We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEFT in a HURRY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Summer & Save
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Waconia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LEFT in a HURRY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was the 2nd time that we tried to stay at this hotel and it was terrible again! Room was terrible dirty, hadn't been cleaned, we found random garbage everywhere and it stunk like cigarettes even though it was a no smoking room. The entire building needs remodeling and for the amount of money that you spend in a night one would think that it wouldn't be that hard of an undertaking to do. Worst hotel we have ever had the misfortune of booking with and that's coming from someone who once stayed at a budget inn. Do yourself a favor and do NOT stay here!

Room Tip: No room is worth the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca R, Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Anna K,

Thank you for your recent stay at Radisson Duluth Harborview and for your review. We appreciate all guest feedback.

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness or condition of the hotel.

We are in the beginning stages of planning a full room renovation that we expect to begin in 2014.

Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment and feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Becca Richards
Director of Rooms
(218) 727-8981 ext 4001
becca.richards@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    238
    221
    227
    163
See reviews for
321
302
46
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This place is one word - sad. After you pass the lobby, it goes down hill quick. Only 5 minutes into our room and we notice the "fancy" sleep number bed doesn't work. When maintenance can't figure it out, we get upgraded to the Presidential Suite - seems nice, right? WRONG. The room was just as pathetic as the first - with another "junkyard-sale-style" sleep number bed, paper thin walls, and to top it off, the moving restaurant above made noise all night. Not to mention the
Janky elevators
Terribly slow wi-fi
NO CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EITHER.
As the nearest hotel for our wedding at the Depot, we decided to give it a trial run and instead of directing guests here, we will make sure they DO NOT stay here. What a bust! There are so many better options in Duluth, stay anywhere, but here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeLove4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Right away at check-in, front desk staff was not helpful- not talkative. We had a few questions about the hotel and the area and felt rushed to get out of there as a large group was checking in behind us- seemed they took more priority than us- just celebrating our anniversary. So we walked out to get our luggage with a bad first impression. Got to our room and it looked NOTHING like the photos online look- this room was run down, stains all over the carpet, walls outdated, luggage rack spotted and dirty, hair on our comforter, dirty shoe prints on the bathroom floor, scratched up everything- the TV was OLD and LOUD- sounded like it might start on fire, no joke. There was visible spots and grim on each and every surface, the mirror in the room was downright gross. I took photos of all of it because I was disgusted. There was a random large scratched up fridge sitting in the room- looked very out of place. We decided to use the hot tub during our stay- seemed like the jets were broken as they were shooting water up and out and they were quite obnoxious to use- there are no bathrooms in the pool area- seemed like a bad idea. The hot tub is very small as well, seats maybe 3 adults and then it gets very awkward. Very out dated and grungy looking hotel- they tried to make the lobby nice looking but appears as though they don't keep up with cleaning things very well- the bar downstairs was empty Saturday night, so we opted to go somewhere else. We didn't go to the upstairs restaurant either- there was no appeal. They don't advertise it very well in the hotel. I didn't even know there was room service. We just left on Sunday without going down to the lobby- where we would have been snubbed anyway! Will not be staying there again. As a former Carlson employee, I was pretty unhappy with this property and the customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeRav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutsen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were excited to stay at the Radisson but found it really lacking in several areas. We requested 2 queens were given 2 doubles. The beds were horrible. They were some version of a controllable air bed but whenever I or my wife would move or get up the other would hit the hard under wood--quite ridiculous clearly management has never tried to sleep in one. Second, nowhere to sit in the room except 1 small cheap stack able chair which may have sort of worked for a business person but NOT for a couple. Food served to our group was not even close to being good. It was actually bad and neither of us finished but a few bites each night. We visited the pool area in our plain clothes and decided we would not use it as it involved going up and down an elevator in our swim trunks and walking through the lobby in same, not to mention it looked like an outdated Y or something. This place could be nice, great views of Duluth, nice lobby, nice looking restaurants, good location, it was clean. It just needs a huge investment. Would not return unless I had to.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the Duluth bridge and without an air actuated bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutsenresorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca R, Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay.

I am truly sorry you were so disappointed with our hotel and restaurant and hope you will accept my sincere apology! We want all of our guests to receive the best in service and facilities and I am very concerned that we fell short. We value all guest input and use it to improve our operation. I have shared your experiences with our entire management team.

We are in the beginning stages of planning a 2014 renovation that will update the hotel rooms to meet the needs and expectations of our guests.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food that you ordered. I have shared your comments with the Food and Beverage Director.

I hope you will consider giving us a chance to regain your trust. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to further discuss your stay or provide more feedback regarding your meal.

Sincerely,
Becca Richards
(218) 727-8981 ext. 4001
becca.richards@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel in Duluth. Sleep number beds were interesting and reasonably comfortable. Hotel is rather dated. We were on the 15th floor in a king room. Bathroom small...shower had mildew and the sink drain would not close..TV reception was sketchy and wi-fi was very slow. No valet service for car parking. Staff was friendly upon check-in but staff in rotating restaurant were not very attentive. Sports bar had no one in it to provide bar service ???? TVs were on but no one was there....strange. Elevators very slow! Would only stay again if there was not other option.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca R, Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Radisson Duluth Harborview. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the appearance and condition of the hotel. We are in the beginning stages of planning a 2014 renovation that will update the guest rooms. I have shared your comments with housekeeping and maintenance so that we can address the issues that you mentioned.

I am disappointed that there wasn't anyone to help you in the Bowery Bros. bar and assure you that giving great service is our number one goal. I am glad the front desk was friendly.

Please feel free to contact me by phone or email if there is anything that I can do to make amends. Thank you for being our guest.

becca.richards@radisson.com
(218) 727-8981 ext 4001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks Steve, for accommodating my wife and I this weekend for one additional night on your most busiest night of the week, Saturday. Lakeside view of Lake Superior as well. It was very much appreciated !!! We always stay at the Radisson when we visit the Duluth area. Thanks again my friend.

D. Kelly
Minneapolis MN

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkelly777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHONDA H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know what a great time you had. Always here to serve our guest.
We have been open for over 40 years and always look forward to hearing from our guest.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Calhoun NE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is in need of an update. We were in the small unit behind the main hotel and the room was very old and tired. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was good size and was clean.
Just stayed one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#14 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing