We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more reasonably priced than downtown”
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice Comfort Inn. I ended up upgrading for only $10 per day (2 day stay). The room was larger and there was a wet bar w/ a frig and mwave.The beds were very comfy, as well as the pillows. Very nice bath with large fluffy towels and a good shower. Very friendly staff. There is a happy hour each night with free food of somekind but we never made it back in time for it. Free in-room wifi. Get a rebate back from eBates.com.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 436 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel and was very pleased with the service, room, and facilities. Not centrally located, but less than five minutes from downtown and just off I35. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was large and well cared for, pool was nice and popular with many of those staying there, and the complimentary breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bltok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really a very nice place to stay. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Beds were comfortable and the rooms stayed cool with the AC. Breakfast was fantastic and plenty of seats were availble to sit. Also gave you a USA Today paper...nice to read at breakfast. Only down side is,it really isn't close to a lot of things. But you could get around easy to get to the attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here one night without having a reservation. We had planned on staying in the Canal Park area but when there was a power outage and no hotels could check us in, we headed for the other side of the city. We called from the road and the staff was more than happy to give us directions and a great rate. We checked in quickly and were given a large, clean, and comfortable room. Unfortunately, we arrived too late for the lobby activities and too tired to use the pool, but the complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice hotel. We went with another couple and the room my husband I got first was a non smoking room, but smelled of smoke bad. I called the desk right away and informed them and they switched rooms for us right away. Next room did not smell of smoke. The bathrooms were very nice...had a granite looking counter top with a shelf underneath...nice for storing things such as clothing or amenities. We got there about the supper hour and they had free food in the lobby...pulled pork sandwiches and chips. We did not have to buy supper...so pleasant surprise. They also offered a buy one get one free drink at the cash bar that is in the lobby. Did not swim in the pool, but it looked like a very nice pool and hot tub. The hotel desk staff were very friendly and helpful with directions to areas of interest and even asked if my second room was good and if it did not smell like smoke the next day when we checked out. Very happy and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Came in too late to enjoy the evening freebies but staff were friendly and welcoming, great beds, good room with blackouts, very clean and plenty of space for 3 adults and luggage! Bathrooms good sized and great water pressure. Excellent breakfast included. Full wifi. Too hot or too cold air conditioner, noisy, but it was impossibly hot/humid weather for any machine to deal with! Definite recommendation for overnight, not the best part of Duluth for longer stay but this property really did a great job.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This motel is without doubt the best I have ever stayed in. Check in and out was quick and efficient. All staff were helpful,courteous and friendly. The modern spacious rooms were quiet, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The complimentary breakfast was first class with ample selections for both hearty and light morning eaters. All areas of the motel were immaculate and the grandchildren even commented on how clean and refreshing the pool water was. Because we were travelling with young children we couldn't take advantage of the hospitality hour, but we witnessed others enjoying the food and atmosphere. If you stay in Duluth, don't miss this motel - it's comfort with a capital "C".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55807-2834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $99 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing