We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for families”
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We visited during the week, so it was quiet, but I was impressed. Slightly pricey compared to others in the chain, but competitive for the Duluth area.

They not only offer a nice breakfast option, but also a happy hour with a hot snack (we hit nacho night) and free cookies in the lobby during off times.

Clean room, great service, nice (but small) pool, and convenient location - exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 423 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights on 4th Of July weekend. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. My kids loved pool. The room was very clean and comfortable. My son was surprised that the free breakfast had bacon and eggs, since he seemed to think "free breakfast" meant cereal and bagels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 13fiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night. The front desk staff was friendly upon check in. The common spaces were decent. Nice pool and hot tub. I found the room was nice enough. The bathroom had a nice granite counter top but for me the deal killer was the multiple pubic hairs on the shower wall. I can't stand a dirty room. For this reason alone, I would not stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank boehm421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I'm downgrading my review of the Comfort Inn because of a $1.50/night charge for a safe in the room. I was there with 3 friends for three nights and we were not aware of the charge until we had already checked out and happened to look over the details of the receipt (which I don't usually do but will from now on!) Other than that, the hotel was extremely nice, a grade above most Comfort Inns I've stayed at. The breakfast was excellent and the yummy treats at happy hour were a big plus. But I've still peeved at the safe charge, especially when I wasn't told about it at check in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very Clean, Comfortable, Very Clean!!! (oh, I guess I already said that.) But IT WAS!
Courteous staff, welcoming folks, good breakfasts,-- too strong a coffee though, at least for us. The bed was comfortable & the room was very clean. The hall carpet could use some up-grading, especially for the appearance of the rest of the hotel.
We found it to be a "little pricey", but then there was a LOT going on: The Blue Angels & the Army Raptor plane were in town for their show.
The price was a little out of our range and we had to book a minimum of 2 nights, but it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Recently we stayed in the Comfort Inn West in Duluth MN. It was fantastic. The facilities were immaculate and the service was outstanding. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have ever experienced. In the evening they also provided a snack as well. The pool was also exceptionally clean and nice. Rooms were well kept and clean. Great stay all around. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ThomasSr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed there on an extremely busy weekend (8-17-2014. The staff was excellent - the
lobby presented itself very well but the hallway carpet to the room looked dirty or at best was a very poor choice of pattern because it looked dirty. The front desk staff was excellent - cordial - professional and very helpful. The room was clean but the bed hurt my back and occasionally there was the very loud noise of a pump of some kind running right next to our room. Thankfully, that didn't start til morning so it most likely was caused by fellow dwellers taking showers. I thought the breakfast was very skimpy and I am not a big eater. I think I got my money's worth but most likely will not stay in this one again.

Room Tip: try not to be on the ground floor in the north end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rocky1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.3 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $109 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing