We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old, tired and slow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Fulda
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Old, tired and slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I thought this would be a great romantic get away hotel but it was kind of dumpy. The elevators take forever to get you anywhere. The roof top restaurant was cool and I knew it would be spendy but it was very spendy. No live jazz last weekend due to budget cuts.

The bed was OK and the room lay out decent it’s just all old and tired. The hotel is not smoke or pet free so watch where you stay. Over all it was overpriced for what it is and I would stay at a B&B or farther out at a Country Inn or something for a much better value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    267
    254
    265
    198
See reviews for
388
358
50
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here on business for just over 3 weeks. I was put in the annex across from the main hotel, although there is an interconnecting bridge. Obviously going across the bridge enabled you to go back in time, as the decor, feel and look of the annex was from the 1980s. Perhaps retro 80s is your thing, but this certainly was not to the radisson standard that you would get in the UK. V disappointed. The room had a musty smoke smell, which as a non-smoker was all too obvious. The final straw was the family walking down the corridor with a couple of dogs. Great, if you are stopping on a trip for a day or 2 with your beloved canines, but not on business. Thankfully there was room in the main hotel and after simmering for 3 days, I moved.
The main hotel rooms are slightly smaller than the annex, but they were cleaner and the decor was brought forward to the 90s early noughties.
There was a new trainee on the desk and sadly he was left on his own and appeared clueless at times.
The hotel is well away from the main drag, although it does have the skywalk and you can stay under cover to most of the town.
There are no room safes and you have to use the reception, if they have a spare drawer for your valuables, not really good if you are an international traveller and have passports, cards, cash etc.
The best thing about the hotel is the bar downstairs, really friendly staff, a good selection of beers and if there's a crowd in, then good atmosphere. Also, the revolving restaurant, that I had breakfast in for +3 weeks also does good food in the evening.
There is so much potential for the hotel, but sadly, it is the wrong end of town and needs a lot of TLC if it is to live up to the radisson standards that you get in Europe. It's ideal to come off the freeway on a weekend break, but no more than a 2 day stay. Definitely not for a traveller on business.

Room Tip: Go for the main part of the hotel in a twin with a high room facing the park or bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neile7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a rather average hotel in a small city with an overall lack of available options. As I didn't go in expecting much, I also wasn't disappointed. Check in was quick and efficient, and the front desk staff was friendly. As other reviewers have pointed out though, the parking area is small and seems to fill up fast. While the room and much of the hotel was rather worn and dated, I found the rooms to be fairly clean, though some areas were rather dusty and you could detect the lack of use. The revolving restaurant on top provides a great view, however the quality of food is certainly lacking. If you are looking for a nice place to stay and want good amenities, look somewhere else, if you just want a place to sleep, this hotel will be fine, though also can be expensive if not staying on a discounted rate or award redemption.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aviationwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This over priced hotel is not worth your time or money!!!! If you like sleeping on rocks that would probably be a better night sleep than the beds at the radisson. the beds were possibly 30 years old and to add a slap to the face for them to have added a sleep number matress pad in order to cover up a crappy old mattress. this could have been pulled over on some however our sleep numbers didnt work at all.... UPDATING is a must for this hotel. it was a $60.00 room at a $229.00 price! what a joke!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kVails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Your comments will be used to make necessary changes going forward. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I go this hotel because it had 3.5 stars, the highest of any hotel in duluth. I can see how this hotel was once 3.5 stars but they have let it go. It did have newer TVs in the room and sleep number beds, but it stopped there. the hotel was very outdated and needs a complete remodel, they haven't even kept up maintenance in it. Mold on the bathroom ceiling and paper thin walls. This old Radisson defiantly wasn't up to standards. I felt like I was in the shining.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time share your experience. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We are happy to say that our hotel will be undergoing renovations at the end of this year or beginning of next year. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We hope that if your travels bring you to our area in the future, you consider allowing us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson in late Sept. The lobby is nice done in a retro 50s style. Once you get above the ground floor, the hallways and rooms are very worn and dirty. The carpet in the halls and our too was disgustingly stained although the front desk clerk told me they had just been steam cleaned. The ceiling in the bath was bubbled with moisture. All the furniture was worn and the bed clothes, although seemingly clean were gray with age. The desk chair looked like something from a banquet hall. At least half the lights did not work - maybe the bulbs. Final straw, room was just not very clean, with hair in bath. We stayed with points for one night and had pre-paid $320 for two additional nights. We should have checked out, but just could not be bothered to have a fight about it. I am usually very easy going, but this place is a dump and way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmh443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care at CCare@CarlsonRezidor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been coming here for many years. They always treat us very good.

After trying some of the trendy and spendy hotels on the lake shore, we always come back to the reliable Radisson. Its not always perfect as the place has been there a long time but the staff and property are run with class as a national chain should be.

Rooms are not huge but very comfortable and quiet. The lakeside rooms have an awesome view!

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are a cheap upgrade (like $20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#19 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing