We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is just so tired. If you’re looking for a pleasant lodging experience, look elsewhere.

I found hair in the guest glasses and brought it to the front desk manager’s attention. Sean, the front desk manager, immediately took care of the issue. But I found myself not wanting to use any of the replacement glasses or the ice bucket, which was cracked on the bottom, looked dirty and unsanitary.

In the room, our “Sleep Number” beds didn’t work at all. After checking whether they were plugged in properly, we realized the beds were just broke – and sagged in all the wrong places.

Parking on the weekend, if you could find a spot, was a major challenge. At one point, my husband got stuck in the elevator; the elevator doors were very slow to close and would only do so after an alarm went off.

For a hotel this size, I was surprised when I ran out of hot water in the shower. And let’s talk about the “business center.” Good grief! Wear your coat if you’re going to use the business center, which is positioned next to a big glass wall in the lobby. When it’s -10 degrees outside and the wind is blowing, the open work station (a large desk with two chairs) gets downright cold.

Finally, using the Radisson’s wireless network was a real problem; our personal email system treated their network as suspect and it was blocked.

We definitely won’t be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Ann S,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important to us. I will talk to our maintenance staff about your concerns with the business center and the wireless internet. We take all suggestions seriously and we will see if there is anyway we can improve for a future visit. Thank you for staying with us. I do hope you will give us another chance to wow you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    238
    222
    228
    163
See reviews for
322
303
46
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Iron, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here about 10 years ago and nothing has changed. It was absolute crud then and it is even worse now. So very disappointed. Costs more than other lodging near by. The staff at check-in was less than helpful. There was staff vacuuming behind the front desk; really, that needed to be done at 4 pm when check-in is the busiest? I have a hearing deficit and need people to look at me while speaking. She stared confusingly at her computer while mumbling, I had no idea she was talking to me and asking my name. Once we established who I was and why I was there, she was quick to swipe my credit card card and slide my room key. No directions for parking, no directions to room and no inquiry if I needed anything else. I parked in the ramp lot; what a nightmare, cars are haphazardly parked so there is barely room to drive in between. The lot itself is icy and treacherous to walk on. Then I had to find my own way back to the lobby to meet my roommate; directions would have been great. The room itself is disgusting; dated, smells musty, small, cramped and the key wouldn't work. I had to leave my roommate with our belongings, go back down the elevator and wait for others to check-in (which was no problem for me, first come/first served), only to be told it doesn't make sense the keys don't work. She asked me if I had placed it near my credit card or cell phone; no, I had not. So she re-keyed them and slid them across the desk and turned her back. While all of this happened, two other guests with a small child were patiently waiting for the shuttle. It was parked out front, driver grumbled about having to go outside. Go elsewhere, not worth it here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear DeniseF6,

I first want to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. I am shocked by the service you received while staying with us and I will be sure to talk to all of my staff about these issues. That is very unacceptable. I have passed along your other concerns to our Maintenance staff and I assure you they will be looking into them. Thank you for your feedback, everything helps us improve for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Wabasha, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Don't let the word Radisson fool you, I've stayed in Super 8 Motels that are nicer! This hotel is dirty and the staff do not care about you. Dirty nasty ramp too, as there was a used condom in plain sight. We recently stayed with our baby. There was mildew all over the shower (big clumps of if). Also, near the floor the paint was bubbly and chipping. Their cribs have holes in them.

What is the worst of all, our vehicle met clearance restrictions posted on their one level ramp, plus we have stayed here before with no problems in the ramp with the same vehicle. However, upon going through their ramp, our vehicle hit the top and our luggage rack ripped off. The hotel did not care and didn't do anything. They didn't even put a sign up to alert other guests of potential damage. Upon calling them, they first admitted what happened and apologized, but after a second phone call denied any damage done at their hotel even though the manager went outside with my husband to see what had happened!

This is the worst Radisson I've ever seen, and I honestly don't understand why Radisson continues to put their name on it. Like I said, save your money and stay at the Super 8, you will be happy you did!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHONDA H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We truly apologize for the issues you encountered during your recent stay. We have addressed the issues that you mentioned and assure you that we have discussed with our management team and staff. We always want our guest to have a great experience and for over 40 years we have been serving guest from around the world. We clearly dropped the ball and appreciate you letting us know. We truly take each and every comment to heart and use the information to idenify areas to improve upon.

Our sincerest apologizes for the issues.

Sincerely,

Rhonda Hausman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Manager for the day, "Sean" took great care of us and fulfilled all our requests. He was very accommodating and very helpful. Staff were also very courteous and helpful. But thats what is not needed alone to run this hotel successfully. I hope to return and stay at this hotel after all its renovations (as discussed in other reviews) are complete.

Parking feels disconnected to the hotel. Access roads at parking lots were so icy and slippery. For such a hotel, all these matters for customer satisfaction.

The revolving Restaurant at the top, what a surprise!! Was stunned by the view, quality of food and Professionalism. The hotel itself can get some points from this restaurant. This hotel has all the potential to become the top hotel in Duluth. They should keep up the standards for sure!!

Room Tip: May be the new renovated rooms are better, and Lake view rooms myst be a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Prasith,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am very sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you are willing to give our hotel another chance. Sean is a wonderful asset to our family here at the Radisson and I am so pleased that you were able to experience his great customer service. I will be sure to pass along all of your comments. I would be happy to discuss this further with you if you would like 218-727-8981 ext. 4001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Radisson Duluth is a hotel I really wanted to like. I have stayed many times at the Holiday Inn, and expected the Radisson to at least be on par with it. It was not.
The building is cool, but very dated. The lobby has been nicely remodeled. I stayed here over this past weekend and did not have to wait for check in. The rate was $100/night, but for what I got it should have been about $50/night.
Our room was on the 3rd floor in the square building connected to the tower. First, there is a smell that permeates the hallway and room--that of stale cigarette smoke not quite covered up by carpet cleaner. We had two double beds with a window overlooking the parking ramp. I did my Hotel Impossible room check and found that the picture frames had no dust, but the top of the dated TV armoire contained about 1/4 inch of dust. The hairdryer had been ripped out of the wall at some point, and now was wrapped in its cord on top of the bathroom vanity. The mirror had been updated at some point with a frame that covered the existing electrical outlet. Instead of moving the outlet to accommodate the new frame, it appears someone used a screwdriver to chop out enough room to be able to plug in the hairdryer. The wallpaper next to the tub was water damaged, and the tile below was cracking. The closet had an iron, but the ironing board was missing. The ceiling near the bed was stained. The carpeting was old, smelly, and badly needed updating. The desk chair was tilted back, and was dangerous to sit in. The previous occupants (or occupants before that) left bits of dog food on the floor of the closet, which was overlooked by housekeeping. The TV was very old, and the picture was unclear. I had to call maintenance after I drained the sink, and the water leaked out all over the bathroom floor.
The worst thing about this hotel was that some of the public areas, specifically the stairway off the main lobby, were in terrible shape. It, along with the stairwells in both buildings, had very poor lighting, were dirty, and in need of paint. The layout outside the hotel needs to be revamped, including widening driveways and providing enough parking for guests (they were full and there was NOT enough parking...).
There is a feeling in this hotel that, if it were in Las Vegas, the implosion would be coming shortly. Either someone does not care about the condition of the rooms and public areas, the hotel is not making money, the staff is not properly trained, or they are severely understaffed.
Now for some good. Overall, the service I received was very good. The hotel lobby remodel looks very nice. The revolving restaurant had good food and great service. The beds were comfortable, and linens OK. Next time I go to Duluth, I'm staying at the Holiday Inn.
Someone needs to put some money into this property for a major refurbishment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpine524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Alpine524,

I first want to sincerely apologize that you had such a negative stay with us. I have since closed this room to future occupancy to ensure it is closely inspected and all of your concerns are remedied. We are hoping to have a large remodel underway within a year. Please call me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss this further. We value your business and do not like seeing any of our guests leave less than satisfied. 218-727-8981 Ext. 4001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Day one: Wrong room, two double beds instead of the Queen bed we reserved, couldn't control the heat (knob wouldn't move), and the room was very dated.
Day one: Bad room, brown stains on white comforter, tiny OLD TV with grainy picture, very dated furniture.
Day one: Better room, informed there will be no morning shuttle to meetings seven blocks away, we were specifically told there would be shuttle service (it is advertised), no guest laundry room, and no fridge in the room.

Day two - five: Moved to Holiday Inn, will not return.

Room Tip: I would look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Oldsorb,

I sincerely apologize that you felt as though you were not welcome and chose to move hotels. I do have a very high standard of service and will be speaking with the staff you encountered to ensure this does not happen again in the future. We do have shuttle service and again I apologize this was not available. If you would like please contact me directly at the Radisson so we can go over some of the issues you encountered while staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked this room for a week long business trip. Checked in only to discover: the shuttle they promised is closed down, no laundry area, no fridges, microwaves or hair dryers in rooms. Might be fine for a one night, no frills stay, but I would question if you get value for what a room costs here. Rooftop restaurant is lovely.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenLady1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear GardenLady1234,

I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was below par. We do have Refrigerators & Microwaves available and I'm sorry that was not offered to you upon your arrival. I also will check in to why there was no hair dryer in your room, they come standard in all of our rooms. If you wouldn't mind contacting me directly at the hotel so I can make sure I have all of the correct information, that would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing