We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A very pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Duluth
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
twin cities, mn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We made a trip to Duluth in the fall and we had a really nice time. This hotel was very quiet and suited our families needs very well. The beds were comfy and the kids enjoyed the pool and homemade chocolate chip cookies. The staff was very nice and helpful. Very close to the mall and a lot of restaurants. We would return here again with out much prompting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twin1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    49
    34
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
31
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I recently stayed at this Fairfield Inn while visiting family in the area. I think Marriott has done a good job of targeting the budget-minded traveler with this chain. This seems to be a newer property, my room was in very good condition. The room had a flat screen TV with HD channels which was a nice surprise. The front desk and housekeeping staff could not have been more "Minnesota Nice". The price I paid was good value for the money especially compared to the nearby Country Inn which I had stayed at in the past. The only downside with this property is it did not have an exercise room onsite, and there was not a place to hang my full length coat. But this would not keep me from staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_sailorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on creating a Minnesota Nice experience for our guests. Exciting news as well, on the installation of a FITNESS CENTER in our hotel, we should have it up and running by January 2012, or sooner. Thank you, E. Betzold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Nothing fancy, but nice, clean, and well worth the price, especially if you book online... The staff was extremely courteous helpful, from suggestions for eating places in town to researching charter boats, they went out of their way. Even brought out breakfast at 5am for my son and me - and the continental breakfast was one of the best I've seen!
Don't miss the Duluth Diner!!! (featured on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives...)

Room Tip: Book online for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buonarotti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed one night while paaing through Duluth. Good location, close to Miller Hill Mall. Room was okay, noisy air conditioner and the floor actually seemed to bounce when you walked across it. The furniture shook as you crossed the room, honest and I am not that heavy! Beds were very comfortable though. Breakfast was fine. Overall, average. Starting to look a little old.

Room Tip: Stayed in a 3rd floor room, which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Visiting family and wanted to use Marriott points. This hotel is a definite 9 on the Fairfield scale. Front desk check in was pleasant: Tyler was a nice young man who could converse without that annoying "hotel" dialog they use in the industry. The place was clean and quiet and breakfast adequate. We were in and out. We have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Going_Home_Today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ab1465
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while visiting UM-Minnesota for my son. We are Hilton members and usually stay at Hamptons, but the Hampton was $50 more so we thought we'd try this Fairfield. It was all right. Everything was very clean, and there was a nice pool area. However, some of the rooms need some updating (re-painting of walls), etc. When I lifted the cover on the air conditioner to make it cooler, the whole piece came off in my hand (not just the cover!) The breakfast area is not very big- I would try to avoid getting breakfast during the last 60 minutes of the breakfast time frame. The staff were very nice, though. Overall, it was fine for our purposes, and a good value. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you want to stay in Duluth in summer without being charged an arm and a leg, this is the place to go. We had a very good rate from Priceline and this is our second stay in this property.

It's Fairfield Inn, so don't expect anything grand, but everything they do here is efficient and in a friendly manner. Checking in was a breeze, the pool was adequately clean, and the staff was mostly friendly. The free breakfast is definitely a plus for me; nothing fancy, just some muffin, bagel, make-your-own waffle, cereal, juice, milk, and heat-your-own bacon and egg muffin. I have no issues with the Internet here; we even did a video conference with no issues.

I'll definitely stay here again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Duluth
Residence Inn Duluth
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Property: Fairfield Inn Duluth
Address: 901 Joshua Ave, Duluth, MN 55811-4508
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing