We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not pick this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Do not pick this hotel!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Rooms were very old with paint chipping on walls, carpet from 1970 and green folding chairs for "desk" chairs. We tried 2 different rooms even the upgrade in price and it just got worse. Finally left and got a fantastic room at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDivaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. Our guest rooms have not been renovated since 2004, they are due to be updated and we are currently in the process of renovating them. We are hoping to have them complete in the spring.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Good or bad, guest feedback is invaluable and is the only way we know if we are doing things right or how we can improve. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    291
    264
    278
    201
See reviews for
419
380
52
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great location in the heart of Duluth, plenty of parking space right near the hotel. Nice big rooms with good breakfast option in the rotating restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. For the price they are charging for a night, it is probably the best deal in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy_K_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in a tower room which was smaller but adequate with a great view. We took advantage of the free shuttle to canal park. Free stuff is always better isn't it. The staff was friendly and helpful. Slow elevator, oh well.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant which took f o r e v e r. It was overpriced but unique so it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked a one nite stay in Duluth, MN via hotwire and got this hotel...what a disappointment.
I have used hotwire.com to book hotels 3 times in the past 2 years for Duluth, MN, the first time we were rewarded with a beautiful stay at the Sheraton, and the last two times we were punished with a stay at the Radisson. Since our last stay there about 1.5 years ago, I thought things might have improved & while they have done some renovations to the lobby, it is nicely furnished, the rooms in the tower were small, cramped and loud, very very loud. We heard every single, voice, person walking by, door opening, closing, elevator, sneeze sniffle & groan and it was all nite long. I pretty much guess I will never be able to use hotwire.com to book a hotel in Duluth, MN again, as I do not want the displeasure of getting stuck with the Radisson.

Room Tip: No room is a good room as far as I am concerned
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon24freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Good or bad, guest feedback is invaluable and is the only way we know if we are doing things right or how we can improve. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know your concerns are our concerns!

Renovations to the hotel lobby and restaurants were completed in the summer of 2010. We are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms and hope to have them completed by the summer of 2012.

We take pride in being the leading provider of 'Yes I Can' service in Duluth. I hope that you will consider giving us sanother opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Oakes, North Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was a bit concerned after reading other reviews, but was very pleased with my stay at the Duluth Radisson. The hotel was very clean, which is very important to me. Rooms are large, service is excellent, parking is free. The hotel is on Superior Street and very convenient. I didn't eat at the restaurant but my coworkers said the food was very good. I did order breakfast room service one morning and it was excellent. The staff were gracious and upbeat and I think that's the mark of good management. My coworker had gotten a cheaper rate than I had when we booked our rooms. The hotel offered a deal that was better than either of our rates and it included a $15 breakfast coupon. I was very pleased with my stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakotadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel needs updating big time. The second floor smells of old cigarette smoke, parking is difficult after 8 pm, beds are uncomfortable, elevators are slow, fire exit signs are not clear, and location is in the old part of town. Though our room had a view of Lake Superior, the window was too high where you could not sit to enjoy the view. Housekeeping was very helpful. Front Desk could have been more attentive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popcorn0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I travel to Duluth often and have not stayed at the Radisson for a couple of years because of past experiences of mediocrity. When I stayed a little less than two weeks ago for the night, it was the result of a Hotwire booking. I can confidently say this hotel does not meet the standards of a Hotwire three-star hotel...

One thing that is clear to me is that the Radisson has taken some measures to attempt to improve their image and customer satisfaction. I think it will become obvious that the word "attempt" is key here. The Lobby has been re-designed, as has the main level bar and top of the hotel restaurant. However, beyond that, it's the same old Radisson. Personally, I can't figure out why so much time was spent on improving aspects of a hotel that are of so little consequence during a stay. I don't know about you, but I tend to spend most of my time in a hotel in the room (and sleeping). A fashionable lobby is a nice touch, but certainly not instrumental in my decision to stay at a particular hotel.

Personally, when I stay at a hotel, I care primarily about the condition of the room - bed comfort, room cleanliness, appropriate water pressure/volume, room appearance, amenities, etc. It is here where the Radisson fails - the aspects of a hotel stay that are important to most travelers. The rooms are quite outdated: the Sleep Number beds are ancient, the decor...everything - they're just not enough to compete with the many other properties in the area.

I didn't have the pleasure of investigating the pool area this time around. However, the fitness room is basically a death trap. Be careful if you use that multi-purpose machine for weightlifting.

The restaurants were much-improved in decor. The main level bar had a nice pub atmosphere and excellent service. I had a nice local beer which was brewed a few blocks away. SImilarly, the restaurant at the top had great food, service, and a beautiful view of the lake/city. My fiancee and I enjoyed some tasty omelettes there. Of course, the restaurant still rotates at the top. This gimmick is a nice novelty for some, although those experiencing the effects of a night on the town may want to steer clear.

The location of the Radisson is especially favorable in the summer - since it's right downtown on Superior St. It's easy to head to the local diners and shops and even to Canal Park.

Bottom line: the Radisson did not impress enough to lure me back into it's clutches. I would suggest that they focus their future efforts on improving aspects of the hotel that are important to the potential clients in which they hope to attract.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#22 of 33 in Duluth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Carlson, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing