We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very clean, but loud”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spend 1 night here. Hotel is close to Spirit Mountain if looking for that location. Hotel was freshly painted and very clean. Front desk people are friendly. Pillows are terrible. Hallways are noisy and rooms are not sound proof if you are a light sleeper good luck. Beds not very comfortable as mattresses and box springs are both wrapped in plastic, so noisy every time you roll over.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    123
    105
    72
    60
See reviews for
202
94
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Hotel re-modeling, was nice. The Pool and whirlpool were enjoyable from driving. It was convenient to the highway. Easy access to events, attractions and restaurants. We were in Duluth for the " Gales of November" event, on November 2, 2013. Also, drove to the Jay Cooke State Park and enjoyed the "swinging bridge", re-opened last week. Had dinner at the Black woods Grill and Bar and the next day ate at the Duluth Bar and Grill, before going home.. Good food!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I hesitate to give a "glowing" review for fear it gets harder to book our favorite place to stay!!
We stay here every time we visit Duluth. Nichole and her staff are simply the BEST!! And we always have a clean and comfortable room at a fair price.
No, it isn't on Canal Park. Or down town. But it is "just" our side Duluth, right up the hill on Hwy 35. Perfect location to be close, but not too close to everything!!
We love this place and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Duluth area!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Highway side give you a nice view of the ski area and the lake. Also, Ice makers are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCAirbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here recently and it was a good experience. Even in the middle of remodeling (at that time) it was good. Quiet, but convenient location, very friendly helpful staff. Our room was very nice, the staff helpful and caring and had suggestions for us on dining and places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank zimms4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Check inn guy was rude, plus parked his car in one of the two clearly marked 10 minute spots to unload your car and played his crap music to his buddies. He was from Wisconsin along with the truck in the second unload spot. looks like that Scott Walker education really pays off or they just don't care. Hotel was a P.O.S except for the cleaning crew, I give them credit for shinning a turd

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had block of rooms for wedding party and many rooms were booked for the wedding. Block of room rate was not given to the Mother of the Groom - even though the room was reserved within time period, but had to redo reservation due to unforseen circumstances (mother was admitted to hospital for broken hip). No empathy and did not try to accommodate and wait to checkin was way too long! The reservation people were not friendly. Overpriced for these small rooms.
Another problem with this place is no elevator - many steps going into hotel and if you don't have room on first floor, be prepared to lug your luggage up flights of stairs!! Towels were not big enough and not at all soft!
There's a wonderful Americinn hotel 1 mile away in Proctor that was great for the second night of our stay - what a difference!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel rates are pretty high in Duluth in the fall as everyone is looking for color trip get-aways. Our trip came up at the last minute, and so we were happy to find a room here at a very reasonable rate. The room was nice. The hotel was full, but the hotel was quiet. We would stay here again. It is close to the tourist information center which was very, very helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
6.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#24 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#9 of 33 in Duluth
379 reviews
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Property: Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810-2127 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing