We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, friendly. Only drawback was there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed there for a couple weeks because I am in town for work. To start off I hate getting accused of something I didn't do and that is exactly what happened. I was accused by the manager of the Days Inn that I was smoking in my room and after letting him come into my room he later discovered that there was not any cigarettes. I have never smoked and getting accused of it really made me mad. I told him it was probably the housekeepers smoking in there because they did not clean my room for almost a week and I had to get different sheets and pillow cases and change it all myself! I HIGHLY recommend that NOONE stays there ever! I will never go back there and after being treated so poorly and harassed, I will never stay at another Days Inn again in my life!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coltonlong03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluthmanager, General Manager at Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

This was an unfortunate situation that was not caused by us (the hotel). The three very negative reviews that are currently shown here were all written by guests that were coworkers, friends that were here for the same purpose. Two of the three did in fact smoke in their rooms, non smoking rooms. Our hotel is 100% smoke free. One of the individuals was asked to leave because of this, and the other was warned. The reason their rooms were not cleaned on a daily basis is because they worked at night and slept during the day, and we could not clean their rooms during normal housekeeping hours. When the second individual was warned about smoking in the hotel, the remaining two individuals left and then wrote these reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank thundergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Mom had an early morning Dr.'s appointment. Since we live 65 miles away decided it would be best to go the night before. We chose the Days Inn because of the location and the price (we had a coupon). The most important thing for us is that it is clean and it was. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lets start from the begining. Occupancy of my room was been delayed while one of the employees was being arrested!!! Arrival In my room was at best fridged, from the low temp setting on the thermostat and air flowing through the window edges. The up side to the fresh air was that it helped mask the smell of stale cigarettes and the aroma of dope. Finding a place to charge my phone involved sliding my mattress away from the way to receptacle with a three plug adaptor simply installed (SCARY).

Now the shower. It was a complete medley of feelings, a nice hot burst of water only to be interrupted by a cold blast after anyone down the hall flushed the toilet or washed their hands.

The bed was what is to be expected for a short stay residency. Breakfast was an event in and of its self. I understand an Employee sliping in for a cup of coffee or waiting till the end for some food. That was not the case here. You wait in line WITH the employees!!!

Becareful where you park. Depending on the hour and temp determines if you are parking in a lake or an ice rink. Litteraly a set of car tire imprints three inches deep in ice at the rear handicap entrance from a vehicle that parked when it was warm outside and didn't move untill the next day and it froze around the tires.

SIZE DOES MATTER!!! I am a big man. I had to stradle the stool to close the door to the bathroom. Now I stayed alone there and you ask why not just leave the door open?? No one will see or be offended. Well it's behind the door where you find the toilet paper!! I said i'm big not tall it was a stretch!!!
BTW my Room number was 121. if you ever get that Room RUN!!!!!!!!!! FOR!!!! YOUR!!!!! LIFE!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makarios D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
3.0 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Address: 909 Cottonwood Ave, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811-5609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $82 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Miller Hill Mall is located just minutes from major recreational areas and the stunning north woods beauty. The all new beautifully decorated interior and superb customer service will make you glad you chose to stay at the Days Inn Miller Hill Mall. Located one block north off the junction of Highway 53 North and Highway 194, the Miller Hill Mall is just across the street and is the largest retail mall in northern Minnesota. Duluth is Minnesota's largest city outside of the Twin Cities area. With its lakeside setting and an incredible array of things to do, Duluth offers both excitement and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Duluth
Days Inn Duluth
Duluth Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing