We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This place is Always Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is Always Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been coming here for many years. They always treat us very good.

After trying some of the trendy and spendy hotels on the lake shore, we always come back to the reliable Radisson. Its not always perfect as the place has been there a long time but the staff and property are run with class as a national chain should be.

Rooms are not huge but very comfortable and quiet. The lakeside rooms have an awesome view!

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are a cheap upgrade (like $20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    267
    253
    265
    198
See reviews for
388
357
50
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slayton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

DO NOT stay at this hotel, EVER!!!! It is horrible. We knew we would be checking in late, so I called early in the day to let them know myself, my husband and 5 year old would be arriving between 9 and 11 pm (after a 6 hour drive). When we arrived I had to wake up the sleeping front desk clerk. We loaded up the luggage cart, that we found out had broken wheels as it almost fell on top of my 5 year old. They gave us the wrong room, finally moved us to the correct room. It was EXTREMELY outdated, which would have been fine if it hadn't been so absolutely DISGUSTING. Cobwebs, carpet stains, dirty doors, ceiling coming down, peeling wallpaper, the list is endless. It was way too late to drive our 5 year all over town to look for a new place to stay. So we stayed 1 night, hoping to not get bed bugs. The next morning my son and I were sitting on the ac unit looking out the window, my husband came over to look as well. He rested his knee on the ac unit and was shocked so bad that he couldn't move!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was very scary. The hotel did give us some reward points. The Carlson Customer Service Rep also promised us 3 gift cert, which we still have not received. DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I couldn't get my sleep number bed to work, had a very bad sleep on a very hard bed. Door nob for the bathroom kept falling off. Had to go without the door nob for the entire stay (1 Night). I've stayed at this hotel before. You get a nice view if you are facing the lake. The stay is usually decent. Not worth the value though.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGuy-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked the room through Priceline and glad we had the discount. We would have been really disappointed if we paid the full price. We picked a four star to treat ourselves at the end of our holiday. Upon checking into the room, we dropped our bags and went up to the revolving restaurant as it was late and we had not had supper. The views were very nice from the restaurant. The food was very good, but we felt our waitress wanted to go home.
We returned to our room and upon closer inspection we found the room to be in need of some upgrades. My wife looked between the bed and the night table and was discusted by the dirt. She went down to the reception and they upgraded us to a lakeview room. This room seemed to be in better condition than the previous room but still showed signs of aging.
The beds had a comfort control to allow you to change the firmness. We had a good sleep. The room darkening shades had seen some better days. you could see white spots where the room darkening material was no longer there. In both rooms the baseboards near the air conditioner were long overdue for replacement.
We had breakfast in the restaurant, and again the views were very nice.
The parking was on-site and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Radisson should meam quality, their claim to fame. The must have forgottenn about Duluth. We had a harbor view room for about $250/night. The room small, the carpet frayed, the bed squeaked and with the slightest move, the towels Motel 6 quality at best (and small), ice machines out on 2 of 3 floors above and below us. The only positive comment, I guess, would be it appeared clean. Having visited 62 countries, and all 7 continents we were hard pressed to come up with a worse value for the price. Radisson really hurts the corperate image with this facilty. Our advice, check the other facilties in Duluth like should have done.

Carl R

Room Tip: Read the hotel reviews and pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night (this past Saturday night) September 14. The lobby is nice, the front desk is young and average for service, nothing spectacular. Our room was gross. We had stains on the walls, floor, and the bed sheets themselves! Yuk! The room was small and dingy and smelled funny. The bed was literally broken and made funny noises when either my wife or I moved in bed. The sleep number beds did not work (I overheard another guest complaining about it as well).

The restaurant on top was great for terrific views but was terrible for service. When you were seated, we finally gave up being served and went to the bar ourselves after waiting for 15 minutes.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant this am but found the service again lacking. The order was messed up an they clearly did not have a lot of staff to take cAre of the customers. We felt sorry for the older lady waiting on us. She had to be lower 70's and she was bussing her own tables and made change right at our table!!?? The food was average but pricey so don't think family at this place. You get a better value eating at most chain restaurants and you would certainly have better service.

My wife and I agree, we will NEVER stay here again! And we are not overly picky people. We politely told the staff upon departure the bed was broke (literally) an the sleep number did not work an that was it. We never asked for a discount either. They will laugh to the bank this time but there will never be second unless this place is rehabbed significantly and managed much better. GROSS!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisogonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care at CCare@CarlsonRezidor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked a room here last night because it was pouring rain and our tent was leaking. Thankfully, I booked it for 1/2 off the list price through Priceline.

You would think that for $200/night (the regular price,) you could expect a modern room with great amenities. Wrong. The a/c unit was probably the original unit from when the hotel was built, the room décor screams 1980s, and there is a 19 inch CRT tv. Most of the higher end hotels I have stayed in also have soft towels - the towels here were thin and scratchy. Would it kill you to use some fabric softener? I'm not sure if they were understaffed or what, but there was only one guy working at the front desk. When I went in to check in, he was having a conversation with a guy about why they had kicked him out when he was booked through the weekend. Well, after several minutes of going back and forth and getting the manager involved, the guest realizes that he told them the wrong room number. Umm, wouldn't you look him up by name if there was a problem? We then tried to park only to find the parking lot full, and you cannot park on the streets around the hotel. So, I went back in and the same desk clerk was trying to call a cab for a couple that was standing there. He had to call at least 2 cab companies before anyone answered. Then the people wanted to know the number to call for the hotel shuttle for when they came back from wherever they were going. The clerk didn't have any business cards, so he was trying to look it up on the internet, couldn't find it, went in the back, came back out and checked the computer again. Then he found it. Seriously, you don't know the phone number where you work?! The elevators were VERY slow, and the one we rode this morning was also making a horrible noise. Scary. We were there to sleep, so we did not check out the pool, bar, or fancy restaurant.

I would not stay here again unless I could get it for less than $70/night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#19 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing