We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed one night at the end of our Lake Superior circle tour...nice hotel with an ok breakfast! Very convenient too as they are located across from the big mall, Kohls, Target, etc. room was clean and comfortable and desk staff were friendly. No real complaints! I have stayed here many times over the last 40 years!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottygal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful in finding a good restaurant.
They served a good breakfast in the am; popcorn in the afternoon and cookies in the evening. This was a very nice touch for travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TICPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the first time I've stayed at this Days Inn location since they've gone smoke-free. First, I have to commend them for this decision as I wouldn't have stayed if there were still smoking rooms. We got a good deal from the visitduluth.com website and stayed for two nights in April.

Rooms were small, (especially the bathroom), but comfortable and exceptionally clean. The fridge is great. Internet was speedy and free. We also appreciated the excellent continental breakfast, which was well-stocked throughout the time the lounge was open.

We were slightly disappointed that the hot tub was closed, though we understand that it was due to unforeseen maintenance. It's a nice place to relax but we can't hold the closure against the property.

As mentioned, enquire about the "safe insurance fee". I paid it because it wasn't worth worrying about to me but I wonder if perhaps it's some kind of state law or something. Who knows...

Anyway, I'd recommend this place for sure - great location next to the mall and Hwy 53 and only minutes to downtown - not to mention massive savings compared to staying in Canal Park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldtonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had a great week long stay at this motel. It was pet friendly which I needed and while pet friendly one could not smell pets in the room. Another big plus. The rooms were very well kept as was the overall motel. I liked that there was an area to walk the dogs and that they provided dog bags though I did have my own. Housekeeping was very accomodating as was the front desk. There was ample parking and it was well situated to many other things the city has to offer.

Room Tip: I appreciated having a room at the end of the hallway since I had a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Never have I been so happy to hear someone say yes we have a room! Meant to only stay in town for the day, turned into a 3-day stay due to unforseen circumstances with a client. Person at front desk was awesome! Hotel is definatly older, but well-kept. Decent parking. Fridge in room. Comfy bed. Lots of hot water. Slight smoke smell on entering hotel, and only big issue we had was someone in the next room had a dog in their room (pet friendly hotel) and while they were away dog was barking like crazy for at least an hour. Call to front desk got the issue resolved within about 15 minutes. Would definatly come back here again, not a Hilton, but definatly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaylathebeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I found many good things during my stay at the Days Inn Duluth. The room was clean and housekeeping was timely and thorough with cleaning. Never had to call for my room to be cleaned. I made good use of the refrigerator and coffee maker. I brought my own coffee and tea from home. Very comfortable beds, but pillows were a little too soft. The chair at the desk was very comfortable and I sat in it to watch T.V. and write my postcards. Shower was easy to get into and out of, not slippery. The only thing I didn't like was the toilet paper roll located behind the door. It should've been to the left of the toilet for convenience. Even though I was in a non-smoking room, I did smell some smoke. I recommend bringing some spray for the room. This Days Inn has an excellent whirpool where you can relax. Just the right temperature, not too hot. There are extra towels in the spa. A big plus for me was the public computer in the lobby. It's free to use and no charge for printing. Also, the hotel serves popcorn around 5:00 p.m. everyday and freshly baked cookies around 8:00 p.m. daily (they make delicious chocolate chip cookies). They serve breakfast in the morning, but I didn't try the breakfast. I ate out instead. The hotel is located near a mall, so there are plenty of places to shop and eat. There is a Starbucks near the hotel. Also, Five Guys and Applebees is across from the hotel. There are many other places to eat within a mile of the hotel. Note: There is road construction and a detour on the way there. I drove up from the Minneapolis/St. Paul airport on I-35, and the exit was closed. Follow signs to I-35 North and 53 North to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a nonsmoking room, however it still smelled in our room. The locks on the doors don't seem secure. You could hear people slamming doors and walking in the hallway during the night and am hours. Don't expect a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was ok at the hotel.
Located by a mall and many dinning options around.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Moldoviangirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
448 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
3.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Address: 909 Cottonwood Ave, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811-5609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $72 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Miller Hill Mall is located just minutes from major recreational areas and the stunning north woods beauty. The all new beautifully decorated interior and superb customer service will make you glad you chose to stay at the Days Inn Miller Hill Mall. Located one block north off the junction of Highway 53 North and Highway 194, the Miller Hill Mall is just across the street and is the largest retail mall in northern Minnesota. Duluth is Minnesota's largest city outside of the Twin Cities area. With its lakeside setting and an incredible array of things to do, Duluth offers both excitement and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Duluth
Days Inn Duluth
Duluth Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing