a variety and change the menu each day. The trick is to figure out what the majority of our guests like for breakfast!

I see that you also enjoyed our newly renovated rooms in our main building. We took alot effort to bring them up-to-date so that our guests can enjoy all the modern amenities of our hotel. I hope you can see the pride we take in our property! Do come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the room on 3rd floor with wrap around balcony overlooking canal. Balcony was a great place to hang out and watch a few big ships come and go. Newer part of hotel so room was very nice. Lots of space. Big walk in shower. One of the better rooms we've stayed in. Breakfast was also good. Some hot food items and an outdoor patio to sit at. Will stay here again hopefully in same room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

You got the best room in the house! We are so glad that you enjoyed your room. The room you stayed in is definetely one of the very best we have. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast out on the back patio. I believe that we have the best views of Lake Superior anywhere from the breakfast room and patio. We hope that you will be with us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This lovely hotel is reasonably priced and right on the waterfront! Gorgeous view of Lake Superior from our room. Waterfront was so interesting...we walked to the lighthouse and bridge and around the waterfront area... talked with a local who recommended a good Italian rr., Bellisio’s, then returned to our hotel for a good night’s sleep on excellent mattress. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Really nice to have a view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCCMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the awesome review. I would say you had the best of all worlds while staying with us by the views, perfect room, great food, and finally a great nights sleep. We hope you will return and we can do it all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Many of us have probably vowed to never again stay in a "families hotel." This Comfort Suites is an exception to the rule that places marketed to families are deity, noisy and worn out. This Comfort Suites was excellent: clean, quiet and fresh. Good linens, towels and furnishings are what we found.

Breakfast fare was better than average.

Complaints? None. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank striderchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I hope we were able to surprise you with our hotel. We do market to families but we are a very proud bunch of the beautiful hotel that we run that we are willing to invest in renovating our rooms, upgrading our bedding, and trying to keep up with the latest trends in hospitality. Our guests are demanding but we are up to the challenge to meet their expectations. We are glad that you had a happy experience and we hope that you will let us do it again for you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 32 in Duluth
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $110 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing