We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Decent Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
976 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 916 helpful votes
“A Decent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel itself is run very well. The staff is very friendly and things are well maintained. We were given a room at the very end of hall near the stairwell and window on the second floor. When we approached our room after 10pm for the first time 2 teenage girls were sitting on the floor chatting next to our room near the stairs and window. We told them we would appreciate no noise because we were tired. They politely moved. The second night we went out and returned for the evening around 10pm AGAIN the 2 girls were sitting on the floor outside our door talking. Again they politely moved after telling them we could hear their conversation in our room and perhaps a more public place with chairs would be better for all of us. These were nice girls in a remote spot at night near a stairwell with an outside door in a hotel on the weekend. As a parent I can't imagine this being a safe scenario for the girls. Also being next to this stairwell you could hear the outside door and people clomping up the stairs. Half the time when it disturbed me it was the security guard. The room was not as quiet as I had hoped. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The towels were not plush, but not horrible. Pool area was very nice, so bring a swimsuit. The hot tub felt nice after hiking all day to the ice caves. Free coffee all day is very nice. The breakfast was substantial. Overall a well run facility. I still prefer to stay in Canal Park, but this is a decent alternative.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    119
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
120
105
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were fortunate to find a room available in this hotel on the Saturday of the start of Spring Break. As usual, the room was adequate for our needs, the bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with lots of linens and toiletries. We find the staff at this hotel very friendly and welcoming, even though the hotel was at capacity. We would suggest if you wish to have a quieter stay, to ask for a room on the upper floor, on the parking lot side of the building. Because there were so many families staying here, the kids running up and down the halls, and particularly in the room above ours, were very noisy. Fortunately, the noise quieted down around midnight, but we could hear the vacuum going over the carpets at 8 in the morning. That is not the hotel's fault, but I mention it in case you are wanting to have more peace and quiet than we got on this stay. Overall we love this hotel and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the parking lot side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here during the heart of winter and it was still a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The cost was affordable and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We were only there for one night but am looking forward to going back in the summer months to enjoy the shopping and eats at canal park!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The staff was the most accommodating and friendly staff I have encountered at a hotel in years! We stayed there on January 16, 2014. We checked in with Melissa, upon learning about an injury to my leg, moved us to a room with two beds. Thank you so much Melissa!!! The hotel was clean, breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the positive feedback and have shared your comments with my entire staff, especially Melissa, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words.

We are looking forward to providing you the same great accommodations and service the next time you are in Duluth!

Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
132 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have been staying here several times a year for the past decade because this property is consistently good. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is good and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Property is older, but they keep things updated and in good condition.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
BW,

It’s great to hear you’ve been a part of our hotel family for the last 10 years. Thank you for your loyalty and kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Duluth!

Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie77
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at this motel on our way north and enjoyed it so much we stayed there again on our way back home. The staff was very welcoming and the room was spacious and clean. The Jacuzzi tub was a great way to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Jackie77,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay....TWICE! I really appreciate your comments about the staff and of course, Jacuzzi tub. I look forward to seeing you again!
Amanda Kasie,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed one night with friends. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. The pool area was the best I've seen in a long time. Hot tub was very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear TBayTraveller_29,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your stay experience! I'm happy to hear you and your friends had a relaxing time and took advantage of our great hot tub. I hope we'll see you again someday!
Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing