We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Aging hotel a little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aging hotel a little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Yes this hotel is downtown Duluth near the lake but OMG those steep hills I wouldn't want to try driving to this hotel in winter. Asked the desk clerk how do people cope driving there in winter he said they don't! The cross streets run parrel to the slope and are flat but the connecting streets run up the steep slope and are very challenging, add in some one way streets and it gets very interesting. By now you might be thinking I live somewhere flat and am not used to hills but you would be wrong I'm very used to driving on steep roads but downtown Duluth has steep hills on steroids! Drving at night it got really tricky.
The hotel it's self was built in the 70's and it does show. We paid the extra for a lake view room and sadly I'd say not worth the price. Sure the view is good but the rooms only have one smallish window, for a mordern building for the extra price I expected more window. The only way to see the view is by standing right at the window and leaning over the A/C heater unit, not like most hotels featuring a view with windows that span the width of the room.
The room itself was smallish and the bathroom cramped, the best thing about the bathroom were the nice thick fluffly towels. The tub could use a grab bar for safety,had the typical water saver shower head I've come to hate (why not make it a hand held /personal shower type head at least I could get clean every where), the tile grout was looking a little grubby and the tub old. One nice point is the new curved shower rod and nice shower curtain that keep the water inside the tub, no flood in this bathroom! On the downside was unable to get hot water when I showered @ 530 a.m.. Also cheap tp and could have used some kleenex in the bathroom.
Good sized closet with a iron and ironing board, a couple good full length mirrors are also a nice touch.
The Sleep Number beds are okay had a good enough sleep on them. The sheets looked nice and fresh clean but the duvet covers had some stains. The A/C was working well (extremely hot weather when we were there) and was very welcome but was a little on the loud side but it did help mask traffic noise and the cool was so welcome.
The internet in the room worked and well wasn't slow.
The best feature of the room was the LG 38" flat screen TV.
Other than that the room just looked slightly tired I would guess it's been a few years since the last remodel and it's starting to show.
Can't comment on the resturant as it was closed by 2 pm so we couldn't get a late lunch after we checked in and we were out to a wedding by supper time. Also wasn't open till 6:30 am and we were on the road by then. I had heard from friends it is a nice resturant with good food and a great view so was dissappointed we didn't get to sample it.
The desk staff were all friendly and nice, even the man who had worked the night shift on a very busy night (hotel was full to capcity due to several events in the downtown area) he was still cheery and friendly at the end of his shift.
The lobby is a little odd in that the desk area is oddly placed away from the elevators, with the service elevator closer to the desk than the guest elevators. The desk placement makes sense from where the guests enter the hotel from the parking area.
I really had thought a Radisson Hotel would be a little better than average but this one isn't. If you have business in the downtown area it would be a handy location but I think you can get a better view of the lake driivng around the city.
If you are headed to Duluth to shop the mall and the stores in that area I'd say stay at motels near the mall area espically in winter and avoid the steep slope to the harbour and some of the confusing intersections ( really some have 8 roads running into them).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    256
    241
    254
    190
See reviews for
365
339
49
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Canal Park. You can avoid the parking jam at Canal Park by walking there using the skywalk system. The pool area is very nice. The lobby is also lovely and had coffee out in the morning, The room was spacious and the beds comfortable. Only problem was that there was hair left in the bathroom, on the floor and in the shower, from previous guests. It is just a short 15 minute drive to the Miller Hill Mall area. Overall, reasonably priced and great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegMB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
371 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Set in the heart of downtown, the Radisson sits proudly overlooking the lake. The renovations of the lobby are notable and welcoming; however, the parking garage needs to be resurfaced as it is in poor condition and does not a good first impression. The one stop you should make is the restaurant on the top floor of the building...360 degree views of the city as you sit dining and the floor turns. The food is good, but the service staff need assistance--possibly an additional team member?

Room Tip: Focus on the lake when choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savedade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

There are few places that welcome Fido these days. Especially in a city. We love that we can bring our old girl with no fuss and very little extra$. We stayed there on 4th of July. IT was very busy and we did not get the best room in the house, because I called late, Nevertheless, it was nice to be able to take our old girl and watch the fireworks with her one last time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight here after seeing an outdoor concert 7/1. The room rate was substantially less than other hotels in the area, but the condition/location of the hotel was great. We were walking distance to pretty much everything downtown, canal park and the outdoor venue where the band was performing. It looks farther away from everything when you look at the hotel on a map, but truly, it's all easy to get to and fairly quick by foot.

Staff were friendly in every area we were in. We didn't wait long to get checked in and were able to get into our room right away at 3:30.

The room was nothing extremely posh or fancy but it was very clean & updated; w/a queen sleep number bed & big flat screen tv. We didn't use the workout center, but I wish I would've because the equipment actually looked really nice.

We had one drink in the bar after the concert; they had a bingo game going on around a firepit on the outdoor patio. I felt bad for the bartender because she was trying to tend bar & call bingo at the same time. But it didn't affect the service. A few patrons that came in were disappointed that the kitchen closed at 10pm and were not able to order food.

Our rate included a $20 voucher for breakfast the next morning in the restaurant located at the top of the building--and the food was outstanding. Highly recommend the crabcake eggs benedict! The tables sat on a platform that slowly rotated along windows that overlooked the city & lake. It was very cool.

This is definitely a great place to stay and I found it to be very comparable to the Sheraton down the road on East Superior (where we stayed a couple yrs ago). In fact, I think the restaurant at the Radisson is better. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hillside rooms don't give you a view of the lake, but the view is still neat to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRRRRMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my mom for the 4th of July. It is difficult during the summer to find rooms in Duluth, so we were happy to find a lakeview room for this date. The hotel was easy to locate and has a great view of Lake Superior. It is within a mile of restaruants and other things to do. It was a couple of blocks away from Festival Park where the fireworks are displayed. As in other reviews, the lobby was nicely remoldeled and the staff was professional and friendly. We did have to wait for our room to be cleaned, I guess due to the large amount of guests staying and room turnover. It was a minor inconvience, but no biggie. The hallways and the elevators were very dated and a little creepy. Nothing looked obviously dirty, just dingy and old. There are only 2 main elevators and it took forever for them to come to the lobby level of the hotel. After seeing the hallways and elevators, I have to admit, I was a little scared about what the room would look like. The doors to the rooms are in pairs, so there are 2 doors in a small alcove type set up, a little akward if you are trying to get to your room at the same time your neighbor is. The room itself was a little dated, but clean with a great view. I was not a fan of the sleep number bed. Like most older hotels, there didn't seem to be enough electrical outlets for all the stuff that we have now. :o) The price was about par for Duluth in the summer. I will interested to see what the hotel looks like after renovations are completed. Overall, not as bad as some of the reviews stated. Nice and accommodating staff. A big plus was being able to watch the fireworks from our room and not having to deal with the traffic and crowds after the show is over!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Txgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zman319
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Met expectations, would recommend, would stay again.

Booked one night in June following camping trip up North; price was lower than Canal Park area hotels and I needed a Radisson night for the 50k Club Carlson promotion (points posted just fine). Keep an eye on the Club Carlson promotions; this was the second one this year that gave 50k for a one-night stay (sign-up required).

Location: West edge of the business/downtown area, about two blocks from the harbor... great views from the harbor facing rooms. Closest hotel to the Depot, Library, and Incline Bowling. Also the closest hotel to Duluth Fire Dept. Station 1, so you might hear Engine, Ladder, and Rescue 1 heading out on calls, but hey, that's the sound of public safety... Closest hotel to Bayfront Park.

Room: Overall very clean- one small stain/burn mark on carpeting between the beds, other than that the wearables were all in good shape, towels clean and fluffy, sheets clean. One sleepnumber bed was non-functional. We didn't care, though, since for the previous 4 days we'd been on self-inflating camping mattresses.

Restaurant: Didn't use it, though I booked a gov't rate that included a $9 coupon for breakfast, which would have actually (gasp!) covered a decent continental breakfast. (The booking page said $7, the coupon they gave me was $9, but only one per room). Looks like they've remodeled the restaurant since last time I was there, looks nice. Still revolves.

Pool area: Didn't even peek at it.

Shuttle van: Keep in mind that they do make runs to the airport, which can be 40 minutes round trip. Great if you're flying in/out, not so great if you're looking for a ride in the rain. Weather for us was fine so we walked back from Canal Park.

Staff: Front desk was friendly without being fake, and thanked us for being Club Carlson members as they moved us to a harbor-facing room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#18 of 34 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#16 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing