We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not the Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a Marriott, I was disappointed. Staff seemed like they could care less. When we arrived, desk clerk was on a personal call and we had to stand and wait for her to finally hang up and check us in. Hotel layout seemed dated by anyones standards. There aren't allot of options in the area, but I'd probably look elsewhere the next time I go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianchikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It seems you confused my kind and friendly reponses with a long time guest with a personal phone call. E. Betzold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
26
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Don't mistake this for a newer property w/ larger spaces.

This property looked kept but tired. Guest rooms are small. Staff's attitude was absolute indifference - - from the front desk to the breakfast support. Sorry for interrupting your phone call.

Not worth the $250/night.

Sorry Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

2 Adults, 2 Teems... Hotel was clean. Staff were mixed (better Thurs) worse Fri. Brought us extra pillows right away. Beds were VERY hard. A/C-Fan was loud. Near the airport so noisy (unless you like military jet noise). Pool was smaller and quite cold, hot tub was very hot and smaller also, pool area was clean.

Fairly loud, and floors shook/moved. Overall not bad but not great either.

Room Tip: Get top floor so no one is dancing on your head. Ask for LOTS of extra pillows unless you like a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank August N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent the night at this hotel on our way to Canada. There was a marathon going on in Duluth, and our decision to stay overnite in Duluth was a last minute decision, so it was difficult to get reservations anywhere. First of all, this hotel is expensive for what you get. It was over $200 for the nite. If you are trailering a boat, there is no convenient parking. In fact, you should not even drive up to the front of the hotel with your trailer because the only way out is to back up across the parking lot and down a hill into traffic.(making a three point turn with your trailer in the parking lot is practically impossible) The parking lot has only one entrance. Park in the lot that belongs to the mall below the hotel. (the Fairfield is at the top of a hill) Then you will need to climb up the grass slope to the hotel's entrance or walk to the sidewalk below the hotel and climb up the hill to the entrance. If one is arriving with just a vehicle, you will not have this problem, but, the parking lot is small; which may result in one having to park in the mall parking lot anyway. Restaurants nearby are Buffalo Wild Wings, Perkins and a Starbucks that does not open early in the morning on a Saturday. We had breakfast at Perkins, it was good. The room was comfortable and clean, the beds were fine. The hotel was quiet and we slept well. Their only detriments are really their location and the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have used the Fairfield Inn for various business meeting. They are always great to deal with. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is clean recently remodeled. The manager is great about getting out into the community and building relationships. Great hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms are redone and have great bedding. They have squeezed in a new fitness room that has two treads, an elliptical and free weights. Fitness room could be a little bigger but it is better than nothing.

Breakfast is typical Fairfield Inn fare.

Satisfied. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the nicest Fairfield I have need to. They have a riendly staff and rooms are very clean. Very Good fitness equipment with a microwave and fridge/freezer in my room. Thank you Fairfield and Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schu1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Duluth
Residence Inn Duluth
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#13 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Property: Fairfield Inn Duluth
Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing