We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Vacation-one night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Vacation-one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Really a very nice place to stay. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Beds were comfortable and the rooms stayed cool with the AC. Breakfast was fantastic and plenty of seats were availble to sit. Also gave you a USA Today paper...nice to read at breakfast. Only down side is,it really isn't close to a lot of things. But you could get around easy to get to the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    111
    14
    11
    7
See reviews for
99
92
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here one night without having a reservation. We had planned on staying in the Canal Park area but when there was a power outage and no hotels could check us in, we headed for the other side of the city. We called from the road and the staff was more than happy to give us directions and a great rate. We checked in quickly and were given a large, clean, and comfortable room. Unfortunately, we arrived too late for the lobby activities and too tired to use the pool, but the complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice hotel. We went with another couple and the room my husband I got first was a non smoking room, but smelled of smoke bad. I called the desk right away and informed them and they switched rooms for us right away. Next room did not smell of smoke. The bathrooms were very nice...had a granite looking counter top with a shelf underneath...nice for storing things such as clothing or amenities. We got there about the supper hour and they had free food in the lobby...pulled pork sandwiches and chips. We did not have to buy supper...so pleasant surprise. They also offered a buy one get one free drink at the cash bar that is in the lobby. Did not swim in the pool, but it looked like a very nice pool and hot tub. The hotel desk staff were very friendly and helpful with directions to areas of interest and even asked if my second room was good and if it did not smell like smoke the next day when we checked out. Very happy and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Came in too late to enjoy the evening freebies but staff were friendly and welcoming, great beds, good room with blackouts, very clean and plenty of space for 3 adults and luggage! Bathrooms good sized and great water pressure. Excellent breakfast included. Full wifi. Too hot or too cold air conditioner, noisy, but it was impossibly hot/humid weather for any machine to deal with! Definite recommendation for overnight, not the best part of Duluth for longer stay but this property really did a great job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This motel is without doubt the best I have ever stayed in. Check in and out was quick and efficient. All staff were helpful,courteous and friendly. The modern spacious rooms were quiet, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The complimentary breakfast was first class with ample selections for both hearty and light morning eaters. All areas of the motel were immaculate and the grandchildren even commented on how clean and refreshing the pool water was. Because we were travelling with young children we couldn't take advantage of the hospitality hour, but we witnessed others enjoying the food and atmosphere. If you stay in Duluth, don't miss this motel - it's comfort with a capital "C".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were in Duluth to visit our daughter at the university and see the fireworks, booked hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. ver warm and inviting from the moment you walked in the door, Room was spotless and felt very modern. Bathroom was also modern and very clean, with granite counters. Did not eat the free breakfast but looked very well stocked and laid out with plenty of seating. ( we walked next door and met our daughter for Perkins ). liked the cooler of cold water bottles for $1 at the front desk, great for heading out for the day. Probably would've given it 5 stars except for the automatic charge add without explanation of a safe fee.Not sure why?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a room here with a king size bed and a nice hot tub and were very impressed. Mon-Thurs they have hospitality hour where they serve a small meal like hamburgers, hot dogs, chips and cookies. We didn't eat these meals, but thought it was really nice that they offered it. The customer service was excellent and they also have a cute little bar and give you tickets to get BOGO drink. The continental breakfast was also much more than I expected. They served scrambled eggs and bacon in addition to the usual waffles, donut holes, donuts, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice. I also enjoyed their cappucinno machine as I do not care for coffee(I highly recommend the chocolate hazelnut!). The only downside was that our room said it was non-smoking, but I could definitely smell small traces of smoke. Also- you do have to drive about 5 minutes to get to Canal Park, which is where all the hubub is. All in all though--its a great affordable option to stay in Duluth. Great value!

Room Tip: King Size bed w/jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollface0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.2 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Property: Comfort Inn West
Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn West 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven consecutive Gold Hospitality Awards make Comfort Inn - West your perfect choice for lodging. All 81 guest rooms are newly renovated and offer 42" LED TVs, a refrigerator and microwave, coffeemakers, makeup mirrors, hair dryers, irons and free Wi-Fi. Start the day at the free hot breakfast buffet, where you'll find a build your own waffle bar, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, hot & cold cereals with a toppings bar, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, toast and juice. Monday-Saturdays, you'll want to hit the hotel happy hour, with a fully stocked cash bar and complimentary apps during the business week. You'll also find free seasonal treats (like lemonade, lemon infused water, hot apple cider and fresh-baked cookies) awaiting you at check-in. There's also a large indoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna and free WIFI. All common areas and the lobby have been renovated in 2016! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing