We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wanted to stay in a Hotel close to Canal Park in Duluth, MN so we chose the Comfort Suites. We liked that it was right on Lake Superior and a easy walk to Canal Park, food and shopping. We did not have a lake view room, but that was okay as we were only there one night and it was cool to see the Lift Bridge and the city lights from our window. The room was nice with 2 queen beds and a hide-a bed couch, so if you stay there with a small family you would have plenty of room. The breakfast was great! We stayed during the week, so there were probably less people than on a weekend. They served scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, muffins, bagels, cold cereals and more. The breakfast staff was really friendly and very helpful, they were very accommodating to some guests who got up late and didn't make it to the breakfast area until after the 10:00 am cutoff time. We will probably stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast! I'll be sure to pass your compliments to our kitchen staff--they work hard to make sure it is a pleasant experience for all of our guests. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 628 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Comfort Suites Canal Park and had a nice time. The lobby and breakfast areas are very pleasant. However, the room that we had is starting to show some wear and tear. It was wonderful to have a refrigerator and microwave in our room. The layout of the room was also great. Note to Management: The facial tissue and toilet tissue are like sandpaper. Please invest in higher quality tissue products.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2TravelersMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are aware that some of our rooms in the main building are showing some wear, and are happy to announce that we are set to start some major renovations this coming week and can't wait to see the results. I'll be sure to mention to upper management regarding the tissue--I'm sorry to hear that it was uncomfortable! We hope that you'll come back and check out our renovations in a few months. Please let me know if I can help with any of your future travel plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Suites while attending a wedding at the DECC. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We splurged on a suite with a lake view, and it was well worth it. We watched ships coming into the harbor and just enjoyed the lake view. The location was ideal, as we were able to walk to the DECC and didn't have to worry about parking.

Sunday morning breakfast was very good, although extremely crowded. If they had not opened up an extra meeting room for seating, it would have been a problem.

Overall, it was a great place to stay and we will be back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Karn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review of our hotel! I'm glad that you found the lake view to be worth it--we certainly love being able to see the ships come and go right outside our back door! Our breakfast area does get filled quickly when we are busy, and having the overflow meeting room as an option seems to work well; I'm glad that you found it to be helpful also. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I thought our rate was high for a Tuesday night but was willing to pay it for the lake view room that I booked. The view is great as expected, the bed is comfortable. However, we are so disappointed in the condition of the bathroom. I don't know if we were put on the old side of the building or what but the toilet keeps running. We have had to fix it multiple times, the sink is dirty and wear and tear old. The ice bucket tray is shabby with tears. Everything in the bathroom is old and outdated and dirty and I expected more for what I am paying. We are on the 3rd floor. (No balcony) Haven't had breakfast yet to give my thoughts on that but having to fix the toilet for the umpteenth time made me want to write my review now. As far as coming back, I am thinking that I should peruse the neighboring hotels in Canal park in the hopes of getting a nicer room for my money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that you're disappointed with your room. We are looking forward to a major renovation of our bathrooms in the main building starting in a couple of weeks. It will include upgrading all of the bathroom fixtures, including tubs, sinks, etc. and are very excited to see the outcome! While this does not make up for the problems you've encountered during this stay, I'd like to invite you back to see the changes in hopes of regaining your confidence in our property. Please do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff at any time during your stay should something not be in working order--our maintenance team would be more than happy to resolve the problem for you. Again, please accept my apologies for this stay falling short of your expectations. We hope to see you on a return trip. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in your travel plans. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park due to its proximity to the DECC as we were in Duluth to see Jerry Seinfeld perform. The location is very convenient to the DECC and the rest of Canal Park. However, for $200 on a Friday night, the price was a little steep for a basic hotel room. But that is the price one pays for convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that we did not “wow” you with our service, and left you feeling as though our hotel was only average. Our staff strives to provide a fantastic experience for all of our guests, and recognizes that our nightly rates are high due to our location. On your next trip to Duluth, I would highly recommend checking out VisitDuluth.com and clicking on the “hot deals” tab. There are some great coupons and specials offered through this site for hotels, restaurants, and attractions in the area. Please let me know if I can assist you in finding the best rate possible on your next stay. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to the Comfort Suites Canal Park soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had an amazing room with a view of Lake Superior that couldn't be beat. We were able to watch large ships exit the harbor right from the room. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at with a staff that is very friendly. It was completely worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times and had the experience of watching the ore boats come into the harbor. The location can't be beat! The rooms have always been clean, in good repair and the beds have been comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms are hard to come by and pricey during the summer. Check directly with the hotel to see if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. I really like your tip for travel, also. It is a great idea to contact us locally regarding availability and rates! Thank you again, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 31 in Duluth
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $121 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing