We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay. Rooms clean . Desk staff overall...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deer River, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We used this property for an overnight shopping trip. There were several other guests with the same plan. Check in, & check out was quite satisfactory and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable, though the bathroom was small for a "full figured" person like myself. There is no pool but the whirlpool was relaxing after a long day. We got a good nights sleep in a comfortable queen bed. The breakfast was above average with hot oatmeal and make your own waffles. There was an attendent on duty keeping everything shipshape. The property was very clean and well maintained. We will definately use this Days Inn again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Clean, comfortable & friendly, great location. We don;t spend a lot of time in our room so we don't need any extras they don't have. The flowers in the entrance are lovely. We have occasionally stayed in a "fancier" place when we visit Duluth a few times a year, but this is our usual place & we really like it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a very old property, and it shows, not only on the outside but on the inside as well. Staff was very solemn and had little enthusiasm for the job or interfacing with guests. Once in the room, I really felt like leaving and going somewhere else. This was nowhere near the quality for the price I paid. This hotel was almost double the cost of any of the others I stayed at on this trip and had much less value. Hotel was very outdated but seemed clean and we were here for a short stay so we decided to keep the reservation.

They offer popcorn and chocolate chip cookies in the lobby at various times in the afternoon. A nice touch but hardly makes up for the high cost of the room. Located directly across the street from the mall, there are many places to eat and shop nearby.

The pet policy is to possibly add charges to your account if someone complains about noise without contacting you first. Hmmm, how about calling me up or contacting me somehow before just adding costs to an already overpriced room? Yes, I do understand that some people do not have well behaved pets, but when they become a nuisance there should be a better process to follow than to tell the owner that you are just going to add charges to the bill without their knowledge or consent. I cannot count the number of times I have been in a room and had loud noise from slamming doors, heavy feet above, loud parties or drunk discussions down the hall. I know of no hotel that charges guests for being too loud. Just seems to be a poor way of handling a situation.

Breakfast was decent, had a good variety of selections and plenty of room. Staff needs to find a way to perk up a little and make customers feel more wanted, a property update would help as well. Maybe everyone just had a bad day, but I just did not feel welcomed on this stay and even though I had not major issues I would not return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2FarAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren W, General Manager at Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. I'm very sorry that you were so unhappy with your recent stay. The friendliness of our staff is usually one of the most compimented parts of our guest experience and I am very sorry that you were unable to experience this during your stay.
I want to assure you that when there is an issue with a pet in a room that every effort is made to contact the guest prior to charging any additional fees and this is purely a last resort. We take a great deal of pride in being a pet friendly hotel and always do our best to treat our four legged guests as well as we treat our two legged ones. Our most important rule with any pets in our hotel is simply that they cannot be left alone in a room. This is just because pets, in a strange environment, may become stressed to the point of barking, thus disturbing other guests and even possibly damaging the room itself. I would simply like you to know that the only time that we have ever charged a guest beyond the standard $5.00 per night pet fee has been when a guest has deliberately gone against that rule and left their pet alone and we were unable to contact the guest and alert them to their pet's distress thus incurring either noise complaints or damage to the room. This is an unfortunate occurence but it does happen and that is why it is listed on our pet policy.
Once again I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay but I do hope that it does not dissuade you from returning to our beautiful city in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#7 of 33 in Duluth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Property: Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Address: 909 Cottonwood Ave, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811-5609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Duluth
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Miller Hill Mall is located just minutes from major recreational areas and the stunning north woods beauty. The all new beautifully decorated interior and superb customer service will make you glad you chose to stay at the Days Inn Miller Hill Mall. Located one block north off the junction of Highway 53 North and Highway 194, the Miller Hill Mall is just across the street and is the largest retail mall in northern Minnesota. Duluth is Minnesota's largest city outside of the Twin Cities area. With its lakeside setting and an incredible array of things to do, Duluth offers both excitement and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Duluth
Days Inn Duluth
Duluth Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing