We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Girls shopping trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Ontario
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Girls shopping trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

A friend and I travelled to Duluth for a girl's shopping trip and stayed here for the night after getting a good deal on Hotwire. Nice clean rooms, very convenient location to shopping. Area is a little sketchy but we didn't hang around outside. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Continental breakfast was perfect for us in the morning as we were both content with yogurt, fruit and toast. You could hear people up and laughing and talking quite late into the night which wad annoying but overall good place to rest for a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    121
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
122
105
10
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We fly in night and usually stay the night here when coming in before we head North. This hotel is consistently great and the staff is always helpful and pleasant. We have actually come in when we were not able to get a car and the hotel has arranged to have someone come get us even after 11 at night. The rooms are always clean and there are cookies in the lobby, breakfasts are very good and we have never had any issues. There are families that use this hotel as it has a great pool and it is nice to get out in the winter. We would really recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

A quick unplanned overnighter turned into a pleasant evening. The hotel was clean and comfortable with amazing staff. The pool area was just prefect with the sauna, hot tub and pool area. The area left a little to be desired but was only a short drive to Miller Hill Mall. Would definatlety stayy again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the best I have had yet, with a lot of choices (and it was very popular both mornings we were there). I give the hotel itself a great score, BUT if you want a quiet stay this might not be the best choice. The first night a drunken few women who were apparently staying in the room next to ours graduated from knocking, to pounding, to kicking the door to try to get the person inside the room to let them in (all the while the person inside kept calling out "Come in" - which repeatedly put these women into fits of giggles and encouraged them to try harder/louder). I called the front desk when the kicking started at midnight (our whole family was awakened by this ruckus) and the staff member was apologetic and extremely kind. The noise stopped within a few moments of my call. The next morning the staff were more than willing to move us to another room, though our neighbors weren't staying on, so it wasn't necessary. The second night there was a lot of door slamming and kids running up and down the halls until a while after ten. This isn't the staffs' fault, and I'm aware of this. The only complaint I can actually pin on the hotel is that the window must not have sealed well, because it was windy the first night and we were treated to a kazoo festival in our room. We tried opening and shutting the window a few times, but nothing helped. That was the same night as the door kickers, so we were all pretty tired the next morning. Would we stay there again? Not sure just yet, we will have to wait and see. Getting a good night's sleep is nice, and knowing there's a good chance that might not happen I would be inclined to say it would not be our very first choice. Great work on the breakfast and awesome staff though!!

Room Tip: The end of the hall might be a quieter choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanaeMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
995 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel itself is run very well. The staff is very friendly and things are well maintained. We were given a room at the very end of hall near the stairwell and window on the second floor. When we approached our room after 10pm for the first time 2 teenage girls were sitting on the floor chatting next to our room near the stairs and window. We told them we would appreciate no noise because we were tired. They politely moved. The second night we went out and returned for the evening around 10pm AGAIN the 2 girls were sitting on the floor outside our door talking. Again they politely moved after telling them we could hear their conversation in our room and perhaps a more public place with chairs would be better for all of us. These were nice girls in a remote spot at night near a stairwell with an outside door in a hotel on the weekend. As a parent I can't imagine this being a safe scenario for the girls. Also being next to this stairwell you could hear the outside door and people clomping up the stairs. Half the time when it disturbed me it was the security guard. The room was not as quiet as I had hoped. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The towels were not plush, but not horrible. Pool area was very nice, so bring a swimsuit. The hot tub felt nice after hiking all day to the ice caves. Free coffee all day is very nice. The breakfast was substantial. Overall a well run facility. I still prefer to stay in Canal Park, but this is a decent alternative.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were fortunate to find a room available in this hotel on the Saturday of the start of Spring Break. As usual, the room was adequate for our needs, the bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with lots of linens and toiletries. We find the staff at this hotel very friendly and welcoming, even though the hotel was at capacity. We would suggest if you wish to have a quieter stay, to ask for a room on the upper floor, on the parking lot side of the building. Because there were so many families staying here, the kids running up and down the halls, and particularly in the room above ours, were very noisy. Fortunately, the noise quieted down around midnight, but we could hear the vacuum going over the carpets at 8 in the morning. That is not the hotel's fault, but I mention it in case you are wanting to have more peace and quiet than we got on this stay. Overall we love this hotel and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the parking lot side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here during the heart of winter and it was still a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The cost was affordable and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We were only there for one night but am looking forward to going back in the summer months to enjoy the shopping and eats at canal park!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing