We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“jacuzzi suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
thunder bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“jacuzzi suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

we stayed in the jacuzzi suite room in december 2010... the room was BEAUTIFUL and we didnt even want to leave lol :) you could see the lake right out front our balcony it was amazing and seen the boats come in at night!! we thought how beautiful it must be in the summer especially having a balcony... were going the be back in the same room in a few days (april 1 2011) and cant wait our, first trip was awesome!! close to everything and room was spic and span! get the jacuzzi suite with fireplace you'll love it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tbaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    148
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
246
158
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

My son (age 4), daughter (age 8) and I recently spent 2 nights at the Comfort Suites for a mini vacation to Duluth.

The location was great! We were just a block away from a variety of restaurant choices and shops, steps from the lift bridge and minutes away from the acquarium and downtown. We chose a "lakeview" room which was worth the price. Watching the waves crash on the shoreline during a winter storm was impressive and once the storm passed it was fun to watch the ships come in and out of the harbor. While we didn't open the windows in winter, I can imagine that it would be great to open them up and listen to the waves in the summer.

Our room (two queens in the "older" part of the hotel) was very comfortable for the three of us. If you are planning on spending a lot of time in the room, it might be a little cozy, but for us it was great. The bathroom was certainly looking a little tired (e.g., finishes wearing off the drain, etc.), but was otherwise functional and comfortable.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise. We found the hotel to be pretty quiet. Certainly you could hear people talking loudly in the hall or closing a door right next to you, but I have yet to find a hotel that is completely soundproof (and I travel extensively for work). The noise was certainly NOT a problem for us.

The pool, two hot tubs and the free breakfast were GREAT for traveling with two kids. Acknowledging that we were visiting on weekdays, we never found the pool to be crowded and appreciated the options for breakfast (cereal, pastries, yogurt, waffles, etc).

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other families.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annjohnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Comfort Suites is a wonderful hotel! We stayed in a room with a balcony on the lake. We highly recommend getting a room with a balcony as they are in the new addition of the hotel. The room was very nice, clean and had a wonderful view! The balcony had a small table and chairs to relax. Great place to watch the ships come in/out. The hotel has a great location in Canal Park. It allows you to leave the car and walk to most attractions and restaurants. The complimentary breakfast is nice. It includes hot foods and make your own waffles. Nice extra!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvenLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Pros: Clean, modern rooms (stay in the new addition!) friendly and helpful from desk, cozy ambiance, walking distance to several restaurants, free and yummy breakfast and "grab & go" options. Love the free parking lot and location.

Cons: Older section very dated, wifi never would connect despite troubleshooting, ethernet cord was made available.

Will return for business. Great experience and safe, cozy and clean.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Freddysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

I cannot say enough about the service from the team at this motel. From check-in (recommendations for late night food) to suggestions of things to do the next morning and the greetings from the cleaning staff...the list goes on and on!
We had a very nice stay and enjoyed the view of the lake from our room. The room was clean, bed was comfortable but there were signs of the age/use of the particular room we stayed in. All things considered though, we'd stay here again but I'd prefer the rate to be about $25/night less for the overall experience to be worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

This has to be one of the best hotels/locations we have stayed at. This is right next to the harbor bridge and the lake. They have a patio lake side that you can kick back and watch the boats come in and people walking on the trails. The staff was amazing. They had "happy hour" where you could grab a drink and some eats and set outside. Breakfast was top notch...again, grab it and go outside. See a trend here. The kids enjoyed the pool. Once you park and parking was just fine. You don't need your car again. Everything was within walking distance and there were plenty of shops and places to eat and drink along the way. We bought zoo tickets here for a reduced price (had to drive to the zoo) and they gave us coupons for the places to eat around it. We used points to pay for this room, but would pay rack rate if we were heading to Duluth again. Rooms were great. We had a lake view (no balcony) with 2 beds and a couch. Room had a fridge and I am thinking a microwave, but we didn't spend very much time in the room at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knott02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at this Hotel on a Monday night Sept. 27th so the price of $130 was very reasonable. We arrived early afternoon and were very please with the location on Canal Street where all the cool restaurants and shops are located.

Very courtious check-in attendants. I explained we were celebrating a special occasion and asked for a room with a nice view. He said he was sure we would like it. Upon arriving in the end room we found it to be a top line suite with large hot tub, 3 way fire place, seperate bar and living area and a beautiful deck overlooking a lighthouse on lake Superior. One of the nicest rooms I have stayed in.There were feather pillows and a down comforter and the bead was heavenly.

We walked along the boardwalk along the lake and visited shops in the area. We had a wonderfull time drinking and eating at a local wine bar.

The free morning breakfast was huge and offered a nice view of the lake. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Duluth area and wants to see some of the local sights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Property: Comfort Suites Canal Park
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802-2317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing