We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amenities lacking for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

You can not beat the location, we were able to walk to most attractions and never had to move our car. The kids enjoyed the pool. The rooms were fairly average but did not measure up to what I would expect for the price. Beds were only single-sheeted, wireless internet didn't work in the rooms, free breakfast was poor quality, In-room coffeemaker was not clean, very few rooms have balconies, beds were hard.

Next time if I pay the premium to stay in canal park, I will try one of the neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNDaveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Canal Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 624 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is wonderful. Great Great Great location. The balcony was awesome to view ships comeing and going. It was incredible the views we had. The room was nice and big with room for the family. Balcony was smallish but it was great to have. Breakfast was changed up every day we stayed there. Food was good.

We love this hotel and will come back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our room faced the lake and was clean and comfortable. There wasn't really enough room for the hideabed used as a bed along with all the other furniture, but we were able to get around. The breakfast was generous and very good. The front desk was very accomodating when we asked for a later checkout. Two minor gripes. There was an unusual level of noise from plumbing and from the hallway, which is surprising in a fairly new building. When I checked out I noticed a charge for the room safe. As soon as I told the clerk that we didn't use the safe the charge was crediuted back to my credit card, but I got the impression that they automatically charge for the safe and force customers to object instead of letting customers choose.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed a night at the Comfort Suites. Overall, I'd call it average. It was clean and the staff was friendly. For summer weekends, there are a limited number of hotel rooms available in Canal Park, and their pricing reflects that.

My biggest complaint was they assess a $1.50 per night "in-room safe limited warranty fee". They'll remove it from your bill if you ask, but it seemed petty and unnecessary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve32343323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm glad to hear that you found our property to be clean.

I'm glad that you mentioned the "safe fee" that we charge. We offer the safe to all of our guests for use in their suite. The $1.50 covers the warranty on any valuables placed in the safe during use. We ask that you let us know if you don't use it in order to ensure privacy and security for our guests. However, it's easily adjustable at check in or check out if you'd prefer not to use it. I apologize if the policy seems to be petty, we certainly aren't trying to come off that way.

Again, thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed with wife and two young girls (7 & 2). Well maintained property with an extremely convenient location. It was everything we hoped it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoundFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our family didn't plan to stay overnight in Duluth, but then we decided to check out a room by the waterfront and spent the night. The young lady at the front desk was very polite and let me picked the room that I wanted, which was one that faced the Lake Superior instead of the parking lot. The price of $219.00 for Friday night was a little high, but it was like that for most of the hotels on the waterfront in Duluth during weekends. We got to watch the sunrise and it was so pretty. Breakfast had many selections to choose from and they had both hot and cold breakfast. Overall, we had a good time there and enjoyed our short vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nguy0852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I have been here for family and business and it couldn't have a better location and comfort. Pricy but worth it.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuluthMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 31 in Duluth
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $130 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing