We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable Duluth hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable Duluth hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights for business since my usual hotel was sold out. This Marriott property needed some updating which unfortunately was occuring while I was there. Overall, rooms were clean and comfortable but in need of new furniture. Everything was functional. Microwave and refrigerator was nice to have. Internet speed could be better but was still functional. Morning continental breakfast was as expected: Cereal, toast/muffin, pastries, yogurt, and whole fruit (bananas, apples, oranges). They also had a waffle station, microwavable breakfast sandwiches, microwavable oatmeal, and hard boiled eggs. Nothing fancy but good enough to provide nourishment for the morning. Staff were all frendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the mall so you have many choices for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kokodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    46
    33
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
27
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have stayed in Duluth many times but never by the mall. As soon as I walked in I should have turn right back around and out. But I had a 2yr old and no time to find another place. First of all the place is currently under construction which they DID NOT mention at the time of booking. It was completely torn apart and missing vending/ ice machines. Second I asked for a room near the pool and they gave me a second level room. I of coursed switched. Third the pool is not child friendly. The only way in and out are by ladders. Must be able to swim or be tall enough. Last the shower filled up with water while you showered because ut was clogged. Breakfast was decent. Location is good. Room was clean. Price was extreamly high for its condition. And staff was friendly but chose not to go above or beyond unless you made it known. Never again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nljtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry you were here when we were redoing the tile in the lobby. I wanted to let you know that our renovations are finished and the place looks great. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Nice staff. Was welcomed with fruit and cookies...yum! But the building was being worked on, so had to deal with that. Ironically they gave us the room at the end of a hall where they were doing construction...While most other rooms were empty. So, I have to take off some points since we could hear the noise. Overall, a quiet hotel. Breakfast was just ok. Didn't have much variety. They didn't even have plain oatmeal. They had everything to blend with the oatmeal, but the plain oatmeal itself. That should be a staple at any continental breakfast. But overall, was a fine hotel for the night. We got good sleep...so we were satisified.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Longano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel has a lot to offer many people, but the service was terrible. I am a customer , who loves Marriott hotels... I couldn't believe that some of them workers got a job in the hotel... I was ready too rip my hair out a few times. Now is time for the main thing people would read: would you go back because of the location: yes. Would you go back because its a nice clean hotel: yes! I'm am hesitant on some of the workers though otherwise I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here because our usual hotel was booked. This hotel is located near all the places we wanted to shop at. It is an average hotel that is showing wear. We didn't use the pool or fitness centre as they were both monopolized by a visiting hockey team. Breakfast was ok. The best thing about the hotel was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful. This isn't my first choice to stay, but would consider it again, if needed.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the parking lot if you are concerned about seeing your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden_Amik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Alberta, Caada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is close to everything! Shopping, dining and the airport. Staff is great. Complimentary breakfast was good enough to get the morning going. This is my location for when I have an early flight out of Duluth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good place to stay if you want to be near the mall. It is an older hotel and the room shows signs of aging. Fitness center is small. Breakfast was fine. Will stay there again, but it is overpriced for the quality of the room. It is nothing great but certainly nothing horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Duluth
Residence Inn Duluth
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#15 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Property: Fairfield Inn Duluth
Address: 901 Joshua Ave, Duluth, MN 55811-4508
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing