We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We had a non-smoking room on a hallway with non-smoking rooms and the smoke coming from rooms across hallway was terrible, staff did not respond to our request to correct problem. They had no idea how to give directions to sites and locations requested.Pool pipe broke and flood guest rooms. The location was terrible, scarey neighborhood. as it wasn't a Comfort Inn stay. They need to change the name of this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 454 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

We came to Duluth to visit family and attend the Beargrease sled dog race. We stayed four nights at Comfort Inn West (our second time) and relatives (another couple) stayed two nights. The motel was clean, beds comfortable, breakfast good, staff friendly, and the lobby was a comfortable place to visit with relatives, including a baby.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We've stayed several places in Duluth and Comfort Inn West was by far the best. It was comfortable, quiet, and clean. We were impressed that the desk called us within 15 minutes of checking in to see if our room was to our satisfaction. The continental breakfast was delicious and had a good variety of items including some hot foods. Although it is not in downtown Duluth, there is easy access to main roads and there is a good restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn I really couldn't afford the pricey hotels down buy the lake so we took the budget route. To my surprise the hotel upon entrance was very clean, modern and very welcoming. The staff was very pleasant and welcoming also. Later that evening they had a little wet bar set up so we had a couple glasses of wine in the lounge area. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were. I felt we took the budget route on our expenses but did not feel that way once we got to the hotel. It also had a great free breakfast in the a.m. even scrambled eggs and bacon. We had a great time in going down by the lake but it was actually nice to go to a less congested area in the evening. I would recommend this hotel greatly especially for families on a budget the great breakfast alone was worth the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuluthMom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel is a 10. Clean, very comfortable, quiet, convenient to freeway. Desk clerks very accommodating. Hospitality hour was appreciated. Would go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaBAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Stayed with group and families. Staff wouldn't let us hang out in any common area past 10:00pm for kids and 11:00pm for adults. Security guard and staff kicked us out and told us(adults) we had to go to our rooms. They came and turned off lites in pool area at 11:00pm for adults and literally kicked us out. Wanted to sit in lobby. Same thing. With families we didn't want to leave hotel but, no where to go. Made us sign a paper when we arrived that our kids would be in their rooms by 10:00pm and no large groups anywhere else in hotel common area. Never have heard of this. No elevator and put us all on 2nd floor. Never would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickypucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were furnished very nicely. My only complaint is that the walls were paper thin. We were left up all night long from the sounds of the cars driving by and the people above up walking around. If you are looking for a good nights sleep I wouldn't recommend this hotel which is why I will never stay here again.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank sar-dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 32 in Duluth
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Duluth North, MN
3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $100 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, hot eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, freshly baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing