We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No improvement from 2 years ago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No improvement from 2 years ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at midnight and had to leave early in the morning for a game. Would have liked to have gotten a late check out to come back and shower but didn't want to have to pay for the late check out. Regular check out time was 10 or 10:30 am, this is a bit early. The bed had some kind of plastic covering on the mattress and every time I moved I heard it. Also I would like to note that I can see how easy it is for the hotel to charge for the use of the safe even if you don't use it. The safe was in a very inconvenient place and was annoying to have to be careful walking by it or you could easily have kicked the door closed. Then you get charged. It easily could be placed in the closet space vs the chair they had sitting there. The customer service was largely lacking. I didn't feel welcome at all. Also the parking was terrible. Had to park a ways away and walk- around midnight it wasn't the best feeling. In closing I would probably stay again if I get the room cheap enough.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hockeytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    106
    91
    66
    56
See reviews for
178
79
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Canada, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn- America's Best Value for my sister's wedding. Hotels in the area were full, including this hotel. Upon arrival, we inquired about possible early check in. The front desk staff seemed annoyed at the request and informed us that they were short staffed and running behind. When we did check in, the room was minimal. No bath tub, dated decor, and there is a slight odor to the entire hotel. We received the room next to a relative who had also stayed the night prior. The relative informed us that our room was being cleaned when they left for breakfast early in the day,several hours before our request for early check in was denied.

The front desk staff were generally rude throughout the weekend, especially the woman who checked us in. Staff scoffed at requests for towels and were clearly annoyed at our request to purchase a pizza (which is sold by the hotel). Some staff openly complained to one another about guests while behind the front desk, stating "they all want early check in, if they want early check in, they should stay somewhere else".

The breakfast area is extremely cramped and could not accommodate even a fraction of the guests in the hotel. We waited in lines to make toast or waffles and had to climb over chairs to claim seating and table space.

The rooms offer a safe, the hotel will charge you if you lock it, but remove the charge if you notice it on your invoice and request that it be removed.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel because the customer service is horrible. Kindness and a customer centered approach would go a long way for this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First of all - I was unable to cancel my reservation if within 30 days prior to stay. I made the reservation within 30 days so this seems unfair (they also did not mention that when making the reservation). The fitted sheets did not fit bed. The floor was damp throughout the room. They advertised a deluxe breakfast, but really was just a continental breakfast. We were charged extra fees for an already too expensive room for just having the safe in the room. The layout of the hotel is very poor -- being on the first floor, would never expect to go upstairs to get to the front desk/breakfast area. Also the hot tub and pool are in two different areas/rooms. Pool was a little scummy too. Staff was NOT friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The rooms are in serious need of updating, I didn't get the room I booked. We had a lot of people we knew staying there as well.. And everyone had stories on how rude the staff was. Even the manager caught an attitude with me when I asked about switching into the room I booked. So disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunky1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel with a group and were very disappointed. The facility was run down and dirty. The door to our balcony was broken, beds uncomfortable. We paid over twice the daily rate for weekend stay and were required a two might minimum with a ridiculous 30 day cancellation policy that left us without any option to make changes to our itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed on the weekend of July 11-13. Granted, I understand there is a certain amount of price gouging to be expected when there are events in the city of Duluth...it was a fastpitch softball tournament for us...but when you pay $200 a night and they advertise $69 a night when you pull up, it's a joke. The rooms were dirty for several of us, the meeting areas cramped, and the staff inexperienced and slow. Would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to Black Bear casino instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My sister recommended this place to us and we are happy She did! Room was clean. Staff was very nice! Value, very good. We will visit again! We do recommend this place to to families and couples. Shopping is also easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
6.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Property: Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810-2127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing