We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“lovely stay, thin walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“lovely stay, thin walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Recently returned from a short trip to Duluth. I got a discounted rate at this particular hotel with my corporate discount. The location was terrific, easy to get to and right on Lake Superior. The breakfast in the morning was great, there was 3 adults and 2 kids in my party and we were all able to get full, and save money on lunch! The pool was great for the kids. If I had to gripe about this hotel, its I thought the walls were extremely thin. Not to the point where you could hear other peoples conversations, but when someone got in the shower or flushed next to you, it was VERY LOUD. But, it is a hotel after all. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast--there is something for everyone: make your own waffles, eggs, cereal, toast, breakfast meat, yogurt, biscuits and gravy, juice, oatmeal, coffee, bagels, pastries, etc. In the summer it especially nice to sit outdoors on the patio and take in the harbor views! I'm sorry to hear that the noise from your neighbors' shower was a bit much. If you are a lighter sleeper, our newer balcony suites are a bit more sound proof and may better accommodate you on your next visit. Be sure to ask about them when booking. Thanks again, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    138
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
221
136
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I started staying at this hotel about 10 years ago after having a bad experience in a couple of other hotels in town and since I started here, I have never stayed anywhere else in Duluth. There have been years I have spent 3 to 4 months over the year's time in this hotel. All of my stays have been great. The rooms are nice and the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts on our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you have found a hotel that meets your expectations time and time again. It is so flattering to hear that you won't stay elsewhere in town! Thank you for your loyalty, we can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I travel throughout Wisconsin, Upper Michigan, and Northern MN for the last six years and have yet to find a hotel that can offer the location and great rooms that the Comfort Suites Canal Park does. The newest addition is fantastic, new flat panel tv's and great views. This location also has some great restaurants within blocks and at least 3(non pizza restaurants) will deliver to your rooms. The staff has always been great and the rooms have never let me down.

Room Tip: If available and within budget try and get a room with a balcony in the new addition lake side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J304C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you so much for such nice compliments! I'm glad to hear that you continue to stay with us. I absolutely agree with you--our new addition is wonderful, and the balconies can't be beat, especially during the summer months. Over the next coming year we will be doing renovations in our main section of the hotel and look forward to seeing the outcomes. Thanks again for sharing your experiences with us, can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Mn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stay at this hotel quite often for business and the occasional family get a way. The hotel is always clean, organized and the service is exceptional.
I have stayed in a number of hotels in the Duluth area and when you combine the location on the canal with all of the services offered, it is an experience that cannot be topped.
Very comfortable rooms, beds and a nice variety for breakfast.
Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel! I'm so glad to hear that you find our hotel clean and comfortable, and are able to relax a bit even when traveling for business. Thank you so much for your loyalty and continued business. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel at least four times per year (usually three nights each stay) over the last seven years. Not only is the location world-class superb, but the hospitality of all staff, from those at the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the maintenance men, makes us feel as if this is our home in Duluth.

Because the Canal Park area is somewhat separated from the hubbub of the city, we can stroll freely without worrying about traffic. It is a bit like the pedestrianized zones in a European city. Also, the hotel gives good value for money, if you consider the good breakfast provided by happy staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duluth-born a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Wow! What a flattering review. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. I am so glad to hear that you have nothing but positive thoughts about our hotel. We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Comfort Suites, and can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were able to check in to room 350 @ 12:30 on May 31st. The room was very clean & in a great location. There were plenty of pillows & towels. The bed was extremely comfortable. The view from the balcony was fantastic. Sleeping was great,. No noise from the hotel at all. The breakfast was very good. A deluxe continental breakfast had everything you wanted. The girls @ the front desk were very nice & helpful. All in all, we had a great stay & can't wait to return. (as long as it's not during the winter)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your stay with us! I'm so glad to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. It's a pleasure to hear that you were comfortable and able to relax in nice weather while here. Although our winters are definitely a bit cold, the ice buildups on the lake can be absolutely stunning--might be worth a trip to brave the weather! We can't wait to see you on a return visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nice hotel located very close to the lift bridge at Canal Park, maybe too close as the ships horns can be a rather rude awakening as they and the bridge salute one another as the ships pass. This usually only happens twice a day or so it seems, but it may be very early in the morning...The breakfast is good and the lakeview rooms have a nice balcony and views. Almost everything you could need is in walking distance, from restaurants, including Granny's which is right across the road to all kinds of shops. Fairly small indoor pool and hot tub, but nice sized and clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us! I’m glad to hear that you were able to find all you needed within walking distance to our hotel. With about 14 restaurants and bars within walking distance, there is definitely something for everyone’s taste in Canal Park. I agree with you that the ships and bridge’s salute (or the fog horn!) can sometimes be a startling way to wake up. However for some, it is a great way to catch a ship passing through the canal during sunrise—which is absolutely breathtaking! We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Property: Comfort Suites Canal Park
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing