We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sleep Number beds are nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel stay had a number of issues, the first being on a Thursday night, there was NO PLACE to park in the ramp next to the hotel, so we were told to park in a lot across the street and to put a hotel-given paper slip in our windshield, presumably so we wouldn't get ticketed or towed. The next morning, our vehicle was still where we left it, but there was a not-so-nice handwritten note under our windshield wiper. Hopefully it was only b/c the person neglected to pay attention and (s)he was having a bad day.

#2 issue: Radisson touts the Sleep Number beds.....we could go the rest of our lives without sleeping in another one. Since our room was a blind-bid purchase, we did not a premiere view of Lake Superior. The city view was not bad, though. However, we had two double-beds instead of one queen bed. Each of us took a bed and tried out the Sleep Number. The remotes did not work well; It started at 100 which was the firmest setting, but deflating it down to 25 (which was noted as average/most popular), it was too soft. Even after further adjustment, it was not a completely restful night.

I would only stay here again if there was a special savings deal on the room rate. Otherwise, it is not worth the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank challengefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you had a difficult time parking, and that you had a "not so nice" note on your windshield. It is a common practice for our guests to park in the overflow parking lot, and it is known and accepted by the parking lot owner that hotel guests park there. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Our sleepnumber beds are loved by most and hated by others. We do have some rooms that do not have the sleepnumber beds that you can request upon making your next reservation.

We are in the process of renovating our guest rooms, and are making great progress!

Please come and stay with us again when travels bring you our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

My mom, husband and I stayed Saturday night, February 18 for a little getaway in Duluth. The only good thing was its location. Its close to canal park and right across from the theater playhouse. The elevators are old, small, and slow. The rooms are small and gross. The beds are sleepnumbers small doubles. The bathrooms are tiny and from the 80s or 90s. It cost $ 200 for the night, we were forced to take it because it was short notice. Never stay here again. Overpriced for a 2* hotel. Worth price of a super8!!! Recommendation: drive 5 miles out of town if its your last choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribeCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel has undergone some recent renovations however some of the areas of the hotel have not received the same level of TLC. This is an older hotel, and some ware and tare is to be expected, however we seem to always be placed in the "annex" portion of the hotel when staying there. We have experience poor heating and cooling, a non operational drain and the smell of smoke in the non smoking area of the hotel on our most recent stays at the hotel. Unfortunatly due to our experiences, we will not be staying at the Raddison again.

On a bright note, the housekeeping staff is always polite and hardworking. They do their best to keep up these rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main tower portion, the annex area is great disapointment.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

There were hockey tournaments, figure skating competitions and other events happening, and they hotel staff kept up pretty well. Only two complaints: 1) The pool towels ran out and it took 20 minutes for them to deliver after being called. That's a long time for a little kid to stand there and shiver. 2) There are not enough elevators to accomodate groups that size. We waited a LONG time just for a ride up. It was too many floors to walk up, but we always took the stairs down.

On the positive side, considering how many loud kids were there, our room was pretty quiet and they gave our figure skate club a great group discount. It's nothing fancy, but it was fine for the money.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms have a great view!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The lobby of this hotel is spacious and modern- very attractive. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Because of my husbands seminar they were extremely gracious in allowing us early check in and late check out. However, the rooms are in need of some TLC. They were clean, but they were tired. Tub drain not working, dingy bed spread, and the window shades had very noticeable holes in them. This was our second stay in two months and we found the experience to be the same both times.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teesie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

All the staff was friendly and helpful. We got to check in early and unpack the car. Parking is a little tricky, we were close to start with, went to lunch, then the ramp, went to dinner, parking lot 1/2 a block away and across the street. I was happy the parking was FREE!!
The beds are not worth asking for, they don't work each time and when you do get them to fill up with air and then try to let it back out...... my daughter had to sleep all night on a hard bed at 8 months pregnant! We also had to go down 9 flights of stairs at 4:00 am for the fire alarm that went off on the Sat.night/Sunday morning! (hotel was full of hockey players and families!) We do regret not getting up to the restaurant, we walked around up there Sunday morning and wished we would have checked it out the night before! All the food we saw looked great and the prices were comparable. Yes, you can hear the rooms next to you shower and flush. We did like being able to walk the main street and use the heated indoor skyway, it does take twice as long to walk inside (and confusing) and it is more direct and faster outside. The lobby is funky, no bathroom on the lobby floor though. We enjoyed the stay but I would never pay full price to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I never complain - and I really love a good deal when I understand the trade-offs. But when it comes to my family, I've learned through this experience it pays to be choosey at the right moments. We ended up at this hotel through priceline. I'm shocked to see, through a little research, that the price for rooms for the weekend after we stayed is 3x - but not surprised that this hotel has to drop their prices at the last minute to fill their old, paint peeling, outdated, tiny, loud, uncomfortable rooms. If you're up for a cheap stay - go right ahead, but be warned - sleep number beds? More like an electronic air mattress with remotes that are out of batteries (not to mention the TV remote which didn't work:)). And if you don't mind getting woken up at any given moment during the night, feel free to stay and listen to the LOUDEST toilet flushing party known to man (maybe this 'attraction' is how they justify the outrageous prices). I got more sleep when my daughter was 2 weeks old. Skip this property regardless of the savings. I feel awful writing a review like this because the staff seemed actually nice. Note: one positive - the fire alarms work, even at 4am.

Room Tip: Stay away from this property
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JM1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
There are many guests that stay with us for the sole purpose that we have the sleepnumber beds. Just as with anything in life, there are some things that people enjoy and others do not.
For those, who do not enjoy the sleepnumber beds, we do offer rooms that have NON-sleepnumber beds. The next time you stay with us, you can request a room that doesn't have the sleepnumber beds.
We are in the process of renovating our guest rooms and are excited about the steps that are being taken to update our hotel.
The Radisson Duluth-Harborview, takes pride in providing the best "Yes I Can" service possible in the City of Duluth.
JJ Astor Restaurant is rated as one of the top 5 hotels in the area. You can go to opentable.com to review customer reviews, and will find that our restaurant exceeds customer expectations.
Good or bad, guest feedback is invaluable and is the only way we know if we are doing things right or how we can improve. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know your concerns are our concerns!
That saying, I hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 31 in Duluth
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 31 in Duluth
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: $145 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing