We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff but poor communication skills between staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff but poor communication skills between staff.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while my grandpa was in the hospital. The parking situation was VERY poor and since I had my 5 month old daughter really made it hard since I had to park across the street........
Got the room for $60, so great deal since I just needed somewhere to sleep. The room was also pretty far so made hauling my daughter and I in very difficult. There also is no fridge or microwave in the room. Room was decent just to sleep. Also pretty poor noise control between rooms. I could hear everything such as people walking in the hallway and talking quietly. One other note, had to go to a different floor to get ice. They also do have shuttles to and from the hospital however it took the driver over an hour and a half to pick my mom up at the hospital and bring her back. Loved that they had a shuttle to and from the hospital. Decent for a place to just sleep. Stayed at the edgewater once before and they put me in a room that was several blocks from main hotel since I was also here for medical reasons for a family member in the hospital---didn't like that I had to stay several blocks from main hotel........

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilaryleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    309
    275
    290
    209
See reviews for
439
404
56
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really the problems started at check in as the room we had reserved was not reserved correctly. We reserved the presidential suite with an adjoining room and recieved a petite suite and another room on another floor.

The lobby is run down. Immediately I noticed fingerprints on light fixtures and stains on some of the furniture. I guess I notice cleanliness after helping my Father run a restaurant for many years as a kid. Even the elevator has some wierd gross looking blanket as the walls covering up nice stainless steel? Not sure if they are trying to prevent scratches or what but it looked terrible.

The rooms including the "suites" are outdated and small. We had a tube tv from the 90s. The windows would not close all the way because the spinning handle would just spin and not close the window so you had to pull it in by hand but it would still stay open a crack. Nasty water stains on our ceiling.

The staff was fairly nice and did try and help us but if you switch rooms you just end up switching to another delopodated room with other problems. But it was kind of fun to seek them out, kind of like an easter egg hunt. Hey... toilet doesn't flush... key doesn't work... heat is on full blast... etc. The hot tub was out for several hours as well and is about the size of a bath tub.

There is simply zero pride of ownership in this property. Maybe they are struggling financially and can't afford to do simple cleaning and proper maintenance I'm not sure but they certainly aren't getting many repeat customers with this type of proprety.

The only positive was it's central downtown location but there are many other properties in the vicinity and the restaurant at the top had delicious walleye sandwiches... I mean really good. They also had a nice jazz band playing.

Room Tip: Avoid the concierge rooms. It's annoying to always have to use a key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymkhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with your guest room and various other neglected areas of the hotel. We are trying our best to keep the hotel looking neat and clean as we are an older brand; however we are looking forward to renovations in the next year.

We hope to stimulate new clients and grab the attention of people such as yourself who appreciate our great location and fine restaurant. Please do consider us for a future stay as we will do our best to update our overall look.

Customer Relations Manager
Melissa Ratai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Kasson, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview right after Christmas, again this year. The hotel is a little older, and when we first got our room, it was VERY cold. After a call to the front desk and a visit from the fix it man, our room warmed up. The pool area is nice and large, although the morning of the day we were departing the hot tub was drained and it shouldn't have been. I was disappointed with this. We had breakfast at the top of the tower, it was a nice breakfast. What I was most impressed with, happened a month after we stayed. We didn't realize we had left our camara battery and charger in our room until we were home and 4 weeks had gone by and we needed our camera charged. We realized we must have left it in our hotel room. After a call to the hotel and a message left in housekeeping, I got a return call stating they did have a camera battery and charger. The best part of this was, they shipped it to us for free and we had it within a week of making our call. I was very impressed with this service and thought for sure we'd be out a battery and charger.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in the tower for three weeks while here on business. My room was on the 14th floor and faced right towards none other then the city fire department (seems I always pick the hotels right by the local fire department). As for the room, it was small but usable. It was a tad outdated, as the sink in the bathroom was cracked, the bed creaked, and the TV which touted it had HBO did not have HBO on it (not that I needed it). The bed was a Sleep Number bed, but it didn't work very well and the pillow were absolutely awful (small, like Chick-let small). There was no microwave or fridge in the room, which meant I couldn't eat in room without bringing along my cooler. There was also a connecting door between my room and the room next door, but when another guest was ever in that other room, it sounded like they were right in my bathroom as the door did not provide much sound barrier. I heard every cough, phone call, and alarm through that door.
I did enjoy that fact that it is connected to most of downtown through the Skywalk system in Duluth. The restaurant servers in the revolving eatery on the top floor were very friendly and the food was good. Parking seemed adequate. Didn't use the pool or hot tub. Did use the exercise room which seemed well equipped and clean.
So the big question, "Would I stay at this hotel again?" I would. I'll just ask for a nicer room next time....

Room Tip: If in the tower, try to get a room facing the bay. More noise if on west side facing the fire stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerCob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Poor customer service. front desk people were rude and when we had a problem they didn't show ANY concern or make us feel at ease about the situation. Parking was a pain and drove around for a half an hour trying to find a spot. The rooms were okay...but we had some weird stains on both our bed sheets, curtains don't close all the way so was hard to sleep with all the light coming in, and the rooms are a little outdated. I and my husband & friends that were with us, DEFINITELY would NOT stay or recommend this hotel to ANYONE!!!!!! :(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre14_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa R, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry for the experience you had during you stay with us. Parking can be a bit of a hassle when we are busy on the weekends; however there are very simply ways around solving the issue and it sounds like you were not offered any guidance. I have passed your review onto the appropriate management to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback.

Melissa Ratai
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times, ever since I was a kid traveling with my parents, so my memory of this hotel goes ay back. On my most recent stay right before the holidays in 2012 I was very pleasantly surprised at the remodel job on the hotel. I believe in my previous stay it was underway, so I was very happy to see the improvements they made in the hotel. The lobby was dramatically different and improved, lots of lounge room as well as space to work. The restaurant at the top of the hotel is also greatly improved, and the quality of food and service was great. Rooms have received an update and are clean and redecorated. On my most recent stay I was in the tower, the staff had placed us on the top floor to give us some distance from a large group that was staying the hotel for the night. The view was wonderful (hillside) the only issue was the intermittent creaking or slight noise from the rotating restaurant above. However, they turn the rotation off after 10 PM, so it wasn't a noise problem at night. The location for this hotel is ideal for downtown Duluth, right on the skywalk system as well as on one end of Superior Street next to the Library, the Depot and the Great Lakes Aquarium. I do know that during upgrades hotels are at a disadvantage to impress, but definitely give this one another try, the upgrades and remodel have made a great difference.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are nice for your first stay, but if you want to save a bit of money on your return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEChristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Radisson Duluth is in a great location. They've got convenient and free parking. The lobby is fun and funky, but when you get up to the rooms the fun and fancy ends there. The blackout curtains did not close completely and were ripped and full of holes that let in the light. The carpet had huge stains in numerous places.There was lots of visible mold on the ceiling in the bathroom.
We were in town for a funeral and my brother and I stayed in a room with two double beds. One of the two Sleep Number beds was broken and deflated. I got in late and it was midnight when I sat on the bed and realized it was broken so, in defense of the Radisson, I did not call and ask them to fix it or find us a new room -- we had to get up too early. They did offer free breakfast coupons upon checkout, but we were on the way out the door to the funeral and couldn't take them up on it. A small discount on the overall bill would have been a nice gesture.The service was good, but the accommodations were sub-par (even discounting the broken bed). On the upswing, the view is beautiful, but this property could use a SERIOUS upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialViz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#24 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing