We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice little extras” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
“Nice little extras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here Saturday August 17 thru the 19th. The hotel is located about 3 minuets drive from canal park where all the attractions are. Staff is friendly and will help you any way they can. Rooms were clean. Beds are comfortable. Came back thru on the 21st and stayed an additional night. Bathroom had an adjustable side mirror for people who are short in stature (like my wife who realy appreciated that). Would recommend this hotel. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    119
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
120
104
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a hot muggy weekend in Duluth but Comfort Inn was cool, clean and had friendly staff to make it a great weekend anyway. Thanks, Room was nice, Breakfast was Great, easy check in and checkout. Overall a great weekend with family.

Room Tip: Close in with easy access via interstate 35. Much better value than other nearby hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband, son (10-years-old) and I stayed here on a Saturday night in August. I made the reservation at the last moment and was reluctant since we typically stay at Hampton Inns. This hotel was a nice surprise! The neighborhood isn't great, but if you are just there for sleeping, it's fine. Don't expect to walk to any restaurants though. The first room that we were given had a VERY strong smoke odor, even though it was a non-smoking room. My husband called down right away and they quickly gave us a different room that was much better. The rooms were cramped, but clean. The bathroom looked a lot like a Hampton Inn bathroom - nice!
The pool area was clean and nice. My son enjoyed it.
The free breakfast was very good. Everything was well-stocked and there was a nice variety of food.
The beds were comfortable and we all slept well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank smmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Liked this place but I would have preferred to be within walking distance of the downtown Duluth area. It is close to the expressway so no problem getting places. If you want to be close to downtown restaurants and attractions you might want to try one of the closer hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TucsonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great stay at this property! The rooms are clean and well-appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff is professional and friendly. The kids had fun in the pool and I loved the hot tub. Breakfast in the morning was very good, and they have a nightly happy hour (didnt get to take advantage since we were out sightseeing.) I would stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Interstate but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymac812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What a place! A true gem! From the minute we walked in to the time we left we couldn't been made more welcome! As we walked in we were cheerfully greeted by an awesome front desk staff. We were in town for a wedding which we mentioned when we checked in. When we returned at almost midnight one of the staff inquired as how the wedding was as he took out the trash. Never had that kind of personal attention. Morning breakfast was done very well with the staff keeping up with the demand despite a full hotel including a teenage sports team that all seemed to come down to eat at once. They had the best cinnamon raisin bread I've ever had at a hotel including some B&B's that we stayed at.
Less than 5 min. from downtown right of of 35.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's a shame that hotels increase their rates on a long weekend, just imagine if all establishments did that?
Well, we found a great deal by paying up front at the Comfort Inn West in Duluth. The added bonus was a hot breakfast included in the price and "happy hour" offered. The staff was so friendly and I even noticed unbrellas at the entry if it rained. This hotel is central to Canal Park, Menards and down Haines Rd. from Miller Hill Mall. Olive Garden, you did it again....great martini's and food. Thanks for the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thsat was not a previous smoking room, 2nd floor is great...they have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGHThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#7 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing