We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Three and half stars. We were in town and wanted to be the 1 block walk from the Depot. We walked down to Canal Park area and back up, it gave us exercise or you can ask for the hotel shuttle. The halls are worn and the rooms have some worn spots, but have some new furnishings. Our room was spotless, with fluffy comforters. No shower issues. This is an older hotel, so arrive with those expectations. The round style makes the bathrooms small, not as small as a European hotel. The JJ Astor rotating restaurant views were amazing with good late night food. The harbor view rooms have wonderful views day and night. The room and food prices are in line with Duluth prices. The staff in the hotel and restaurant were exceptionally friendly, helpful and responsive. This is a unique hotel. Would stay again and when they refurbish it will be a first choice.

Room Tip: Harborview rooms have a great view. The JJ Astor restaurant had a great rotating view, we went late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    316
    282
    302
    213
See reviews for
455
419
58
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Before I was even in the door, me and my fiancé had to dodge around luggage strewn about on the sidewalk from an ill parked tour bus. I had reservations so it was pretty easy to get into my room. The petite suite as it was titled, was overpriced and a disappointment from as soon as I opened the door. It looked alright and had an ok view but the sleep number bed diddnt function, no food menu or any in area references, yet there is a fAnd a few of the rooms (stairwell, vending room, fitness pool.) stunk.
Our vending room on our flood was filthy with food trays and garbage and smelled horrid. I refused to use it for the rest if our stay. My fiancé also got harassed by some big loud drunk!!
What really killed me was the pool which was rather dirty and crowded and a lot of kids playing around in the lobby, pool area.
At first glance it looks upscale and worth the price but it was not the fancy radisson top of the harbor was expecting, but the bar was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andymans12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback will help us get to the bottom of the areas where we fell short. We are pleased to say that our property will be starting a renovation at the end of this year or very early next year. We hope that you might come back and allow us the opportunity to really experience Radisson service the way it should be experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Buffalo City WI
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

upon arrival everything went fine. Then we got to our room. I looked around. It was clean I have to say that. The room was small and not even attached to the rest of the hotel. My husband used his comp points. they put us in the most terrible room they had. The ceiling in the hotel was coming down over the air conditioner unit. We just shook our heads. We went to supper and came back. I looked closer to the scary looking corner and the thing was leaking! Water was falling from above onto our Air conditioner unit. I called the front desk. They had someone there pronto! The fellow came in and took one look and said " I know what that is." He was gone. A bout a half hour later, the front desk called and said the situation was taken care of. That's it. No offer to put us into another room, no sorry no anything. We were flabbergasted that they would be like this! I do not believe it was a safe situation with water that was clearly inside of an electrical unit. Oh well, after finally getting to sleep, at about 10:30, the phone rings and wakes us. The person said Oh I have the wrong room. It sounded just like the fellow from the front desk....Man what a rotten night. We did receive a survey shortly after our stay there. I tell you they got an ear full. They did answer by saying sorry and they put my husband's points back on...so all ended well..But would we stay there again?? NO WAY!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else..If not, tour your room FIRST before you pay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlttks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were booked at the Haborview Radisson through a convention. Since we were such a big group the price was good....the view was also great. Our room was pretty clean. The carpet in the hotel is bad, it is so in need of an update. The towels are thin...not what you would expect. The bedcoverings are stained, the wall coverings are coming off the wall. The electrical outlets don't all work...tried to recharge our laptop...and rechecked it by trying the blow dryer in both sockets and there was no power. One out of 3 showers I took had good hot water...the other two were tepid. The staff was friendly...but there was only one person at the check-in....we had bus loads of people. There was only one luggage cart...but the very worst...was the elevators don't always work. I thought I was in good shape until I climbed 9 flights of stairs with some of my luggage!! Ridiculous!! I always look at trip advisor and was dreading this stay...the reveiws are overwhelming bad.... We did not book the hotel ourselves...as stated in the beginning it was through our group at the convention. I would never stay here again. There are beautiful B&Bs and hotels in Duluth. Not up to what you would expect of a Radisson. If we had not had a discounted price...we would not have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakotagirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Don't let the central location and the posh lobby of this place fool you, it's mediocre at best. We've stayed in nicer places, in foreign countries for less money than a night here. The carpets and halls are dingy, the rooms are small and spartan and the whole location looks as though it hasn't seen a remodel since the 1980's. The (two) elevators take ages to get you anywhere. Lukily we were only on the third floor so we could take the stairs. If you stayed any higher than that you'd be out of luck.

About the only thing this place has going for it are the Sleep Number beds, though that is more a gimmick than anything. The one in our room did not work properly and wouldn't display the "sleep number" we'd selected, thus removing any entertainment we would have received from that. Speaking of entertainment; if you are in dire need a bubble-tube television from 1995 you should as to the staff here since apparently all rooms but the suites are outfitted with them. Don't rely on the internet for any in-room fun either since the (albeit free) wi-fi is achingly slow, too slow in fact to even properly stream YouTube.


To top it off, the parking is woefully inadequate, often requiring you to park in a deserted, unlit and over over-grown lot half a block away. To top off the experience, there no free breakfast and the prices for room-service are about what you'd pay for a decent breakfast at a REAL restaurant.

The only positives for this place were the friendly staff and the clean rooms. To kudos to the staff. The rest of this place is pretty miserable.

You can find better rooms in the area for less money. The only reason you should stay here is if you absolutely must have a room in a round building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I booked the
Radisson in Duluth thinking that the name in itself would guarantee a pleasant stay with no complaints. boy were we wrong. First, when we checked in we were given a no smoking room in the tower. Upon opening the door, the smell of stale, old cigarette smoke hit us like a ton of bricks and on top of that, the room was dirty. We called and got assigned another room and at least it had not been smoked in. There were peanut remnants on the floor and the room had not been dusted in a weeks. But it did not stink. All of this for over $150 with tax?! The saving grace was the restaurant on top. Great views. I got the filet mignon and after I cut away the grizzel the meat was somewhat paletable for the 36 dollar price. Do yourself a favor and try the holiday inn down the street, it has to be better for the same money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roostershooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are somewhat local to the Duluth area, and were going on a date night since having a baby.
We had stayed here in early 2012 while I was pregnant, so we didn't experience it then. But never thought negative about it.
Sadly we decided to go when there was a Shrine convention. Crazy people everywhere and the hotel was completely booked. I never knew they had '2' buildings. The tower and the annex. Which we got sent to. We were very sad. You can tell how old and outdated the building and room was.
The tub was rusted, the coffee pot was dirty and full of hairs, and there were plenty of stains on the floor. The ac was old and loud, while the floor and ceiling was peeling.
We didn't visit the pool due to the amount of people. But it looked clean. Overall disappointing especially when you pay $180 for one night! :'(
Though when are given a date night, we enjoy it as much a possible.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheewyBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing