We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hockey Tournament Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Vantage Hotels App
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hockey Tournament Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Parking and driving into parking lots is challenging with the more snow that falls, but this is Duluth though and snow is always expected. Approaches to the lots are steep and you need good tires or 4-wheel drive. The pool is acceptable but not many chairs in the pool area. The sauna and small hot tub are located in a separate area down the hall don’t have many chairs either. There is a meeting room that you can use for pot-lucks but would need to be shared by any hockey teams in the hotel. We had four this past weekend. Hockey gear is allowed in the rooms but sticks need to stay in the car. The food area is very small and seating again limited. Acceptable basic breakfast options: waffles, bagels, toast, min muffins, two cereals, oatmeal, coffee, OJ, apple juice, milk, cappuccino. This hotel was not built to accommodate groups like hockey teams but have done the best they can with limited space. Hockey teams should search elsewhere as there are many hotels better set up for teams. Good location though for Proctor and Hermantown arenas if this is your main criteria. Nice hotel for a family who wants to hang out or ski for the weekend. Staff is very friendly and took care of noise issues once notified. 10:30am check out time is too early. If you have an afternoon game you will need to find somewhere in the area to go before game time. Arcade area is good size buts lacks good game selections. Steps are steep going into the lobby and from floor to floor. The rooms are small yet very clean. Small sink/vanity area. Plenty of hot water and water pressure. One bed needed to be replaced but other bed was comfy. Good pillow selection. Excellent view of harbor and ski hill from our room. The hotel is overpriced for its location and amenities and should not be charging over $90/night at any time. Older reviews are invalid as the hotel has recently been remodeled.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor side view on the 3rd floor. Some 2nd floor rooms would also work but others on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    106
    91
    66
    56
See reviews for
178
79
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I am a Value Club member with the America Best Value Inn motel chain. With that, you are supposed to get 15% off room rate, free room upgrade if one is available, plus later check-out time. I reserved online, with member number, and got a confirmation email, with discounted price. Upon checking in on Friday, I was informed by service desk employee that Club rewards aren't valid on weekends, and I would be paying full price and no upgrade. After some discussion, employee agreed to price I was emailed in the confirmation.

Walls and ceilings on rooms are THIN, and you can hear everything! Both nights, I called front desk to complain about noise levels of a group that the motel had put my wife and I in the center of. This was well after quiet time. Quiet times simply aren't enforced.

To conclude, this was the worst hotel stay I've ever had in my life. Proximity to Spirit Mountain is great, but not even close to worth the trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The property was GREAT and we truly enjoyed it. It has everything under one roof. Breakfast, a pool, a sauna and a hot tub and they are all wonderful! My only suggestion would be to keep the hot tub area opened a little later as we are night people and since its in a private area, it could be enjoyed by responsible people without disturbing others, It was GREAT and we just loved staying there. We highly recommend it to anyone near the area and the prices were good also. Special thanks to Carolyn and Nicole for their courtesy and hospitality.

Room Tip: Get a room with a frig and microwave if possible. Otherwise enjoy enjoy the property as it truly has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. If you are a hockey team and want to stay up after 10:00 p.m. this is not a place to stay. You have to walk down a flight of stairs with your luggage to enter the hotel. Lots of rules!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If we go to this city again we will consider staying at the motel. The staff was very accommodating and the motel offered significant discounts at area attractions. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Fitness center was better than most but one of the machine may not have worked correctly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've stayed there several times, and this past week was as good as ever. The only downside was that the front desk did not seem to understand the ABVI upgrades. When I asked about it, they said it was already figured into the reservation - but the room type we were assigned to was the type of room I had reserved. Since we had two rooms, and had asked to be somewhat close together, I did not push it. The pool was comfortable, the room there has had the doors improved. The whirlpool there is large, but that room could use better ventilation.

The breakfast bar was good, they had fresh apples and oranges along with juices. I would like to see English Muffins as an option with the bagels, along with wheat bread for toasting options.

Overall, it's an excellent value for the price, and we'll be there again.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, try to get to the ends of the building. The structure will be sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Worst stay I have had here. Only a few channels came in on the tv. Noisy!! There was hardly anything for breakfast, because the attendant just stood there and watched instead of refilling.
Heating system was VERY noisy!!!

The front desk manager who checked us in and out was very friendly but they should at least ask how the stay was.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#13 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
6.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Property: Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing