We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is such a great property....very large, well appointed rooms with every convenience and a wonderful view of the waterfront! The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable! We had a problem with our reservation and the front desk was wonderful and gave us a room upgrade because of the problem. There is so much to see and do here with great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddandgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    159
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
257
168
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel this weekend. It was a nice location in Canal Park. You can watch the ships coming in and walk right out to Lake Superior. The continental breakfast was ok. The rooms were a good size for 4 people. The staff were friendly, especially the breakfast staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josunMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because I had an appointment at the hospital. It is a great location for anyone as there are a number of restaurants and other entertainment available. I have had the pleasure of being a customer at a number of national and international hotels. The front desk staff are very nice and provided a suite right on the lake. The boardwalk was very nice. We went to the Steak House for dinner...although I do prefer Fitzgers.

The rooms could use an update as well as new linen and comforters but I certainly felt it was much cleaner than other places in Duluth. The breakfast was ok but not as good as I have had at other hotels.

I do not know if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lake rather than the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This motel has a great location in Canal Park. It is a little pricey (City side, mid-week, $149 before taxes and fees). Bedding was stained when we rolled back the bed. Great breakfest area and good food. Great area for familys and would recomend if you can afford it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDRVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

As a HiltonHonors member, I stay at Hilton properties. But over Labor Day weekend, the Hampton Inn was full so I chose to stay at the Comfort Suites. The front desk staff were very friendly. The room was very clean but a bit dark. I loved the photos of the lake, lift bridge, and ships. Sweetie wants coffe, there it is. I want tea. Nothing. I'm used to tea drinkers being short-changed, but being completely ignored is truly annoying. I've learned to "pack my own" so I whipped out my tea and went downstairs to get some hot water. Nothing. Coffee and hot water are not available 24 hours a day (Hampton Inn wins that contest). The bed was a bit hard and the linens were nothing special. Again, Hampton Inn wins because their beds are amazing. The elevator is next to - very close to - the pool so the floor in front of it was constantly damp and sometimes downright wet. Ick. Breakast was nothing more than OK - standard free breakfast offerings - but the gals and one young man who worked the breakfast room worked their tails off keeping the room clean, the garbage cans emptied, and the food stocked. Kudos to them for being gracious when it was so busy!! Keely was a stand-out as she never stopped moving! You can't beat this place's location - like any hotel on Canal Park - but if you're on the city side, the noise from traffic on Lake Street and the partiers at Little Angie's can be a bit much if you like fresh air and sleeping with the windows open. Loved eating breakfast outside every day. Didn't partake of the evening cocktail hour, but saw others doing so. All in all, a pleasant place to stay, but only if my beloved Hampton Inn is booked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

You can not beat the location, we were able to walk to most attractions and never had to move our car. The kids enjoyed the pool. The rooms were fairly average but did not measure up to what I would expect for the price. Beds were only single-sheeted, wireless internet didn't work in the rooms, free breakfast was poor quality, In-room coffeemaker was not clean, very few rooms have balconies, beds were hard.

Next time if I pay the premium to stay in canal park, I will try one of the neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNDaveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is wonderful. Great Great Great location. The balcony was awesome to view ships comeing and going. It was incredible the views we had. The room was nice and big with room for the family. Balcony was smallish but it was great to have. Breakfast was changed up every day we stayed there. Food was good.

We love this hotel and will come back again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Property: Comfort Suites Canal Park
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing