We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice hotel, just a minor issue with cost:” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Lakeland, Minnesota
1 review
“Very nice hotel, just a minor issue with cost:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 of the last 3 weekends because of volleyball matches. This past weekend we reserved the room for 1 night online and used our AAA membership for a discount which the hotel offers. When I presented my AAA card at the time of check-in I was informed that I don't get the discount this weekend. If we don't get the discount for it then why do you offer that as an option for discounts when looking for the rooms? Other than this billing problem the hotel is very nice and offers a good breakfast in the morning which is important when traveling with kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent55043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    117
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
116
102
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Inn has been updated recently and has new bedding and furniture.
We were welcomed very well at the check in desk. Kiefer I believe is how
his name was spelled was very helpful. He gave us coupons to use at
the hospitality bar cart and a choice of rooms. The heating unit in our
room was so quiet we could barely hear it. This is a huge plus for us.
The lobby was spacious,clean and decorated for Christmas.
He also gave us a great tip for dinner. The GBSchneider bar and grill
on Grand ave. gbschneider.com.
The breakfast was clean well attended and supplied with fresh food.
The workers including a young woman named Roberta were very
pleasant and helpful.
We go Duluth every few months to visit family. The Comfort Inn west
is right off of I 35 and very convenient. We will stay there again.
We are Choice Privilege members and this is one of the very best
comfort inns.

Room Tip: Make a reservation and ask for the room you prefer. Quieter on second floor or near the pool. What...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

From the outside, this place did not appear appealing. Once inside, it was a completely different story. Extremely clean and inviting. The lobby was comfortable with nice couches and chairs. They even have a small "bar" (actually a liquor cart) that is staffed in the evening if you so desire. Did not use the pool but it looked decent. The complimentary hot breakfast was very good and plentiful.
The room was extremely clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Easy to adjust temperature inside the room. The bathroom was large and shower had good water pressure. I heard a little traffic noise but not enough to keep any of us awake. The hotel was busy but was not bothered by noise from other guest. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nascar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last week of July 2013. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is clean so are the rooms. Close to shopping and tourist attractions and the I-35. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leimars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a typical Comfort Inn. The room was okay, quiet. We asked for 2nd floor to be certain we weren't assigned a room that had had pets. Had trouble finding this property using our cell phone GPS and the clerk at the desk could not give adequate directions. Otherwise staff was pleasant. Paid in advance to get lower rate - still seemed a bit expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Retired06x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Not far from Canal Park or Superior! The room was clean and updated! They have a happy hour where they offer appetizers, they had meatball sliders one night and build your own nachos another! Very friendly and helpful in finding good places to eat! Easy access to the highway.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kagtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Comfort Inn West exceeded our expectations. It is an excellent option if you have your own transportation. The cab fare from the Duluth Airport was just under $40. Otherwise we would highly recommend this establishment.

Everything is clean and tidy. Very helpful staff. Easy access from I-35. We will no doubt use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing