We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Need to get their act together” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Need to get their act together”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here in August 2013 in 2 non-consecutive nights. The staff and service were inconsistent: on the first stay, the person at the desk gave me a map of the area and answered my questions; on my second stay, when I asked about the location of a nearby restaurant, the different person at the desk told me to walk around, and I'd see it. She actually said that. Service in the restaurant was similarly inconsistent. At lunch, the server seemed to disappear. I waited so long for my meal, that I asked another server to please check on my order. At breakfast there was prompt service.
Signs in the room indicate Sleep Number Beds, but the remote didn't work, and I was told it couldn't be fixed.
The airport shuttle left without me, but since Duluth airport is small, it wasn't a problem.
Bottom line: the Holiday Inn might be a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boboleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    255
    241
    254
    190
See reviews for
364
339
49
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for one Saturday night over labor day weekend. Used Club Carlson points for a free stay. Check in went smoothly and front desk agent very friendly. Given room 539, which is not in the main round tower, but other building. Room was fairly large with king size sleep number bed. Sleep number bed worked fine. Had view of city, but also could see lake and lift bridge. There was a fridge so that was nice. Had old style tv, surprised no flat screen. Also could not find any paper or pen in room, and no Kleenex. Liked how the bathroom was behind a wall separated from main area, and had great smelling toiletries. Bed was comfy, but pillows were very lumpy. Had difficulty sleeping as heard coughing all night from room next door. Went to restaurant on the top floor called JJ Astor I believe for breakfast, this restaurant revolves, so gives a great view of the city. Food was good, maybe a little over priced, but not bad. Was not a bad stay but looks like hotel could use some updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursecommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

for the price it was bad I have stayed at cheaper places and a lot better rooms would not stay there again it was very dirty the sleep number beds sucked the number dial did not work the showers were not hot enough


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingTami, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Write your comment.Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I will forward your concerns to the department heads at the hotel. Our goal is always 100% satisfaction. I hope we will have another opportunity in the future to provide you with accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Upon arrival, our first room was damp feeling and musty smelling. Even the carpet felt damp. As we were debating calling the front desk, we clearly heard the entire conversation of the guest in the room next to us, in a regular speaking tone of voice. So, with the walls being paper-thin, we called the front desk. They relocated us to a new room, no questions asked, which was a slight improvement. The overall cleanliness of the room was ok, but the floors in the hallways looked like they are rarely vacuumed. The hot tub jets sprayed directly in the air, splashing water all over! After visiting with another guest, they stated they had a similar experience and also had to switch rooms. I will commend the staff for being accommodating. We aren't finicky people, but expect a certain amount of quality, especially for the price and the Radisson brand. This hotel gives all Radisson's a bad name as far as I'm concerned. I definitely wouldn't stay here again! In the words of my husband, my review should only say, "this hotel sucks!"

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelingTami, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I will forward your concerns to the department heads at the hotel. Our goal is always 100% satisfaction. I hope we will have another opportunity in the future to provide you with accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First off I want to say that maybe my expectations were higher than they should have been. Growing up near Duluth we always saw the Radisson as the jewel of hotels in Duluth. Staying there was a privilege. Not any more.

We got checked in and were noticing the quirky 70's (?) style decor in the lobby. I no longer think it is quirky, I think they havent replaced it since the 70's. Just my opinion. We got into our first room which was room 313. Vey dated (which I could have handled, I love retro) but when you see the pictures I think you will get the point. Paint peeling in the shower, no refrigerator, baseboard coming away from the wall near the window and the tiles were buckling in the shower. Needless to say we did complain and the manager, Shawn, was amazing and did the best. He upgraded us to another larger room. I think that with the # of people we overheard who were unhappy with their rooms this is an ongoing problem for him and he was dealing with it the best he could.
The next room seemed okay, noticed the stains on the carpet and curtains and ceiling, their was someone elses food in the refrigerator, wallpaper was peeling in what seemed to be a renovated bathroom and the tile was broken near the baseboard. Also noticed the door to the bathroom had wood missing and bed skirt was ruined on the side facing the sitting area. Again furniture is dated. Also, there was some kind of antiquated power surge device that was making a noise like a sick rattle snake.
Unfortunately we didn't have much choice and had to spend the night but we will be checking out ASAP for a different hotel.
I want to point out that the manager did the best he could for us. Unfortunately this property has not been maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend grew up in the Duluth area and we came up here for vacation. She booked a room for us as she remembered this as being one of the top notch hotels in Duluth. We were both in for a horrible shock.

The room we initially checked into had numerous issues, including holes in the ceiling above the shower, base boards by the window that were broken and warped- not something you would want To see at a higher-end hotel.

We were put into an 'upgrade' room that had even more issues- and very few outlets in which to plug in anything.

Sean, the manager on duty, was very apologetic but made it clear that his hands were tied due to some changes that were taking place. He did feel bad for us though.

We had booked this room for two nights but are checking out after one night- it was that bad, especially given what we paid for the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXAgitator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The carpet in my room had a HUGE stain right in the middle of the floor, door lock is upside down and initially I couldn't get the door to open (they never mentioned it) and the tile in the bathroom is disgusting and has mildew stains between the tile!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinniTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#16 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing